We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Virginia Beach (Oceanfront)
Ranked #24 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Pleasant Stay”
Reviewed 27 August 2014

Stayed in a Studio Suite. Rm 628. Room was clean and staff was nice, good location. A problem with the A/C unit dripping condensation on the balcony. There was a little pan under the drip to catch the water. I constantly had to empty the pan in order to sit out on the balcony without having my feet in water. That is not acceptable for the price. Overall a nice stay.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Country Inns & Suites By Carlson

Helpful?
1 Thank Uzill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tsgm, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Virginia Beach (Oceanfront), responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Dear Uzill W,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us. I am thrilled to see that you enjoyed your time at the hotel! I also want to thank you mentioning the staff. They work very hard to make your stay memorable thus making you want to come back. We want to be your only choice you think of when staying in Virginia Beach. I will have them check the a/c unit you mention in your review to make sure that is corrected.
On behalf of our entire staff, we thank you for your business and hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!
All the best,
Tony Sierra
General Manager
Hotel Management
757-437-9100
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,149 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    406
    342
    210
    119
    72
See reviews for
594
294
34
87
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 August 2014 via mobile

Very dirty and run down room! Poor management ! We asked for a manager and the only person available was the maintnance man! The room was never cleaned ! Not even the bed! Dirty wrinkled bed sheets and bed spread with stains
Filthy place! Sticky windows and microwave had fingerprints everywhere. The balcony had a flood . The mold and paint was flying in the room from the use of the AC.The sand was everywhere and the floor was very dirty and bread crumbs on the floor
Expedia was not helfpful and we still got charged $170 for refusing this bad dirty room.
We had to go to another hotel and pay again. Very upseting and very unhappy experience for our vacation!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nic0lette363
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tsgm, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Virginia Beach (Oceanfront), responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Dear Nic0lette363

I appreciate you taking the time to write a review of your stay. In reading your comments, I noticed areas that are not a hotel policy for example sending a maintenance person to handle any complaints or if you asked to speak to a manager. If you have a moment and are willing to share any specifics on these items it would greatly increase my ability to better assess and attempt to remedy these concerns. However, regardless of your response to my request I want to make sure that you feel your comments were heard.
I'm hoping that you'll visit us again. If you'd like, you can reach me at the phone number listed below. It would be a pleasure to personally discuss with you any specifics and / or suggestions you'd like to offer.


Sincerely,
Tony Sierra
General Manager
Hotel Management
757-437-9100
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Potomac, MD, USA
Level Contributor
96 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Overall I would give this hotel a 3.5 since the A/C fan noise really bothered me in the night and the thermostat didn't seem to work ! However other amenities were fine, like free breakfast, beach view and beach access as well as an overall neat and clean outfit. The staff was friendly.

Room Tip: All rooms have ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SanD1234567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014

This hotel was unacceptable, do not recommend to anyone. There is nothing else to waste my time writing about, the room was musty and moldy, cell phone service was terrible and the wifi didn't help a bit, internet service was even worse than the cell phone service. Breakfast was fair, chow hall food would have been better.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Country Inns & Suites By Carlson

Helpful?
2 Thank Mark U A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tsgm, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Virginia Beach (Oceanfront), responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Dear Mark U A,
I would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us, and also take this opportunity to apologize for not having good cell phone service or a good wifi connection. I know that these are important amenities and will work on trying to find the best way to remedy the poor service.
Your experience with our breakfast was not the quality of service that we have promised to provide to our guests. Our hotel promise is something that we strive to deliver to every guest every day. Please accept our apologies.
I would like to ask for another opportunity to deliver on the promise we strive to provide every.

Gratefully,
Tony Sierra
General Manager
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pittsburgh, United States
1 review
Reviewed 25 August 2014

It's a good hotel, centrally located on Atlantic Ave. Very easy access to the beach and easy walking to shops. Mostly families seem to stay here, so it's generally quiet at night. Breakfast was good, needed a little more fresh fruit. We would stay there again. The staff is very friendly, knowledgeable, and attend to any problems right away.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Country Inns & Suites By Carlson

Helpful?
Thank Vicki M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 24 August 2014

The Hotel was right on the beach. Every room is an Ocean View room. The rooms are nice but nothing fancy. They are kept clean and free of sand. I enjoy the free breakfast that comes with the room. Again, nothing fancy. The waffles are great but only one waffle maker was working properly, I assume that this is an isolated incident.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Country Inns & Suites By Carlson

Helpful?
Thank 364lynng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macomb, United States
1 review
Reviewed 23 August 2014

This hotel was in the perfect location and the view was amazing! The service and the employees were excellent. We had an issue with our safe and they were very prompt in coming and getting that open. Our car would not fit in the parking garage with the car top carrier on top so that were very prompt in getting maintenance to come help take it off for us and store it. The only downside was that the pool was not very clean and my kids did not want to swim in it at all. And, the bathrooms could really use an update bad. Very old and it looked as if the ceiling was going to cave in over the shower. But, overall we were very pleased.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Country Inns & Suites By Carlson

Helpful?
Thank Wendy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
0.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Beachfront
Comfort Suites Beachfront
#7 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
#2 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 580 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Four Points by Sheraton Virginia...
#20 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
0.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Fairfield Inn & Suites Virginia ...
#29 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 698 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Virginia Beach (Oceanfront)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Virginia Beach (Oceanfront)

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Virginia Beach (Oceanfront)
Address: 1801 Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-3308
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Virginia Beach
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
#28 Business Hotel in Virginia Beach
#34 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Virginia Beach (Oceanfront) 3*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Country Inn & Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront hotel! Located on the beach and just steps away from the world-famous Virginia Beach Boardwalk, our hotel provides easy access to the beach, area dining, souvenir shopping, entertainment and more. Every room features spectacular views of the Atlantic ocean along with a private balcony, microwave, refrigerator, and coffee maker. With its convenient amenities like complimentary hot breakfast, free high-speed wireless Internet access, heated indoor pool, fitness center, oceanfront restaurant, and on-site parking, our oceanfront hotel in Virginia Beach, VA is sure to please leisure and business travelers alike. Come visit us for a fantastic beach vacation! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Virginia Beach (Oceanfront) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront Hotel Virginia Beach
Country Inn And Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Howard Johnson Oceanfront Resort
Virginia Beach Howard Johnson Oceanfront
Howard Johnson Virginia Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing