We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs new staff and upgrade rooms.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Howard Johnson Inn Virginia Beach
Ranked #85 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Reviewed 2 February 2013

Some of the staff members were extremely rude. from the moment I walked in. one guy didn't speak when I came in, and when I asked about the prices of the room he asked my age. Then he kept making assumptions like we didn't have the money for the room. The toilet was clogged when we entered, and the room door barely closes when you leave. I asked for assistance, but they never showed.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beeehonest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (130)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

111 - 117 of 130 reviews

Reviewed 14 December 2012

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
1  Thank KRYSTAL B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 20 October 2012

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank JUSTIN H
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 20 September 2012

Overall our stay was good. Room smelled kinda musty when we arrived but nothing that some air freshner couldn't take care of. The lady at the front desk was extra nice and understanding about us needing an early check in. The location is about 10 minutes from the beach which wasnt a big deal until I found out that you had to pay to park everywhere in the resort area and it wasnt cheap. (myrtle beach has free parking) Our stay was overall good and we would stay here again. (don't go to motel 6 there staff is very rude and they are very unorganized)

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank HOPE Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2012

When we arrived, registered for 3 people, the room was short linens. The second day, the room was again short one set of towels. The front desk did not respond well to a request for the additional items. The room was also not restocked with soap, shampoo, etc. The breakfast did not include anything a gluten sensitive guest could eat.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank DAVID M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2012

Me and a 2 small children had a reservations at this hotel that was booked online, when we arrived there we immediately knew we were not staying! There were women and familes hanging outside of the hotel, it was nasty,dirty and old!. When we requested a refund we were denied. Terrible customer service! This place was described by the locals as a "truck stop". This place is dirty and unsafe! Do not book a reservation at this hotel as you will be extremly disappointed!!! Howard Johnson put a horrible kink in our vacation, I would never recommend this franchise to anyone,,,do not stay here!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laura s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights while in Virginia Beach, overall we were not satisfied with the hotel. The rooms were not cleaned the entire time we were there. They called at one point and asked if we needed room service... we were there for 4 nights! Of course we needed room service. We traveled to the beach to swim everyday and then would do nightly activities (dinner, etc) therefore we used more towels than usual with the extra showers. They would only give us 3 towels at a time and my husband had to visit the front desk daily to request more, the clerk was very rude when giving the towels and acted as if we were stealing them or something! The one day that the maid service did come they just gathered the dirty towels which were left in a pile for them and left more on the sink, they didnt even enter the bathroom to leave more TP or take out the trash. The location was not horrible but we didnt realize that it was such a long haul from the beach. Wish it would have been closer. It was close by many fast food restaurants. Overall I would only recommend staying here if you are well aware that you are getting what you paid for and you pack your own towels!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amanda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn Little Creek
Quality Inn Little Creek
#76 of 109 in Virginia Beach
51 reviews
2.4 mi away
Red Roof Inn Virginia Beach - Norfolk Airport
Red Roof Inn Virginia Beach - No...
#54 of 109 in Virginia Beach
294 reviews
4.7 mi away
Red Roof Inn Virginia Beach
Red Roof Inn Virginia Beach
#46 of 109 in Virginia Beach
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
WoodSpring Suites Virginia Beach
WoodSpring Suites Virginia Beach
#55 of 109 in Virginia Beach
35 reviews
4.9 mi away
Days Inn Virginia Beach Town Center
Days Inn Virginia Beach Town Cen...
#84 of 109 in Virginia Beach
356 reviews
2.4 mi away
Best Western Center Inn
Best Western Center Inn
#44 of 109 in Virginia Beach
373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Inn Virginia Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn Virginia Beach

Address: 5173 Shore Dr, I-64 EX 282, Rt 13 to US 60 W, Virginia Beach, VA 23455-2502
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #85 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Price Range: £38 - £64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Howard Johnson Inn Virginia Beach 2.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn Virginia Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn Virginia Beach Hotel Virginia Beach
Howard Johnson Virginia Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing