We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst hotel experience in 20 years”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Ranked #59 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 16 July 2014

The room was marginal with a wet carpet...tiny bathroom that was always hot and the shower barely gave a trickle with water temperature you could tolerate. The elevator and hallways were always very hot and filthy...the ice machine on our floor was out of order. We thought we had reserved an ocean front room which turned out not to be even though we paid top dollar.

The beach in front of the hotel was wide and beautiful. The Surf Club Grill was the only redeeming quality...food was good even though pricey. The hotel is very far from the boardwalk and the hotel provided complimentary shuttle service to the boardwalk but it was very inconvenient.

Will definitely NOT stay there again nor recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: Read reviews before you book and make sure your reservation states where youn room is located in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lee R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,958)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,496 - 1,502 of 2,958 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2014

I picked the Wyndham based on location alone (I wanted to stay north of the boardwalk area). But, I was apprehensive based on so many reviews I have seen online. Preparing for the worst, I was pleasantly surprised by the room.

I had no real complaints with the room (except for the random fact that there were no washcloths). It was clean, which is really all I can ask for in a hotel. We couldn't check in until 4, which I think is very late, but they let us use the pool while we waited(and the beach is right there). Only slight complaint I have is that the hallways were very hot (maybe mid-80s), but I was not in the hallways long enough for this to negatively impact my stay.

Room Tip: I had an ocean-front top-floor room - great view, especially with the thunderstorms that rolled in o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jonts74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Our 45th Anniversary on 5/11/14 was a wonderful experience because of this hotel and its caring and friendly staff. Especially noted are Charles Waddell our phone contact,Glen Palmer- front desk manager,Chris Ford-Restaurant Manager,and Christine Geist- General Manager of the Hotel who was so helpful. Our delightful room on the 14th floor had a beautiful balcony overlooking the ocean. This was our 2nd stay in 3 years and we were treated like royalty. The help staff kept the room spotless. We are hoping to stay at the Wyndham for our 50th anniversary. This hotel is very quiet because it is in a residential neighborhood, much less noise and hubbub than those in town.







this was

Room Tip: Ocean front rooms have balconies. The best views are above the 4th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Arnold R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristineG_GM, General Manager at Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Thank you Arnold R for your generous comments regarding your stay! We really enjoyed having you and your wife for your anniversary celebration! It was a treat for us all to meet you and thank you for sharing your bus experiences with us! See you for your 46th!!
Sincerely,
Christine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

I was with the VTCA for 3 nights the staff was awesome the room was clean the food was good at the surfs up ocean grill the free shuttle was nice the pool was nice the view from our room was nice I highly recommend the Wyndham Virginia beach ocean front.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Kent W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristineG_GM, General Manager at Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

We loved having your group here and appriciate you sharing your feedback with us! See you in 2016!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

First, don't get there late st night no restaurant or room service after 10 PM. The food is good. The room rug was very dirty , the bathroom outlet was halfway out of the wall covered with dust. Housekeeping is ok, some better than others.
The rest of the staff are helpful and friendly. Everyone speaks English.
Nice beach, renters for beach equipment charge ridiculous rental fees; bring your own stuff.
The non air-conditioned halls were very humid but didn 't bother me. College boys took over the pool on the 4th of July leaving families to sweat it out in the indoor pool.

Please deep clean the hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sully1911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristineG_GM, General Manager at Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Thanks for your feedback regarding your recent stay, we appriciate your concerns and have addressed them with the team! We Hope you will give us another chance next time you are in the area! Have a great summer!
Sincerely,
C Geist
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Stayed here 2 nights and really couldn't fault the place. The oceanfront room was a good size, 2 queens, refrigerator and was very clean overall. Was asked when booking what type of room we wanted so there was no surprises. Check in staff were good and a free shuttle into the downtown area was handy. The breakfast buffet was a bit overpriced for what was available. You could also order off the menu.
Bar area and staff were very good as was the outside lounges and chairs. Easy access onto the beach, plenty of car parking spaces and quiet hotel as its not in the busy area of town.
Good wireless internet, ice machines on at least 3 floors. I wouldn’t hesitate to stay here again.

Room Tip: Pay the little extra for the high floor oceanfront room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank GlenAlison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristineG_GM, General Manager at Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Thanks for your great feedback regarding your recent stay with us. Glad you were able to take advantage of the shuttle and several other of our amenities while you were here. I hope you have a great summer and visit us again soon!
Sincerely,
Christine
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Great beachfront location. Check in painless. Take advantage of limited covered parking. The hotel is in need for a serious fixer-upper. The rooms are average size, furniture in the rooms are dated, carpet is very dirty, coming off the side walls, lamps are tasteless, mattress is a 1000 year old, sheets were not pressed but clean, a/c is very old and has poor control. Thus it gets too hot or too cold. The rooms have a musty odor and there seems to be some water damage to the ceiling. Bathroom is small with a small tub, showerhead was good though. Indoor pool is small but look up to the ceiling and you will see the state of disrepair. The ice dispenser is only present on certain floors, the hallways do not have air and are oppressively hot.

Only reason to stay here - location, location, location. Right on the beach has its advantages.

If they management would give a make-over, it has a potential to be a very good hotel if not an excellent one. But it looks like they are waiting for things to fall over before they decide to do anything to fix it.

Room Tip: Choose a ocean-front room and make sure you are on a floor with ice vending machine
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank coolshot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristineG_GM, General Manager at Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Thank you for yor feedback regarding your recent stay here at the Wyndham VB. It is true we are not the newest shinest kid on the block but we do have a lot to offer AND our rates are truly reflective of all of this. I appriciate your candid comments and want to be clear that we purposfully charge lower than our newer updated neighbors down the street. So, there is always something for everyone in this big city of Virginia Beach, we hope you will give us a try again next time you are in town!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
3.4 mi away
Ramada Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Ramada Virginia Beach Oceanfront
#34 of 109 in Virginia Beach
2,105 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
#13 of 109 in Virginia Beach
2,001 reviews
2.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Virginia Beach
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Virgi...
#12 of 109 in Virginia Beach
1,364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Beachfront
Comfort Suites Beachfront
#3 of 109 in Virginia Beach
444 reviews
1.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Virginia Beach
Best Western Plus Virginia Beach
#19 of 109 in Virginia Beach
1,507 reviews
2.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Address: 5700 Atlantic Ave, 57th St & Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-2236 (Formerly Ramada)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Green Hotel in Virginia Beach
#35 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range: £70 - £151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront 3*
Number of rooms: 244
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront Hotel provides the perfect location and amenities for a memorable Virginia Beach vacation. Situated on the north end of the beach just blocks from the Boardwalk, the Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront hotel offers on-site entertainment along with access to countless attractions that make it the ideal setting for family fun. From a day spent enjoying the natural beauty at First Landing State Park to a stroll on the Boardwalk or a marine adventure at Virginia Aquarium, Virginia Beach provides the perfect blend of excitement and relaxation the whole family will enjoy. On-site entertainment is endless at the Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront Hotel. Guests can spend the entire day relaxing on the semi-private beach or cooling off with a swim in the indoor pool. There is also a fitness center for those that wish to stick to their fitness routine. After enjoying dinner at the Surf Club Ocean Grille on-site at the hotel, families can take advantage of the free shuttle to the Boardwalk, where they can enjoy an evening of excitement and entertainment. The Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront Hotel features 244 guestrooms, with 166 oceanfront options available, boasting the most direct ocean views in Virginia Beach. Guests can delight in cool sea breezes from their private balcony or patio opening to our semi-private beach. All of the guestrooms at the hotel feature free Wi-Fi, a refrigerator, coffeemaker and flat-screen TVs. For guests that want a little more space, the one and two bedroom suites as well as the Jacuzzi king rooms offer sweeping views of the shoreline, along with some extra room for the whole family to relax after a great day at the beach. The stunning scenery of the Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront Hotel makes it a great option for a meeting or event. From a 5,128 square foot ballroom to a 2,000 square foot outdoor oceanfront patio, the hotel can accommodate groups up to 550 people. The hotel also provides the perfect setting for an oceanfront wedding, offering everything from exquisite catering options to personalized event services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront Hotel Virginia Beach
Oceanfront Virginia Beach
Virginia Beach Wyndham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing