We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Impromptu trip - perfect location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Virginia Beach (Oceanfront)

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Virginia Beach (Oceanfront)
Ranked #24 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Kenosha, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
42 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Impromptu trip - perfect location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

We made a quick overnight stay to Virginia Beach. This was a perfect hotel for the stay. Close to many attractions, easy access to the beach, clean and well maintained hotel. Free parking, with access to every floor and every room is ocean front. It is a typical Country Inn & Suites, you get exactly what you expect.
Hotel Staff was on top of it in the busy season.

Room Tip: Higher rooms would have better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Crnttraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,086 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    386
    325
    201
    108
    66
See reviews for
554
284
32
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

This was my groups 2nd time visiting this hotel and both visits were very nice. The hot breakfast is a wonderful change from the continental breakfast at other hotels. The staff is very nice and will assist to resolve any issues to make your stay pleasant. My group will be returning back to the hotel in the near future.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Country Inns & Suites By Carlson

Helpful?
1 Thank Kimberley A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tsgm, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Virginia Beach (Oceanfront), responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Kimberley A,

Thank you writing a review about your recent stay with us, and I am really happy to read that this your second time staying with us, so thank you for returning. From reading the review I see that everyone enjoyed their time with us.
On behave of the entire staff we thank you for your business and PLEASE keep coming back.

Sincerely,

Tony Sierra
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Expensive for the room. Don't bother with the upgrade to the 2 balcony room. Not unless you have several kids and need places to store chairs etc. the couch is in the way and makes it hard to get in and out of it. The views are great! The elevator is SO slow! We took the stairs many times.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Country Inns & Suites By Carlson

Helpful?
Thank aaronj768
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashburn, United States
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

Our family vacation trip could have been better if we would have spent a little more money for a hotel with the comparable offerings. One of two elevators were not working, our sink was clogged and the breakfast was horrible.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Country Inns & Suites By Carlson

Helpful?
Thank Hemang S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tsgm, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Virginia Beach (Oceanfront), responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Hemang S,

I appreciate you taking the time to complete a survey regarding your recent stay with us.
Please accept my personal apologies for the inconvenience you experienced with your reservation at our hotel. I wanted to let you know that we are working diligently to improve the elevator service in our hotel. I understand that this is an important amenity for our guests, and I am truly sorry for any inconvenience this caused for you.

On behalf of our entire staff here at Country Inns & Suites we apologize for the concerns you have about your experience at this hotel. We appreciate the feedback.
Please accept our apology and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area.

Sincerely,

Tony Sierra
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quantico, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

Overall this hotel is very nice, staff very helpful. Great access to beach. Hotel is located close to lots of attractions, such as the Aquarium. My family and I had a wonderful 3 days here and would gladly return.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Country Inns & Suites By Carlson

Helpful?
Thank Dennis G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tsgm, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Virginia Beach (Oceanfront), responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Dennis,

Thank you for writing a review about your stay with us. I am glad that you and your family had a good time.
On behave of the entire staff, we thank you for letting us be part of your vacation and hope to have you return the next time you are in Virginia Beach.

Sincerely,
Tony Sierra
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfax, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

Very convenient location. Relatively clean hotel. Lots of effort was seen by staff keeping the place clean during the busy summer month. Minor problems with service but corrected right away. Bathroom door stuck but we managed. Thermostat on wall didn't work which was confusing but controls on the unit itself worked fine. Free hot breakfast daily, kept well stocked even towards end of time period. Only two smaller slow elevators in building. One of them broke during our stay. Took the stairs a lot. The exercise helped balance the lounging on the beach. Free parking but the parking garage is difficult to drive through and has very steep ramps. It's manageable but if you don't like tight spaces someone else will need to park. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Country Inns & Suites By Carlson

Helpful?
Thank Joan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tsgm, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Virginia Beach (Oceanfront), responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Joan H.

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us. I am glad you read that you had a good time. The staff and I would also like to apologize for the concerns you shared about your experience at this hotel. We are working diligently to improve the elevator service in our hotel. I understand that this is an important amenity for our guests, and I am truly sorry for any inconvenience this caused for you.

We appreciate your feedback and will use it to fine tune our operations so when come back on your next visit we can exceed your expectations.


Sincerely,

Tony Sierra
General Manager
Hotel Managment
757-437-9100
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
62 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

New lobby - very welcoming staff. Unusual private multi-storey car park attached to the hotel provides quick access to every floor. Room was clean but needed refurbishment. Likewise the corridors. Not worth $250+ for one night.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the ice-making machine. High floors are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank oldfieldpark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tsgm, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Virginia Beach (Oceanfront), responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Oldfieldpark,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us. I am glad to hear that our experience was pleasant. I also want to thank you for the kind words you shared about the staff.

On behalf of our entire staff here at the Country Inns & Suites we would like to thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!


Sincerely,
Tony Sierra
General Manager
Hotel Management
757-437-9100
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
0.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Beachfront
Comfort Suites Beachfront
#7 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel
0.4 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Four Points by Sheraton Virginia...
#20 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
#2 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
0.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Fairfield Inn & Suites Virginia ...
#25 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 687 reviews
0.7 mi away
Barclay Towers Resort Hotel
Barclay Towers Resort Hotel
#14 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 928 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Virginia Beach (Oceanfront)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Virginia Beach (Oceanfront)

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Virginia Beach (Oceanfront)
Address: 1801 Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-3308
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Virginia Beach
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
#28 Business Hotel in Virginia Beach
#34 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Virginia Beach (Oceanfront) 3*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Country Inn & Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront hotel! Located on the beach and just steps away from the world-famous Virginia Beach Boardwalk, our hotel provides easy access to the beach, area dining, souvenir shopping, entertainment and more. Every room features spectacular views of the Atlantic ocean along with a private balcony, microwave, refrigerator, and coffee maker. With its convenient amenities like complimentary hot breakfast, free high-speed wireless Internet access, heated indoor pool, fitness center, oceanfront restaurant, and on-site parking, our oceanfront hotel in Virginia Beach, VA is sure to please leisure and business travelers alike. Come visit us for a fantastic beach vacation! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Ebookers and TravelUp so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Virginia Beach (Oceanfront) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront Hotel Virginia Beach
Country Inn And Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Howard Johnson Oceanfront Resort
Virginia Beach Howard Johnson Oceanfront
Howard Johnson Virginia Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing