We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Better than expected, based on reviews” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Ranked #52 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
GreenLeadersBronze level
Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Better than expected, based on reviews”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

I picked the Wyndham based on location alone (I wanted to stay north of the boardwalk area). But, I was apprehensive based on so many reviews I have seen online. Preparing for the worst, I was pleasantly surprised by the room.

I had no real complaints with the room (except for the random fact that there were no washcloths). It was clean, which is really all I can ask for in a hotel. We couldn't check in until 4, which I think is very late, but they let us use the pool while we waited(and the beach is right there). Only slight complaint I have is that the hallways were very hot (maybe mid-80s), but I was not in the hallways long enough for this to negatively impact my stay.

Room Tip: I had an ocean-front top-floor room - great view, especially with the thunderstorms that rolled in o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jonts74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,665 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    537
    682
    643
    473
    330
See reviews for
993
662
126
500
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (312)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

Our 45th Anniversary on 5/11/14 was a wonderful experience because of this hotel and its caring and friendly staff. Especially noted are Charles Waddell our phone contact,Glen Palmer- front desk manager,Chris Ford-Restaurant Manager,and Christine Geist- General Manager of the Hotel who was so helpful. Our delightful room on the 14th floor had a beautiful balcony overlooking the ocean. This was our 2nd stay in 3 years and we were treated like royalty. The help staff kept the room spotless. We are hoping to stay at the Wyndham for our 50th anniversary. This hotel is very quiet because it is in a residential neighborhood, much less noise and hubbub than those in town.







this was

Room Tip: Ocean front rooms have balconies. The best views are above the 4th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Arnold R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristineG_GM, General Manager at Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Thank you Arnold R for your generous comments regarding your stay! We really enjoyed having you and your wife for your anniversary celebration! It was a treat for us all to meet you and thank you for sharing your bus experiences with us! See you for your 46th!!
Sincerely,
Christine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

I was with the VTCA for 3 nights the staff was awesome the room was clean the food was good at the surfs up ocean grill the free shuttle was nice the pool was nice the view from our room was nice I highly recommend the Wyndham Virginia beach ocean front.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kent W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristineG_GM, General Manager at Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
We loved having your group here and appriciate you sharing your feedback with us! See you in 2016!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

First, don't get there late st night no restaurant or room service after 10 PM. The food is good. The room rug was very dirty , the bathroom outlet was halfway out of the wall covered with dust. Housekeeping is ok, some better than others.
The rest of the staff are helpful and friendly. Everyone speaks English.
Nice beach, renters for beach equipment charge ridiculous rental fees; bring your own stuff.
The non air-conditioned halls were very humid but didn 't bother me. College boys took over the pool on the 4th of July leaving families to sweat it out in the indoor pool.

Please deep clean the hotel.

Green Features: Good. Towels and sheets are changed when you want.
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sully1911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristineG_GM, General Manager at Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Thanks for your feedback regarding your recent stay, we appriciate your concerns and have addressed them with the team! We Hope you will give us another chance next time you are in the area! Have a great summer!
Sincerely,
C Geist
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Virginia Beach hotels

Port Stephens, Australia
Level Contributor
121 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

Stayed here 2 nights and really couldn't fault the place. The oceanfront room was a good size, 2 queens, refrigerator and was very clean overall. Was asked when booking what type of room we wanted so there was no surprises. Check in staff were good and a free shuttle into the downtown area was handy. The breakfast buffet was a bit overpriced for what was available. You could also order off the menu.
Bar area and staff were very good as was the outside lounges and chairs. Easy access onto the beach, plenty of car parking spaces and quiet hotel as its not in the busy area of town.
Good wireless internet, ice machines on at least 3 floors. I wouldn’t hesitate to stay here again.

Room Tip: Pay the little extra for the high floor oceanfront room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GlenAlison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristineG_GM, General Manager at Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Thanks for your great feedback regarding your recent stay with us. Glad you were able to take advantage of the shuttle and several other of our amenities while you were here. I hope you have a great summer and visit us again soon!
Sincerely,
Christine
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
roanoke, va
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

Great beachfront location. Check in painless. Take advantage of limited covered parking. The hotel is in need for a serious fixer-upper. The rooms are average size, furniture in the rooms are dated, carpet is very dirty, coming off the side walls, lamps are tasteless, mattress is a 1000 year old, sheets were not pressed but clean, a/c is very old and has poor control. Thus it gets too hot or too cold. The rooms have a musty odor and there seems to be some water damage to the ceiling. Bathroom is small with a small tub, showerhead was good though. Indoor pool is small but look up to the ceiling and you will see the state of disrepair. The ice dispenser is only present on certain floors, the hallways do not have air and are oppressively hot.

Only reason to stay here - location, location, location. Right on the beach has its advantages.

If they management would give a make-over, it has a potential to be a very good hotel if not an excellent one. But it looks like they are waiting for things to fall over before they decide to do anything to fix it.

Room Tip: Choose a ocean-front room and make sure you are on a floor with ice vending machine
See more room tips
Green Features: Unsure about the environmental practices. I did not see any practices which tell me this is an environmental friendly hotel.
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank coolshot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristineG_GM, General Manager at Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Thank you for yor feedback regarding your recent stay here at the Wyndham VB. It is true we are not the newest shinest kid on the block but we do have a lot to offer AND our rates are truly reflective of all of this. I appriciate your candid comments and want to be clear that we purposfully charge lower than our newer updated neighbors down the street. So, there is always something for everyone in this big city of Virginia Beach, we hope you will give us a try again next time you are in town!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

Kat was the front desk sign in when we arrived. We stayed our first day the first week of July she was so helpful. She gave us a lot of information and spoke highly of the resort. So much we had a lovely dinner in the restruant. We even ordered breakfast the next morning. The second week of July I came back and guess who was at the desk. Yes. KAT.I was so excited that I waited just to use her. She was an awesome front desk attender. The workers in the halls we also very sweet. The Jamaican guy with the sheet cart in the elevator was very nice as well.


A. NESBIT
IMOVEPITTSBURGH@GMAIL.COM

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anesha N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristineG_GM, General Manager at Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Anesha N-Thanks for mentioning Kat in your comments regarding your stay, we thik she is a great team member too! I am pleased that she was able to make your stay a pleasant one, alog with some other standout coworkers. It is really nice that you took the time to mention them, thank you. I hope you have a wonderful summer and we hope to see you again.
Sincerely,
C Geist
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
3.4 mi away
Ramada Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Ramada Virginia Beach Oceanfront
#33 of 109 in Virginia Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,853 reviews
1.4 mi away
Sheraton Oceanfront Hotel
Sheraton Oceanfront Hotel
#29 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 933 reviews
2.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Beachfront
Comfort Suites Beachfront
#8 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
The Oceanfront Inn
The Oceanfront Inn
#18 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
2.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel
1.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Oceanfront Virginia Beach
BEST WESTERN PLUS Oceanfront Vir...
#16 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Property: Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Address: 5700 Atlantic Ave, 57th St & Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-2236 (Formerly Ramada)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Green Hotel in Virginia Beach
#31 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront 3*
Number of rooms: 244
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront Hotel provides the perfect location and amenities for a memorable Virginia Beach vacation. Situated on the north end of the beach just blocks from the Boardwalk, the Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront hotel offers on-site entertainment along with access to countless attractions that make it the ideal setting for family fun. From a day spent enjoying the natural beauty at First Landing State Park to a stroll on the Boardwalk or a marine adventure at Virginia Aquarium, Virginia Beach provides the perfect blend of excitement and relaxation the whole family will enjoy. On-site entertainment is endless at the Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront Hotel. Guests can spend the entire day relaxing on the semi-private beach or cooling off with a swim in the indoor pool. There is also a fitness center for those that wish to stick to their fitness routine. After enjoying dinner at the Surf Club Ocean Grille on-site at the hotel, families can take advantage of the free shuttle to the Boardwalk, where they can enjoy an evening of excitement and entertainment. The Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront Hotel features 244 guestrooms, with 166 oceanfront options available, boasting the most direct ocean views in Virginia Beach. Guests can delight in cool sea breezes from their private balcony or patio opening to our semi-private beach. All of the guestrooms at the hotel feature free Wi-Fi, a refrigerator, coffeemaker and flat-screen TVs. For guests that want a little more space, the one and two bedroom suites as well as the Jacuzzi king rooms offer sweeping views of the shoreline, along with some extra room for the whole family to relax after a great day at the beach. The stunning scenery of the Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront Hotel makes it a great option for a meeting or event. From a 5,128 square foot ballroom to a 2,000 square foot outdoor oceanfront patio, the hotel can accommodate groups up to 550 people. The hotel also provides the perfect setting for an oceanfront wedding, offering everything from exquisite catering options to personalized event services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront Hotel Virginia Beach
Oceanfront Virginia Beach
Virginia Beach Wyndham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing