We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Virginia Beach (Oceanfront)
Ranked #25 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Very convenient location. Relatively clean hotel. Lots of effort was seen by staff keeping the place clean during the busy summer month. Minor problems with service but corrected right away. Bathroom door stuck but we managed. Thermostat on wall didn't work which was confusing but controls on the unit itself worked fine. Free hot breakfast daily, kept well stocked even towards end of time period. Only two smaller slow elevators in building. One of them broke during our stay. Took the stairs a lot. The exercise helped balance the lounging on the beach. Free parking but the parking garage is difficult to drive through and has very steep ramps. It's manageable but if you don't like tight spaces someone else will need to park. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Country Inns & Suites By Carlson
Thank Joan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tsgm, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Virginia Beach (Oceanfront), responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Dear Joan H.

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us. I am glad you read that you had a good time. The staff and I would also like to apologize for the concerns you shared about your experience at this hotel. We are working diligently to improve the elevator service in our hotel. I understand that this is an important amenity for our guests, and I am truly sorry for any inconvenience this caused for you.

We appreciate your feedback and will use it to fine tune our operations so when come back on your next visit we can exceed your expectations.


Sincerely,

Tony Sierra
General Manager
Hotel Managment
757-437-9100

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,354)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,093 - 1,099 of 1,354 reviews

Reviewed 2 August 2014

New lobby - very welcoming staff. Unusual private multi-storey car park attached to the hotel provides quick access to every floor. Room was clean but needed refurbishment. Likewise the corridors. Not worth $250+ for one night.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the ice-making machine. High floors are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oldfieldpark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tsgm, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Virginia Beach (Oceanfront), responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Dear Oldfieldpark,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us. I am glad to hear that our experience was pleasant. I also want to thank you for the kind words you shared about the staff.

On behalf of our entire staff here at the Country Inns & Suites we would like to thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!


Sincerely,
Tony Sierra
General Manager
Hotel Management
757-437-9100

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

This ended up being our second hotel room after our original reservation booked through Hotwire became an instant disaster. Hotwire assisted with booking this room for us and was very pleased from the moment I walked into the lobby. The room was clean, staff was courteous and being oceanfront made it perfect. Also, it is located towards the middle of the boardwalk and was easy to walk to various restaurants and shops. Next visit may just skip using a 3rd party to book the room and go directly through the hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Plaidtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tsgm, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Virginia Beach (Oceanfront), responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Dear Plaidtravels,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us. I also want to thank you for wanting to come back and stay with us. Our goal is to make every guest feel like they are a member of the family and they are at a place that is a home away from home.
On behalf of our entire staff, we thank you for your business and hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!
.
Sincerely,
Tony Sierra
General Manager
Hotel Management
757-437-9100

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

This is our second time staying at this place and each time we used Priceline to get a deal. Really this time of year for Virginia Beach there is no way we'd pay 200+ for these hotels. I love Virginia Beach but come on, it's not the Caribbean or even the gulf coast of FL in terms of beach quality. You park in a garage then hoof it to a surprisingly modern lobby. The front desk clerk was pleasant enough. Due to this being a very last minute booking (as in the day before) we were given a room on the first floor. Try to avoid this scenario with every bone in your body. You can't enjoy the view, unless you are fine with every passing person the boardwalk having a lovely view of you.

The room itself was basic. The carpet was suspicious; wear shoes or socks at all times. Otherwise it was a clean double bed room. You can't get any closer to the beach. Which means water everywhere on the the first floor. There were fans going intermittently to help combat the problem . You're walking distance to a few restaurants, and overall it's a fun location. That being said the noise factor for us was almost unbearable. Being so close on the ground floor to the entrance it was a non stop party well into the morning. Just randos beating drums on the board walk at 1am. You know, summer time stuff.

We didn't partake of the offered breakfast. This is a decent budget hotel right on the beach. For under a 100 bucks this time of year you can't do much better.

Room Tip: Never on the 1st floor!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank FinAndFiona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tsgm, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Virginia Beach (Oceanfront), responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Dear FinAndFiona,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our stay with us. I am happy to see that you took advantage of the promotion we were running on Priceline and that you enjoyed your time at the hotel.
On behalf of our entire staff at Country Inns & Suites we thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!


Sincerely,
Tony Sierra
General Manager
Hotel Management
757-437-9100

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We originally booked a 1 week stay at a different oceanfront hotel down the street. The other hotel was a nightmare so we switched to this one. This hotel was in a great location, had clean rooms and nice amenities. We had an ocean front balcony room and the view was beautiful. No complaints about this hotel other than the parking deck was tight, but that's how all these beach hotels are. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dblocker4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tsgm, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Virginia Beach (Oceanfront), responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Dear dblocker,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us. I am thrilled to see that you enjoyed your time at the hotel.

On behalf of our entire staff, we thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!

Sincerely,
Tony Sierra
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

location of hotel is awesome - convenient to everything! Room was by elevator, but not overly noisy; had a strange odor, much like BO when you first walked in! TP holder in bathroom fell off wall. I'd stay again for sure, but not in that room!!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Country Inns & Suites By Carlson
Thank Darlene H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tsgm, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Virginia Beach (Oceanfront), responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Dear DarleneH,

Thank you for taking the time to complete our guest satisfaction survey.

On behalf of our entire staff, we apologize for the concerns you shared about your experience at our hotel. I am very happy to read to you will come and stay with us again. I will make sure the items in the room you stayed in are take care of.


Sincerely,

Tony Sierra
General Manager
Hotel Management
757-437-9100

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

This hotel is an older hotel. It has changed hands many times and the facility shows it. The Front Desk is very friendly and helpful. If you need an repair in your room or a major item breaks in the hotel (over the weekend), it's not getting any attention until at least Monday.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Country Inns & Suites By Carlson
Thank cheseagleone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tsgm, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Virginia Beach (Oceanfront), responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Dear cheseagleone,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your stay at our hotel. I would like to apologize for the inconvenience you experienced as a guest of our hotel. I know that having one of our elevators being out of service is a big inconvenience, please know we did all in our power to get the elevator back in service, unfortunately we could not make that happen and I am truly sorry that it was not communicated to you properly.

Sincerely,
Tony Sierra
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
#1 of 109 in Virginia Beach
632 reviews
0.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Beachfront
Comfort Suites Beachfront
#4 of 109 in Virginia Beach
453 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Four Points by Sheraton Virginia...
#11 of 109 in Virginia Beach
787 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Virginia Beach
Best Western Plus Virginia Beach
#17 of 109 in Virginia Beach
1,530 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
#13 of 109 in Virginia Beach
2,041 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Virginia Beach (Oceanfront)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Virginia Beach (Oceanfront)

Address: 1801 Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-3308
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Virginia Beach
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
#28 Business Hotel in Virginia Beach
#34 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range: £54 - £197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Virginia Beach (Oceanfront) 3*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Country Inn & Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront hotel! Located on the beach and just steps away from the world-famous Virginia Beach Boardwalk, our hotel provides easy access to the beach, area dining, souvenir shopping, entertainment and more. Every room features spectacular views of the Atlantic ocean along with a private balcony, microwave, refrigerator, and coffee maker. With its convenient amenities like complimentary hot breakfast, free high-speed wireless Internet access, heated indoor pool, fitness center, oceanfront restaurant, and on-site parking, our oceanfront hotel in Virginia Beach, VA is sure to please leisure and business travelers alike. Come visit us for a fantastic beach vacation! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Virginia Beach (Oceanfront) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront Hotel Virginia Beach
Country Inn And Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Howard Johnson Oceanfront Resort
Virginia Beach Howard Johnson Oceanfront
Howard Johnson Virginia Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing