We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An airline pilot's best friend! Great Value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Magnuson Hotel Norfolk Airport
Ranked #88 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Raleigh
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An airline pilot's best friend! Great Value”
Reviewed 9 August 2012

I lost my base in Raleigh and got relocated to the Norfolk Airport with my airline and I must say the location is great I have everything I need walking distance. Even if is not a gated hotel the area is fairly secure and I have never had a problem. Torie, Sunny and the rest of the staff work hard to make it the best experience possible for you and will go out of their way to make sure you have a great stay. The rooms vary, but so far no complaints at all. The hotel rooms were just recently renovated and me traveling all over the world I can say that the rooms are a great value, and to me most importantly is that they are clean, and secure for a good price. I enjoy my stay every time and will continue to stay with them and spread the word to my fellow pilots. They will soon have a van service on request for the airport. Also a free breakfast in the mornings doesn't hurt at all, keep up the good work!
A.C.
US Airways Express Carrier

Room Tip: Upper rooms have less noise and also no illumination from the vehicles parking in front of the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alain c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    38
    28
    25
    40
See reviews for
63
36
21
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bridgeport, West Virginia
1 review
Reviewed 8 August 2012

our stay was awsome just think the hotel needs a hot tub and bigger pool the stufff was very nice to us and we will return in furture.we liked how rooms were side by side.torie was very helpful and was good about giveing us towels and thing that we needed

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank christina d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moseley, Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2012

My husband and I stayed here for one night, between Busch Gardens and Virginia Beach. The hotel is dated, but our room was very clean. The carpet seemed to be new. There was a strong smell of room freshener, but that faded rather quickly. It was nice to have a refrigerator and microwave. The room was quiet, and we didn't hear any outside noise. The front desk staff was friendly and efficient. All in all, a good value for one night.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
petersburg, virginia
1 review
Reviewed 26 July 2012

My daugher and I was on vacation July 16-18, 2012. we had a bad experience at the hotel we had already booked. So we checked out of that one and went down the street and we found Magnuson Hotel, Virginia Beach, Va. I told the manager our experience we had down the street from him . He gave me the key and ask me to go and look at the room. The room was great. So we stayed at the Magnuson hotel. All of the staff was just great. The manager couldn't have been any nicer. The next time I'm in virginia Beach I will stay at the Magnuson Hotel.

Room Tip: The only thing I can add the service was exellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cheryl c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodbridge, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed 18 July 2012

This hotel wasnt that bad, its not unbearable. the price may be a little high for its value but overall it was a decent place to stay for a couple nights with some friends.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Takiyah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
S C, Manager at Magnuson Hotel Norfolk Airport, responded to this review, 25 July 2012
Thank you for taking out the time to write about your stay. We are continuing to renovate and once our remodeling is accomplished, we would appreciate another visit by you. thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Littleton, Colorado
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2012

We booked at the last minute on a holiday weekend and we were looking for a good deal near the beach. We had a great trip, good value for the money, clean rooms but the beds could be more comfortable. We left a couple of rings in the room and the very honest staff made sure they were shipped to us. We would stay again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank harken727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roanoke, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2012

My husband, daughter & I stayed at the Magnuson Norfolk location for 2 nights while in town for our daughters college orientation. My decision to stay there was based on the fact that they had the best rates, were extremely close to the college & I was informed that they had just finished a total renovation. Unfortunately, a fresh coat of paint does not a renovation make. There was mold & mildew on our shower curtain; a used, wet towel hanging on our shower curtain rod; the desk lamp shade was sooooo dirty & nasty looking that I refused to touch it; the beds were like sleeping on cardboard boxes; etc. etc. We stay at alot of hotels, from Super 8's to Hyatts and I can honestly say that I have not been quite this dissappointed in my accomodations in years. I would have mentioned all this to the front desk staff, but there seemed to be a huge argument going on in the front lobby between the staff & some other guests at the time of checkout & I was not even asked if I had enjoyed my stay or anything - I was just handed my receipt and told to "have a nice day". We should have complained the first night & gone next door to the Best Western, but we were so tired & worn out from our day that we stayed & vowed never to return to this hotel. A final note - the outdoor pool looked lovely but they closed it at 8 pm - IN THE SUMMER !!! REALLY!?!?!?

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
S C, Manager at Magnuson Hotel Norfolk Airport, responded to this review, 9 April 2013
We sincerely apologize for the delay in responding to your complaint and regret any complications that you had during your stay at the Magnuson Hotel. At the time of your stay we were in the process of renovating and apologize that renovations were not fully completed. We strive to ensure our guest experience the best visit possible during their stay and we take customer service very seriously. Any additional suggestions you may have would be welcome. Please contact us at your earliest convenience to get more information on this matter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Virginia Beach hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn Virginia Beach - Norfolk Airport
Red Roof Inn Virginia Beach - No...
#51 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Center Inn
Best Western Center Inn
#38 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
0.4 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Virginia Beach / Norfolk Airport
Wingate by Wyndham Virginia Beac...
#45 of 109 in Virginia Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
WoodSpring Suites Virginia Beach
WoodSpring Suites Virginia Beach
#53 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
2.2 mi away
Quality Inn Little Creek
Quality Inn Little Creek
#72 of 109 in Virginia Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
3.0 mi away
Red Roof Inn Virginia Beach
Red Roof Inn Virginia Beach
#47 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magnuson Hotel Norfolk Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnuson Hotel Norfolk Airport

Property: Magnuson Hotel Norfolk Airport
Address: 5708 Northampton Blvd, Virginia Beach, VA 23455-3704
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #88 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Magnuson Hotel Norfolk Airport 2*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Each room is being remodeled and contains modern amenities, including but not limited to mini fridge, microwave, iron, ironing board, in-room coffee, FREE Wi-Fi, SHOWTIME. Every morning from 6:00a.m. to 9:00 a.m. we offer FREE continental breakfast. A suite, that has a separate kitchen, separate bedroom with a King size bed, separate living room and a Jaccuzi tub is available as well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Magnuson Hotel Norfolk Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Virginia Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing