We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, but nothing to write home about”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Magnuson Hotel Norfolk Airport
Ranked #87 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Reviewed 11 July 2013

This is a good hotel if you are looking to save some money and not spend a lot of time at the hotel. The staff had a tendency to be surly, but that's not a problem if you're like me and don't spend a lot of time in the lobby. But the room was clean and comfortable, and the free wifi was definitely a plus.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CThomas39588
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
S C, Manager at Magnuson Hotel Norfolk Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2013

I like to thank you for taking the time out to let us know about any issues concerning the hotel. I apologize that our staff was not acting in a professional manner. Our number one priority is to provide great customer service and we have failed you. I am glad on the other hand that you were comfortable in your room and that you enjoyed the WIFI. We are periodically making changes towards the hotel and hope that you will come back and let us make your stay more enjoyable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (216)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

175 - 181 of 216 reviews

Reviewed 31 March 2013

this is the 2nd time we have stayed here. it was just as good if not better. room nice and clean.quiet and had a good nights sleep. will be back again if possible. we hope the adams rest. is opened next time we visit. great oysters!! plenty of nearby rest. and gas stations.

Room Tip: we always ask for a room with 2 beds. quiet back there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank george l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
S C, Manager at Magnuson Hotel Norfolk Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2013

I want to thank you for the gracious words you said about Magnuson Hotel. Your insight and thoughts of the hotel are greatly important to us, but we are especially delighted when the review is positive. We try hard to make sure we provide the highest quality of service to our customers and we are rewarded by the customer's satisfaction.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2012

I stayed here one night before an early flight out of Norfolk. The lobby smelled strongly of cigarette smoke but I had a non-smoking room which did not smell. The check in woman was very friendly and I was able to check in several hours early. I do not like that they take an imprint of your credit card on a piece of paper that has a copy of your ID on it. This would be a very easy thing for someone to get a hold of and use your card. The rooms are very simple but adequate for a night's stay. The bed was okay but the pillows were very lumpy. Wifi in the room was nice. Breakfast consistent of two cereal choices and bread.

Room Tip: Rooms near the Lobby/Restaurant have better Wifi but if you don't have the AC/Heat unit going yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nessren13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2012

Great hotel! Prices were very affordable and flexible with military traveling members! Staff was very polite and helpful. Will definitely stay again!! Room had everything that was needed. Really appreciated the wifi in the room for Internet. As for the room itself no issues, bed was very comfortable and everything had the new feeling.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thomas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
S C, General Manager at Magnuson Hotel Norfolk Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2013

I was delighted to receive your review and was especially pleased to read your kind words about our Hotel. It made me happy to know you feel at home with us. We strive to make sure that our prices are competitive and we ensure you get great quality for what you pay. You are always welcome to stay with us when your travels bring you this way.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2012

I stayed here as a short birthday getaway. Check in/out was very smooth and the staff very friendly and helpful. The only thing I would suggest is to add more amenities, but overall it was well worth the price.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrea A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2012

I stayed there last friday as a last minute stop. The people at the check in desk were friendly and helpful. The room served the purpose but that was about it. I assumed that there would be basic toiletries but there was nothing more then 2 travel size bars of soap. The bathroom door rubbed on the ground so to shut it you had to push pretty hard to get it to close. They have a simple breakfast in the morning which is nice. It was good for a short stay but would not recommend it for an extended stay. I would stay there again

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nkjanes78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2012

Stayed here for one night with my boyfriend, and we were treated wonderfully! The front desk assistant was extremely helpful in answering any questions we had. The room was clean, well put together, nice furniture, jacuzzi and all! So close to everything and easy to checkout. Its nice to come to a hotel with staff who are so willing to go out of their way to help with whatever we needed. Great stay, great staff, great hotel!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stephanie c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
S C, General Manager at Magnuson Hotel Norfolk Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2013

We are so delighted to hear that you received a great value at a great price. We continue to try our hardest to accommodate our guest and hope that we see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
0.4 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Virginia Beach / Norfolk Airport
Wingate by Wyndham Virginia Beac...
#52 of 109 in Virginia Beach
419 reviews
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#35 of 109 in Virginia Beach
176 reviews
2.8 mi away
Courtyard Virginia Beach Norfolk
Courtyard Virginia Beach Norfolk
#53 of 109 in Virginia Beach
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
La Quinta Inn Norfolk Virginia Beach
La Quinta Inn Norfolk Virginia B...
#57 of 109 in Virginia Beach
387 reviews
0.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn Virginia Beach - Norfolk Airport
Red Roof Inn Virginia Beach - No...
#59 of 109 in Virginia Beach
295 reviews
4.6 mi away
Candlewood Suites Virginia Beach / Norfolk
Candlewood Suites Virginia Beach...
#43 of 109 in Virginia Beach
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magnuson Hotel Norfolk Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnuson Hotel Norfolk Airport

Address: 5708 Northampton Blvd, Virginia Beach, VA 23455-3704
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #87 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Price Range: £35 - £53 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Magnuson Hotel Norfolk Airport 2*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Each room is being remodeled and contains modern amenities, including but not limited to mini fridge, microwave, iron, ironing board, in-room coffee, FREE Wi-Fi, SHOWTIME. Every morning from 6:00a.m. to 9:00 a.m. we offer FREE continental breakfast. A suite, that has a separate kitchen, separate bedroom with a King size bed, separate living room and a Jaccuzi tub is available as well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Magnuson Hotel Norfolk Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Virginia Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing