We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Aging Property”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Travelodge Virginia Beach Bay Beach
Ranked #78 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Cary, North Carolina
Level Contributor
37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“An Aging Property”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

My wife, our daughter, son-in-law, and grand-daughter stayed in two non-smoking rooms for two nights. We also had a small dog with us. This was one of the few properties in Virginia Beach that would permit dogs (for $28 a night extra).

The motel is located a block from the water on kind of a bay several miles north of the Virginia Beach boardwalk . There are lots of restaurants nearby, plus a 7-11 and a grocery store.

Our own room seemed OK, but smelled strongly of rug deodorizer, and worth maybe $69 in a regular place, but the two-night charge including the fee for our dog was over $400. When we signed in, our receipt notified us that there were No Refunds, so be aware.

Our daughter's room smelled strongly of smoke. When she notified the manager the first evening of our stay, they apologized and promised to move them to a new room the next day, which they did. They said it would take a "long time" to prepare their old room for a new guest. We figure that took about 2 hours, as someone else checked in shortly after our daughter and family moved out.

The continental breakfast consisted of coffee, several kinds of muffins, bread that could be toasted, and apple and orange "juice". Ugh.

To their credit, when we reported that the trap under the sink in our room was leaking badly, they promptly repaired it. But our room was dank and smelly.

The tv was an older style tube tv. The AC worked great. There were no chairs out on the East-facing walkway in front of our room, so I used one of the chairs from our room to sit out one afternoon.

Parking was very limited, and folks ran out of spaces to park.

One might stay there in an emergency, but I wouldn't seek this place out. It isn't the same Travelodge I saw when I was a young man. Too bad.

Room Tip: If you don't smoke, don't commit until you've inspected the room. Hard to do during tou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    42
    47
    45
    50
See reviews for
90
49
22
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Holtel was ok. Good location to beach area. Rooms really need upgrading.
Overall not a bad stay, but definitley not great.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Kenneth E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Princeton, West Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 22 June 2014

The entire staff was beyond friendly and helpful making the stay memorable. Very short trek to the beach. Nice neighborhood. Convenient location to a 7/11 and Dunken Doughnuts. The pool is heated and clean with convenient hours. The room was clean. Just a wonderful experience. Perfect for a vacation on a budget.

Room Tip: I opted for a double queen suite. This gave me plenty of bed space for the kids.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lauralin74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nellysford, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

This is. Nice place to sty for the money. It's. Travelodge people! It's not the Marriot. It's $70 a night! I don't understand the negative commentaries. The location is perfect if you are coming to fish, and the family cn walk to the beach in a few minutes. Staff was courteous, room basic but clean. The breakfast is useless BUT the little place right next door serves the MOST amazing
Breakfast and has a nice bar too! Recommend highly for the budget traveler

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
4 Thank Lynnz78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

Please spend the extra money for a different place to stay. The room wasn't as dirty as expected but it wasn't the cleanest either.. The toilet paper wasn't even changed! The room is very small.. Bathroom was the same size if not bigger. Had to beat the top of the TV for it to work.. There were ants on the bedside table and spent half the night itching.. Woke up with Bed bug bites!!!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrontDesk23451, Manager at Travelodge Virginia Beach Bay Beach, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
After receiving your comment, we called our contracted exterminator to thoroughly inspect each and every room and found no trace of bed bug. I would like to welcome a dialogue with Ms. Elizabeth to further discuss this matter. Furthermore, we couldn't find a Elizabeth staying with us going back 2 months. We are a small hotel with only 41 rooms. I hope this is not a joke from someone who never stayed with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Virginia Beach hotels

Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Wasn't the cleanest and it had a smell needed much TLC.Location was good,walking distance to beach.Forget continental breakfast,muffins and doughnuts.There was a nice restaurant next door,owned by the owner of the hotel,yeah right.The pool and parking were great.The housekeeper was really nice,she smiled a lot.It was quiet too.The price could have been cheaper too!! I think the repairs are ongoing.They still got some ways to go.

Room Tip: Pictures online are not the same as the room,may be they looked like that quite sometime ago.We were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tasoma W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lilburn,
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This Travelodge is quite old but well maintained. It needs to be upgraded inside and outside with improvements to the furnishings, flooring, curtains and the pool area. Everyone was friendly and the room was clean, although, the toilet was way too low to the ground for an old senior with two new knee replacements.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Teresa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
4.2 mi away
Quality Inn Little Creek
Quality Inn Little Creek
#72 of 109 in Virginia Beach
47 reviews
6.2 mi away
Days Inn Virginia Beach Town Center
Days Inn Virginia Beach Town Cen...
#84 of 109 in Virginia Beach
315 reviews
7.6 mi away
Red Roof Inn Virginia Beach
Red Roof Inn Virginia Beach
#53 of 109 in Virginia Beach
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfron...
#57 of 109 in Virginia Beach
2,787 reviews
7.1 mi away
19 Atlantic Hotel
19 Atlantic Hotel
#59 of 109 in Virginia Beach
331 reviews
6.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn Virginia Beach - Norfolk Airport
Red Roof Inn Virginia Beach - No...
#51 of 109 in Virginia Beach
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Virginia Beach Bay Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Virginia Beach Bay Beach

Property: Travelodge Virginia Beach Bay Beach
Address: 2968 Shore Dr, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-1227 (Formerly Econo Lodge)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #78 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Virginia Beach Bay Beach 2*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Travelodge Virginia Beach Bay Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Bay Beach Hotel Virginia Beach
Travel Lodge Virginia Beach
Travelodge Virginia Beach
Virginia Beach Travelodge
Virginia Beach Travel Lodge
Travelodge Hotel Virginia Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing