We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service great; room not so much”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
Ranked #1 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
East Bethel, MN
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Service great; room not so much”
Reviewed 19 October 2013

When we arrived, we were a little let down. Have stayed in several "balcony on the beach" places and this one is in relatively poor condition, needing some updating. The couch (hide-a-bed) was terrible to sit on. The bathroom door rubbed on the floor when opening/closing and should've been fixed. The wireless was not great needing to disconnect/reconnect several times to get an internet connection each time. The table was pretty small.

The view is excellent from the balcony and except for some late night partiers on Saturday night, the place was quiet. What was really above average was the service. Right away I asked for a bigger chair for the balcony and they were very accommodating in finding me one. The first morning we noticed a drip from the ceiling (heavy rain) and they immediately moved us right next door. We were spending five nights, and when we arrived the weather forecast was dismal (rain and wind for the entire stay). They agreed to modify the cancellation deadline to 24 hours from 72 if we decided to leave early. I think 72 was excessive anyway, but happy that they would give us a break from the 'rule'. We ended up staying anyway and there was good beach time periodically during our stay. Breakfast was above average including eggs and meat. The staff was great to work with in every way. Ice machines on every other floor. Parking ramp attached with two of three floors covered. Two elevators. Plenty of places to eat within walking distance. If the room had been a little nicer, this would've been four stars.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MNjohnny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

599 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    322
    198
    56
    16
    7
See reviews for
286
164
12
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

First things first. When I tried to book this hotel in 2004, it was $300 a night. So how did I get it for $161 a night for the week before Labor Day? Book in April. Was the hotel worth the hype? OH YES! The room place was spacious, clean and every room has an oceanfront private balcony, microwave and fridge. The free breakfast is good. They have a gym with a machine for every muscle! The back of the hotel leads out to the boardwalk and beach. As for my title, I am unable to sleep outside of my own house, unless there is a Serta Perfect Sleeper (which all the Comfort Inn's have!) And I was able to listen to internet radio all night on the free wifi!

Room Tip: Every room is oceanfront! What a concept!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnnylakis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delaplane, Va
2 reviews
Reviewed 13 October 2013

We had always stayed at the Hilton before but were very pleasantly surprised at what a great find the Comfort Inn & Suites were. The room was clean, comfortable, and quiet. Staff was attentive and professional. We got a great recommendation for dining at Tautog's FABULOUS! THANKS. We loved that each room has ocean front view. The location is great, right on the boardwalk. Grab your coffee and breakfast FREE and sit on the boardwalk to enjoy it as the Dolphins swim by.
Our only criticism was the FOX "news" playing everyday in the breakfast lounge. We'd prefer something more like actual news or even the weather channel. Great place to stay. We'll be back.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Douglassville, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

We stayed there on our way to Myrtle Beach in room 502. The place was spacious, clean and had an oceanfront private balcony, but the microwave was cracked around the edge. Great water pressure in the shower but for a taller person to take one, would have been a problem. Outstanding free breakfast. Would stay there again even though it was a little pricey.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

We have stayed at this hotel many times. The staff is always extremely helpful and friendly. Many have been there for years which makes them like family after several visits. They have recently updated the lobby area and it is lovely. The hotel older but is always clean and well maintained. They have a nice continental breakfast and the staff maintains it very well. This hotel sits about in the middle of the 3 mile boardwalk so it is in a nice area for access to everything. Also, it has it's own parking garage which allows one car per room.(some of the boardwalk hotels have their parking across a street or more from their hotel.) We would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: If height doesn't bother you we recommend asking for a room on floors above the 3rd for a nice v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

We had a great stay at this hotel in early October. The hotel was exactly as advertised, our room was clean, breakfast was good and we had a great view. The beach and boardwalk were quiet at this time of year but it was warm enough to swim. My husband said that the workout room was very well equipped and better than most hotels we have stayed at. The indoor pool was also large and the hot tub was nice to have access to. I would recommend a stay here to anyone looking for a large room with a view right on the beach.

Room Tip: We enjoyed our room on the 9th floor. The 3rd, 4th and 5th floors have direct access to the parking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spacefry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trenton, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

great comfortable hotel/ suite . beach was quiet. 3rd week in sept but real enjoyable. must rent a beach bike only 8$ per hour, i did and had a good ride. it is right on the board walk. lots of stores and restaurants right there. we will definitely go back.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 82luv2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel
0.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront
0.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Beachfront
Comfort Suites Beachfront
#5 of 109 in Virginia Beach
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North
0.7 mi away
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
#10 of 109 in Virginia Beach
1,919 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Virginia Beach
Best Western Plus Virginia Beach
#17 of 109 in Virginia Beach
1,399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront

Property: Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
Address: 2015 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-3344
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
#2 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
#8 Green Hotel in Virginia Beach
#10 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
#19 Business Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront 2.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn And Suites Oceanfront
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront Hotel Virginia Beach
Comfort Inn Oceanfront
Comfort Inn Virginia Beach
Virginia Beach Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing