We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not your average Country Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Virginia Beach (Oceanfront)
Ranked #23 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
College Station, Texas
Level Contributor
462 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Not your average Country Inn”
Reviewed 3 August 2013

While the location is good, the property is not your average, country looking, homey but clean and modern Country Inn and Suites - and that is because they simply took the quirky old existing hotel and renovated it but not completely enough. The room was dark, damp, and musty, and the housekeeping was not great. If you get it for a deal or with points, it might suffice, but if you are paying full price, look elsewhere on the beach.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JPC451
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tsgm, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Virginia Beach (Oceanfront), responded to this review, 5 August 2013
Dear JPC451,
I would like to thank you for taking the time out of your day to write a review of our hotel. Please accept my sincere apology regarding your recent stay at the hotel. I am truly sorry that we fell short in meeting your standards.
Our goal is to provide a level of service that requires diligent attention to detail and is a matter of constant reinforcement of our Hotel. We take customer reviews very serious and always use them to make us better. I am sorry that we left you with a bad image of the hotel, but know your review will be used as a tool to make us better.
My hope is that you will give us another chance to provide the service that I know we can deliver.

Sincerely,

Tony Sierra
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,176 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    418
    348
    214
    121
    75
See reviews for
613
299
34
88
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Whitby, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Teresa, assistant manager was great, front desk very good, food good. The room was filthy, had to have it cleaned, then cleaned again, then the manager had 6 people up to really clean it. The maid we had did the bare minimum, usually we tip the maids even though we paid a premium to stay there. But this time, no way. Unfortunately we will not be staying at this hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tsgm, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Virginia Beach (Oceanfront), responded to this review, 1 August 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. I apologize for the dissatisfaction of your stay. I take the time to listen to your constructive comments so we can continually improve our services. Thank you for the kind words about the other staff members. Although you said, you would not stay with us again , I hope for another opportunity to exceed your expectations.

Sincerely,
Tony Sierra
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Potomac, Maryland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013 via mobile

The hotel is very nice and the internet was fast. We stayed for 2 nights and the hotel restaurant was very nice
..and the daily breakfast was decent as well. However management is not very accomodating. .. we will try another place next time. However, the front desk staff is friendly

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mwchass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tsgm, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Virginia Beach (Oceanfront), responded to this review, 29 July 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. In reviewing your response I noticed That you were no to pleased with management.

If you have a moment and are willing to share any specifics on these items it would help me to remedy these concerns. However, regardless of your response to my request I want to make sure that you feel your comments were heard.

I'm hoping that you'll visit us again. If you'd like, you can reach me at the phone number listed below. It would be a pleasure to personally discuss with you any specifics and / or suggestions you'd like to offer.


Sincerely,

Tony Sierra
General Manager
Hotel Management
757-437-9100
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, Ohio, United States
1 review
Reviewed 27 July 2013

I made my first solo trip from Ohio without my husband who passed away recently. I traveled with my son and his friend. Both 14 yrs. old. To say the least I had a lot of anxiety about the trip. From the moment I walked in I felt at ease. The rooms were clean, parking was very accessible, the staff was incredible especially Toresa . Loved the location on the board walk. Would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diana H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlottesville, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed 21 July 2013

I stayed with 6 teenagers in two rooms overlooking the ocean. Everything was great. The rooms were clean. The staff were amazingly friendly- especially Amy at breakfast and Josh at the front desk. Even though there was tons of dirt and sand brought in continuously from the beach, the staff constantly cleaned so the hotel always looked first rate. The breakfast was average but the parking was easy, the rooms were spacious and nicely upgraded. No complaints and I will definitely return there again.

Room Tip: All the rooms are smoke free and overlook the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David_S57592
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waynesboro, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed 12 July 2013

Found the front desk staff to be very unfriendly. No one spoke as we entered the building at any given moment. The restaurant staff and housekeeping was the only bright aspect of the hotel. SLOW elevators. Dirty pool that had a pipe sticking out and no cover on the intake at the bottom of the pool. TV was out for most of the day Wednesday.Had to pay extra for parking as we had two vehicles. Air conditioner very loud. Stayed on second floor, no problem with outside noise. Will probably not stay there again for $200 a night. Customer service poor.

Room Tip: stayed on 2nd floor. right outside of garage.great for loading,unloading
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sfitzhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tsgm, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Virginia Beach (Oceanfront), responded to this review, 15 July 2013
Dear Sfitzhite:

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us here in Virginia Beach . I am sorry that you were disappointed with the behavior and lack of concern that my front desk team expressed. I am glad to read that other department came through and made you feel welcomed. Please know that our goal is that every employee you come in contact with knowledge's you and provide any kind of assistance you my need.

As a consumer, I know how I expect to be treated. I am truly sorry that they failed to provide you with their very best. I hope that you will give us the opportunity to serve you on your next visit to our area.

Respectfully,

Tony Sierra
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013

Pros: Ocean Views, Clean Hotel, Good Breakfast, Somewhat Modern Rooms, Easy Access From Parking Deck, Premium TV. Much Nicer Room Quality (in terms of decor, bed, and walls) Than Many Similarly Priced Beach Hotels.

Cons: Somewhat Cramped Bathrooms, Room Felt a Bit Humid. Front Desk Clerk Misinformed Me Regarding Floor Number of Parking Deck.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CosmoProfessor6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
#2 of 109 in Virginia Beach
589 reviews
0.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Beachfront
Comfort Suites Beachfront
#7 of 109 in Virginia Beach
364 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfront/South
Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfr...
#14 of 109 in Virginia Beach
834 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront
0.4 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Four Points by Sheraton Virginia...
#20 of 109 in Virginia Beach
677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Virginia Beach (Oceanfront)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Virginia Beach (Oceanfront)

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Virginia Beach (Oceanfront)
Address: 1801 Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-3308
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Virginia Beach
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
#28 Business Hotel in Virginia Beach
#34 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Virginia Beach (Oceanfront) 3*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Country Inn & Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront hotel! Located on the beach and just steps away from the world-famous Virginia Beach Boardwalk, our hotel provides easy access to the beach, area dining, souvenir shopping, entertainment and more. Every room features spectacular views of the Atlantic ocean along with a private balcony, microwave, refrigerator, and coffee maker. With its convenient amenities like complimentary hot breakfast, free high-speed wireless Internet access, heated indoor pool, fitness center, oceanfront restaurant, and on-site parking, our oceanfront hotel in Virginia Beach, VA is sure to please leisure and business travelers alike. Come visit us for a fantastic beach vacation! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U. and getaroom.com so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Virginia Beach (Oceanfront) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront Hotel Virginia Beach
Country Inn And Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Howard Johnson Oceanfront Resort
Virginia Beach Howard Johnson Oceanfront
Howard Johnson Virginia Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing