We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing Staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Center Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Center Inn
Ranked #42 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
South Glens Falls, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing Staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2013

This hotel was perfect for what we needed. It was 20 minutes from the oceanfront and just down the street from some of the best food in the area. The price for what we got was spot on. The staff (specifically Mary) was just all around PERFECT, She helped us from day one and seemed to always be there with a smile on her face.

The breakfast every morning though it ended a bit early was delicious and FREE! I did not have the opportunity to meet the manager which i would have loved to, just to thank him for everything this place offers.

Overall it was the best hotel experience i have had in years and the thanks really goes to the staff on this one.

Room Tip: Make use of their fantastic free breakfast!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ryan m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LachelleM, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Center Inn, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
Thank you so much for your review. All our staff try to make sure we meet each and every one of our guests needs. We like to make them feel at home. Can't wait to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    131
    115
    39
    21
    16
See reviews for
152
67
23
40
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2013

As a senior married couple we enjoyed our 4 night stay at best western center inn Virginia Beach, Va. It was very convenient to Norfolk Airport but no noise problem. Good hot breakfast with cereals, toast, fruit and eggs plus bacon or similar. Location is convenient by freeway to Norfolk, Portsmouth, Virginia Beach strip and all other major highways. It is not the Ritz but we found that it perfectly fitted our stay in VB and staff very friendly and helpful. Would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LachelleM, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Center Inn, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
We would all like to thank you for taking the time to leave your review it helps us make any changes or just helps boost moral for our staff. Thank you again and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Audubon, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2013

Everyone on the toiur that I talked to (me included!) was very impressed with the friendly and knowledgeable staff. The breakfast was complete--who could ask for better sausage gravy and biscuits!--and the rooms very clean and cared for. The 'fridge' was a bonus I didn't expect at this price point.
Thanks!
Al Smith
Chesapeake Chapter

Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Al S S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LachelleM, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Center Inn, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
We would all like to thank you for taking the time to post this review. We enjoyed having your group each of you were a delight and we certainly can't wait to you guys come back through.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rock
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2013

no microwave..iron would not hold water for steam, it was broken. Bathroom had dirty towels, trash in the room. floor wasn't clean. night management said room was clean. he said they had complaints of that section and he would check it before we went in. he did. said it was clean. NOT. no newspaper...breakfast was horrendous. the sausage was old, could see it was clearly freezer burnt food. out of yogurt, juice. all around the worst place I have ever been. we were late getting in, called ahead. they had plenty of time to make sure it was clean. parking space was tight and lane very narrow to get to the parking. truck pickup had to back up it was so narrow. wished we had checked another hotel but with a funeral who wanted to deal with that again trying to find a decent place to stay. looked good on the net. will NEVER stay here again.

Room Tip: would not recommend this hotel at all. staff lied about room cleanliness. breakfast was left over f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pamela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bwcenter, Public Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Center Inn, responded to this review, 14 May 2013
Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

Our staff ensures every guests satisfaction has been met and we did ask you during your stay if everything was okay and you had mentioned everything was fine. Next time please let us know during the stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
98 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2013

When we decided to go to Virginia Beach, the choice of hotel was definite - Best Western. I love Best Westerns and have never had trouble that couldn't be solved. However, this one did not meet the standards that I am used to with a Best Western.

We arrived on a Saturday night to find out that there was some type of cheerleading or gymnastic event going on in town for younger children and several of them were at our hotel. But, surprisingly, there was little noise or bother from them. The front desk clerk, Moses, was very friendly, and helpful, however, he told us that several guests were complaining that their room keys were not working.

We went to our room, and the room was lovely and comfortable. We turned on the TV and the reception on all but two channels was terrible. We noticed as soon as we got to the room that there were only six parking spaces in the rear for approximately sixteen rooms that were in the rear, and no handicap parking space at all, which I require. So we had to cut our sight seeing short each day so we could get back early enough to assure getting a parking spot in the back, as I have severe asthma and cannot walk long distances. They also allowed some contractors staying there to park a box truck in one of the spaces in the back, which, I felt, should have been reserved for personal autos, not large, commercial vehicles.

Next, we decided to let the housekeeping staff know that there was no need to change our linen every day, so, after reading that note, they didn't even make the beds the next day. Nor did they leave any more coffee, lotions, soap, or towels that first day. But we only discovered that after we had to call the front desk to bring us another key because we couldn't get into our room.

The next day, after getting rid of the note, housekeeping did, at least, make the beds. But, again, left no coffee or sundries. Nor did they bother to vacuum the floor or clean the bathroom. In fact, they left a dirty wash rag in the shower for three days before they took it.

Every morning at promptly 9:00a (while I'm trying to sleep in on my vacation) the housekeeping crew gathered outside our door to smoke and chat and carry on, because there was a stone ashtray outside our door.

After six days at this hotel, the room was never vacuumed, the bathroom never cleaned, coffee and sundries were brought once more (even after a call to the front desk specifically asking that they be left every day) and the 9:00a breakfast club met the entire stay.

I let the front desk clerk know all of this on the day we left, 5/10/13. She apologized and said that the owners continually hire back people that they fire because they worry how those employees will support their families. I told her that she would do well to ask them how they will support THEIR families when people stop staying here.

This will seriously impact my decision on future stays at a Best Western, which is truly a shame. I indicated on Twitter that I was unhappy, and someone from Best Western asked me to contact them to let them know what had happened. And I received an e-mail asking me to rate my experience. I have completed the survey, however, it is too soon to know what, if anything, will result. But I am, to say the least, disappointed.

Room Tip: If you require a smoking room, you can get one here, but be sure that you're back to your room b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vicki M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bwcenter, Public Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Center Inn, responded to this review, 14 May 2013
Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

We do have complimentary microwaves available. Also, our breakfast is delivered each week and is kept under fresh conditions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saguenay, Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2013

This is about my 5th stay at this hotel. Receptionist was friendly and very helpful. Rooms were clean. Location is great for travel and transit; not the best environment for enjoying your stay at the hotel. Some choices for restaurant nearby, but none outstanding (mainly fastfood). Not the greatest breakfast, although quite standard for Best Western.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DiaPolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LachelleM, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Center Inn, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave this review. I would like to apologize for the delay in our response as summer had us quit busy. We do have a wonderful steak and seafood restaurant called the Aberdeen barn steak house which comes highly recommended by any of the guest we have sent there. Maybe the next time you stay ask us at the front desk for a discount coupon that you can use there.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#40 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
0.4 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Virginia Beach / Norfolk Airport
Wingate by Wyndham Virginia Beac...
#43 of 109 in Virginia Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
0.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn Virginia Beach - Norfolk Airport
Red Roof Inn Virginia Beach - No...
#50 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Red Roof Inn Virginia Beach
Red Roof Inn Virginia Beach
#39 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Norfolk/Virginia Beach
Hampton Inn Norfolk/Virginia Bea...
#19 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
4.3 mi away
WoodSpring Suites Virginia Beach
WoodSpring Suites Virginia Beach
#64 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Center Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Center Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN Center Inn
Address: 5718 Northampton Blvd, Virginia Beach, VA 23455-3704
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Virginia Beach
#23 Business Hotel in Virginia Beach
#30 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Center Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Center Inn offers guests exceptional service, top-notch amenities and an unbeatable location all at a price travelers can afford. Newly remodeled, this Virgina Beach/Norfolk area hotel offers convenient access to many local attractions, shopping and dining options in Virginia Beach. Guests will enjoy spacious guest rooms featuring cable satellite television, refrigerator, microwave and free high-speed Internet access. The Best Western Virginia Beach/Norfolk serves a complimentary full breakfast each morning. The hotel's outdoor swimming pool is a great on site retreat for hotel guests. Guests traveling to the Norfolk area on business will also appreciate the variety of business services available on property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Center Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hotel Virginia Beach
Best Western Virginia Beach
Virginia Beach Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing