We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cheap is never better!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Magnuson Hotel Norfolk Airport
Ranked #85 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Walt Disney World, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cheap is never better!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2012

Booked this place as a layover while hanging out in Norfolk for the day without having to drive home during late hours. Price very cheap, but you get what you pay for. The shower curtain appeared to have blood on it looking like a murder scene. There were juice boxes, Doritos bags, and dirty towels behind the tv stand. Disgusted! Although it is February, the pool looked like they were about to do a remake of Swamp Thing . Too easy to drain the pool and/or cover it. And at 3:45 a.m it sounded like a party started outside my room! Loud profanity, laughing and scantilly clad dressed suspicious women who appeared to be street walkers servicing customers! Next time I will pay the big bucks for a more upscale hotel.

Room Tip: Always be skeptical when booking online if it isn't the Hilton!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 831KDR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
S C, General Manager at Magnuson Hotel Norfolk Airport, responded to this review, 29 February 2012
Very disappointed to read this review & apologetic for your unpleasant stay. Our management personnel have thoroughly inspected our property, including individual rooms & have not come across such unsanitary conditions. Every being is entitled to their own opinions & no criticism is appointed your way however, our management team would be extremely grateful if you could contact us & provide us with your hotel room & information to allow further investigation. We thrive to satisfy our customers needs & expect no less than a pleasant stay. Once again, on behalf of our staff and management, we appreciate your visit with us & apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused.

757-460-2205 ext: 309

thank you
mgmt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    38
    28
    24
    36
See reviews for
60
35
20
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gainesville, Georgia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

It is what it is... if you want a cheap stay and don't mind sleeping in an uncomfortable bed hearing a lot of noise and cops its the place for you.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mayra J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
S C, Manager at Magnuson Hotel Norfolk Airport, responded to this review, 16 March 2012
At the present time, our hotel is undergoing renovations so we can accommodate our visitors to their highest satisfaction. Unfortunately your visit with us occurred during these circumstances and we feel remorseful you experienced an uncomfortable stay with us. Once our remodeling is accomplished, we would appreciate another visit by you. Thank you very much for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Virginia Beach hotels

Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2012

I came to Magnuson hotel around Feb 2012 and I found it great...I made lots of trips for business and this place is one of the best I have ever seen, the rooms are clean and large with refrigerator and microvawe, which are not provided by every hotel. Very clean and neat place, kind, friendly and helpful staff, rooms are recently renovated, their rates are very modest compared to excellent services and rooms they offer. My stay experience was very pleasant and I stayed for one week, the location is also nice, close to airport, highways 64 and 264, easy drive to Norfolk and Virginia Beach. I highly recommend this hotel...

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveller201201012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
S C, Manager at Magnuson Hotel Norfolk Airport, responded to this review, 16 March 2012
We appreciate the kind words and are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2012

As a frequent traveler to various countries around the world, I must say this hotel was one of the most pleasant, comfortable and friendliest places I have resided at. Not only was customer service polite, they went out of their way to make sure I had everything I needed and requested. I highly recommend this hotel to everyone. I read the previous reviews and was shocked at how people could write horrible lies & negative comments about this hotel. Take it from me, you will not be disappointed at your stay here.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank V S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
S C, Manager at Magnuson Hotel Norfolk Airport, responded to this review, 16 March 2012
Thank you for taking out the time to show your appreciation towards us. It makes us proud to know we are respecting our clients well & that we stay committed to our obligations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Beach, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2012

As a prominent business traveler in the Virginia Beach Area I have read all of the OLD reviews. I took a chance and made a reservation. ALL of the bad reviews are YEARS old. The rooms are clean and renovated. They have VERY reasonable rates and will match any hotel in the area. They have a great restaurant on site, a free airport shuttle, continental breakfast, wi-fi, and large meeting rooms that are beautiful and exceptionally reasonable in price. This hotel is a Virginia Beach landmark and is family oriented in management, and it reflects on the guest experience. Any small incident will motivate someone to badmouth a business. The Magnuson deserves to be heard and any vindication is well deserved. I strongly recommend this hotel for your next event or Virginia Beach getaway!!

Room Tip: This hotel has ample parking, all rooms are away from main streets. The business rooms are spacious...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chris w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
S C, Manager at Magnuson Hotel Norfolk Airport, responded to this review, 16 March 2012
Thank you for visiting us regardless of the previous contradictory reviews. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us & hope this pleasant atmosphere will elicit another visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2012

This is one of the cheapest hotels in Norfolk, and from first entering I was expecting a really low budget hotel. However, I was pleasantly surprised when I found myself entering a spacious room with microwave, fridge, and our King size bed. I'd been to a hotel in the area for double the price and it had twice as much room. They have an on-site restaurant which has great service, and is really close to other great restaurants (the Chinese buffet across the street is GREAT). We had one night where our room keys didn't work but we just went up to the desk and they fixed it, in less than 2 minutes. I've had no problems with the bathrooms, and there are plenty of places to put your stuff. It's also a great bed and just really pleased that you can get this much for so little! Internet service was also great and staff has been pleasant. I would recommend it, especially if you can get military discount.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dearjamie26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
S C, Manager at Magnuson Hotel Norfolk Airport, responded to this review, 16 March 2012
It is our obligation to make sure the duration of our clients visit is nothing less than respectful, appreciated & satisfactory & we are glad you experienced all of that with us. We are grateful for your generous words...thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
virginia beach
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2012

Unbelievable for such a low rate. Family stayed for 2 weeks! Nice clean rooms,friendly housekeepers and beautiful pool! i was very surprised and happy...Thanks to the management..Will visit again while in VB

Room Tip: Ask for daily rooms or rooms by the pool also has a great bar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pookiebear1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
S C, Manager at Magnuson Hotel Norfolk Airport, responded to this review, 16 March 2012
Thank you! We welcome any future visits and look forward to servicing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn Virginia Beach - Norfolk Airport
Red Roof Inn Virginia Beach - No...
#49 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Center Inn
BEST WESTERN Center Inn
#42 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
0.4 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Virginia Beach / Norfolk Airport
Wingate by Wyndham Virginia Beac...
#43 of 109 in Virginia Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
WoodSpring Suites Virginia Beach
WoodSpring Suites Virginia Beach
#64 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
2.2 mi away
Quality Inn Little Creek
Quality Inn Little Creek
#71 of 109 in Virginia Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
3.0 mi away
Red Roof Inn Virginia Beach
Red Roof Inn Virginia Beach
#39 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magnuson Hotel Norfolk Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnuson Hotel Norfolk Airport

Property: Magnuson Hotel Norfolk Airport
Address: 5708 Northampton Blvd, Virginia Beach, VA 23455
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #85 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Magnuson Hotel Norfolk Airport 2*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Each room is being remodeled and contains modern amenities, including but not limited to mini fridge, microwave, iron, ironing board, in-room coffee, FREE Wi-Fi, SHOWTIME. Every morning from 6:00a.m. to 9:00 a.m. we offer FREE continental breakfast. A suite, that has a separate kitchen, separate bedroom with a King size bed, separate living room and a Jaccuzi tub is available as well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Magnuson Hotel Norfolk Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Virginia Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing