We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A DUMP”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Howard Johnson Inn Virginia Beach
Ranked #84 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Reviewed 14 September 2012

Me and a 2 small children had a reservations at this hotel that was booked online, when we arrived there we immediately knew we were not staying! There were women and familes hanging outside of the hotel, it was nasty,dirty and old!. When we requested a refund we were denied. Terrible customer service! This place was described by the locals as a "truck stop". This place is dirty and unsafe! Do not book a reservation at this hotel as you will be extremly disappointed!!! Howard Johnson put a horrible kink in our vacation, I would never recommend this franchise to anyone,,,do not stay here!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laura s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (130)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

116 - 122 of 130 reviews

Reviewed 5 September 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights while in Virginia Beach, overall we were not satisfied with the hotel. The rooms were not cleaned the entire time we were there. They called at one point and asked if we needed room service... we were there for 4 nights! Of course we needed room service. We traveled to the beach to swim everyday and then would do nightly activities (dinner, etc) therefore we used more towels than usual with the extra showers. They would only give us 3 towels at a time and my husband had to visit the front desk daily to request more, the clerk was very rude when giving the towels and acted as if we were stealing them or something! The one day that the maid service did come they just gathered the dirty towels which were left in a pile for them and left more on the sink, they didnt even enter the bathroom to leave more TP or take out the trash. The location was not horrible but we didnt realize that it was such a long haul from the beach. Wish it would have been closer. It was close by many fast food restaurants. Overall I would only recommend staying here if you are well aware that you are getting what you paid for and you pack your own towels!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amanda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2012

Near status at this Howard Johnson motel. My room was very dirty. The had mold on the shower curtains
The tube was peeling. The chairs in room were old and dirty. I would never book a room at this motel again. It was the worst experience ever.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tencynt74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2012

my husband and I were supposed to stay there for 4 nights but we checked out after 1 night! The room had a bad odor, the furniture was old, there were hair in the bath tub, and the front desk (Indian) guy was unprofessional/rude! He messed up our bill and double charged on one of our credit cards without permission!! The General Manager is aware of this situation-totally a bad place to stay!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tropicalredrose S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2012

The motel style rooms are fairly clean and tidy. Carpets were better than most motels in this price range, as was the tile in bathroom. Our room with a king bed was a good size, with room to move. There was also a mini-fridge, microwave and coffeemaker. All in all, the room itself was pretty decent, especially for the price.

But, the internet situation was terrible. Their website advertised Internet, but when I got here and asked about the wifi situation, he told me that we could have wifi tomorrow, when we could move to another room (who would want to move to another room halfway through their stay?) For tonight, we were given a 3' ethernet cable. Well, when we got to the room, there was a minuscule wifi signal that kind of works. then we plug into the ethernet, and get nothing. So, the internet here takes off a full star.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Phasenine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2012

The room was fine. I had an efficiency suite. They advertised WiFi but it wasn't working. I had to get a ether cable from the guy on reception who looked like he had slept in his clothes. On the fourth day the stove blew a fuse and they were quick to dispatch maintenance to fix it.....HOWEVER....the maintenance man, as soon as he found out I was Irish, took great pride in telling me he was in the English armed forces in his hay day and how much he loved killing us "Catholic Paddys" back when he was posted in the North....
Decided not to stay a second week for obvious reasons.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank nouse4aname
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2012

we were here to visit our son who is stationed across @ the amphibase and stayed at thi hotel. it is convenitently located within walkin distance from his station and is accesible to super markets within blocks. the hotel turned out to be a pleasant surprise as due to its warm hospitality and clean rooms and good smal breakfast bar.
we recommend tis hotel for an affordable and a clean friendly no hassle stay.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank wallace b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn Little Creek
Quality Inn Little Creek
#75 of 109 in Virginia Beach
51 reviews
5.0 mi away
WoodSpring Suites Virginia Beach
WoodSpring Suites Virginia Beach
#55 of 109 in Virginia Beach
36 reviews
2.4 mi away
Red Roof Inn Virginia Beach - Norfolk Airport
Red Roof Inn Virginia Beach - No...
#56 of 109 in Virginia Beach
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Best Western Center Inn
Best Western Center Inn
#45 of 109 in Virginia Beach
378 reviews
4.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn Norfolk Virginia Beach
La Quinta Inn Norfolk Virginia B...
#54 of 109 in Virginia Beach
383 reviews
4.9 mi away
Days Inn Virginia Beach Town Center
Days Inn Virginia Beach Town Cen...
#85 of 109 in Virginia Beach
358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Inn Virginia Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn Virginia Beach

Address: 5173 Shore Dr, I-64 EX 282, Rt 13 to US 60 W, Virginia Beach, VA 23455-2502
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #84 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Price Range: £42 - £67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Howard Johnson Inn Virginia Beach 2.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn Virginia Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn Virginia Beach Hotel Virginia Beach
Howard Johnson Virginia Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing