We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worn out hotel and uncaring staff” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Ranked #52 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
GreenLeadersBronze level
Roanoke, Virginia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Worn out hotel and uncaring staff”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013

This used to be a very good hotel. I have stayed here numerous times over the past ten years attending a professional conference. We stayed in an oceanfront room, which was nice, but the sliding door did not fit right and cold night air leaked in. The rest of the room was OK, but there's no desk to work at (just a little round table). The restaurant was terrible, with very poor service although the food, when it finally arrived was good. Next year, we'll stay down in the main part of Virginia Beach and just drive up here for meetings.

Room Tip: Oceanfront costs more but is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Craig C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,667 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    539
    682
    643
    473
    330
See reviews for
993
663
127
500
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (312)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winchester
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2013

Rates were doubled due to beach week. Hotel was full of rowdy frat boys that were drunk all night and partied into the wee hours. I typically stay at Marriott so maybe my standards were too high but I thought based on the rate I was paying, it was Marriott quality. It was definitely not. Hotel was dated and not super clean. College kids were out of control and after doing some research, found it was beach week and due to demand for rooms, I had paid double what the room usually goes for. Very disaapointed.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Donna E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Virginia Beach hotels

Christiansburg
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2013

The bathroom was filthy with mold growing in the corner of the floor. The floors were dirty. The phone didn't work even after it was reported. Room service took an hour and a half and then the waitress laughed that the person forgot to put the order in. We were scheduled for three nights but checked out after one and made other inconvenient arrangements because the conference was at this hotel. This is the worst experience I have ever had in a hotel and I have stayed all across the country. Would never recommend. Wasn't even asked why I was checking out early.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Reading, Massachusetts, Usa
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2013

my wife and I have great time visiting Williamsburg area. the resort was excellent. On our next trip we are going to try and use the perks of the resort more fully.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Ted B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level Contributor
259 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2013

First I would like to say that we were very thankful for the clean, comfortable beds and clean towels! The rest of our stay was not as pleasant. Upon arrival, we had to ask housekeeping to come in and vacuum candy and popcorn off of the carpet (a very nice, professional young man from Maintenance brought a vacuum cleaner within 5 minutes). While vacuuming the room, he also offered to clean the vinyl chairs and the table because he noticed stains on them. Thank you, Jermaine (J.B.), for being so kind and friendly! He should be promoted to a managerial position for his work ethic and great customer service.

After we unpacked our bags, we realized we needed to clean the bathroom and the bathtub with Clorox wipes (the wipes were dark brown after cleaning the bottom of the bathtub). While cleaning the bathtub, I pulled a large wad of hair out of the drain in the bathtub so the water would go down the drain. Mold and dirt were caked in the corners of the bathroom floor and all of the metal fixtures were rusted (including the light fixture, mirror, shower curtain rod and door frame). The toilet had a stain around the water level and the toilet would not stop running (maintenance was able to repair this though). The air/heat fan unit in the bedroom was very noisy and maintenance was not able to repair this during our stay. The kitchenette was great except for the sticky film all over the counter tops. The balconies were spacious, with a wonderful view of the beach and the northern end of Atlantic Avenue (looking toward Fort Story and the lighthouse). The suites are not “oceanfront”, but they do have a beautiful view of the beach and ocean. I was advised by the front desk clerk that the rooms in the tower (oceanfront) are all pet-friendly rooms so that’s why we chose to reserve a suite (the suites are the only rooms that are not pet-friendly rooms). When booking a “suite” at a hotel, you would expect much more. At first glance, the suite was spacious and attractive, but the uncleanliness of the room left us with a bad feeling. Some of our colleagues who stayed in oceanfront rooms in the tower noted a smell of pet urine in the room, dirty bathrooms and one occasion of dried blood on the bedspread. Another concern was the lack of security in the hotel. No key access is required to enter the elevator from the parking garage or other parts of the hotel. I’ve stayed at this hotel in years past (3+ years ago) and it has definitely deteriorated in recent years. If you do have to stay at this hotel for a conference or a meeting, we recommend reserving a suite over the parking garage area (it’s worth the extra cost for a slightly cleaner room). As customers, we are not difficult to please and we’re typically satisfied with any hotel that is safe and clean, but the uncleanliness and deterioration of this hotel is unacceptable. We do not recommend staying at this hotel by choice for a vacation or weekend getaway.

Room Tip: If you do have to stay here, we recommend reserving a suite over the parking garage area (it’s worth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hotrod_Hammer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
3.4 mi away
Ramada Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Ramada Virginia Beach Oceanfront
#33 of 109 in Virginia Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,854 reviews
1.4 mi away
Sheraton Oceanfront Hotel
Sheraton Oceanfront Hotel
#29 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 933 reviews
2.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Beachfront
Comfort Suites Beachfront
#6 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
The Oceanfront Inn
The Oceanfront Inn
#19 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
2.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel
1.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Oceanfront Virginia Beach
BEST WESTERN PLUS Oceanfront Vir...
#16 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Property: Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Address: 5700 Atlantic Ave, 57th St & Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-2236 (Formerly Ramada)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Green Hotel in Virginia Beach
#31 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront 3*
Number of rooms: 244
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront Hotel provides the perfect location and amenities for a memorable Virginia Beach vacation. Situated on the north end of the beach just blocks from the Boardwalk, the Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront hotel offers on-site entertainment along with access to countless attractions that make it the ideal setting for family fun. From a day spent enjoying the natural beauty at First Landing State Park to a stroll on the Boardwalk or a marine adventure at Virginia Aquarium, Virginia Beach provides the perfect blend of excitement and relaxation the whole family will enjoy. On-site entertainment is endless at the Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront Hotel. Guests can spend the entire day relaxing on the semi-private beach or cooling off with a swim in the indoor pool. There is also a fitness center for those that wish to stick to their fitness routine. After enjoying dinner at the Surf Club Ocean Grille on-site at the hotel, families can take advantage of the free shuttle to the Boardwalk, where they can enjoy an evening of excitement and entertainment. The Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront Hotel features 244 guestrooms, with 166 oceanfront options available, boasting the most direct ocean views in Virginia Beach. Guests can delight in cool sea breezes from their private balcony or patio opening to our semi-private beach. All of the guestrooms at the hotel feature free Wi-Fi, a refrigerator, coffeemaker and flat-screen TVs. For guests that want a little more space, the one and two bedroom suites as well as the Jacuzzi king rooms offer sweeping views of the shoreline, along with some extra room for the whole family to relax after a great day at the beach. The stunning scenery of the Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront Hotel makes it a great option for a meeting or event. From a 5,128 square foot ballroom to a 2,000 square foot outdoor oceanfront patio, the hotel can accommodate groups up to 550 people. The hotel also provides the perfect setting for an oceanfront wedding, offering everything from exquisite catering options to personalized event services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront Hotel Virginia Beach
Oceanfront Virginia Beach
Virginia Beach Wyndham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing