We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beware of valuables!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Magnuson Hotel Norfolk Airport
Ranked #87 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Beware of valuables!!!”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

My girlfriend and i took a weekend vacation. It was a very nice weekend to visit the beach. This hotel when we first arrived wasn't the best we have stayed in. We thought we give them a try.

Upon getting our 1st room the sink had standing water and dirt all in the sink. The room wasn't fresh smelling. It was full of cloudy and heavy smoke smell. We ask for another room which was given.

That next day we had gone to a few outings. When we returned we notice our key wasn't working. So another trip to the front desk again. Once we entered our room housekeeping claim to have been inside with a full cleaning. Which was a lie. The same sheet,towels,and trash was still in place. What we did notice was our expensive juice was taken.

Management did nothing to fix the issue. Not worth our stay and the area is great. Next time we will stay in Sleep Inn up the street. Much better all around.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Violet035
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
S C, Manager at Magnuson Hotel Norfolk Airport, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
We apologize for any inconvenience we may have caused you during your stay at the Magnuson Hotel Norfolk Airport. We are currently in the process of renovating our hotel, so there will be many great changes coming soon. We take pride in offering the highest level of service to our customers and wish we had address these issues before you left the hotel. Feel free to contact a representative at Magnuson Hotel to discuss this matter further.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    38
    28
    25
    39
See reviews for
63
35
21
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 May 2014

The general manager was very helpful in finding us rooms at this hotel. The hotel next door lost our reservation and was completely sold out. When he heard about our situation, he opened 5 rooms to our party that were just remodeled and not supposed to open yet. He gave us the same price as the hotel next door and was very accommodating.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diamond C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
S C, General Manager at Magnuson Hotel Norfolk Airport, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Happy campers is what we like to see. I am so glad that we made your stay so enjoyable. We strive to make sure that our guest are comfortable and have only good memory of the Magnuson Hotel. We hope that you visit us again and thank you so much for the great review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smyrna, Delaware
Level Contributor
116 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

The staff was less than friendly or knowledgeable when we checked in and we were supposed to be in a King corner room. We were given the key and motioned around to the right. We looked for the room "around to the right" for several minutes before parking and walking to find it on the back side where there was no parking. It was NOT a corner room and the place was really run down. When we got into the room, we were too tired to go back to the desk and ask for the corner room that we had booked because the staff didn't seem very accommodating or informed to start with. The room overlooked what, at one time many years ago, used to be a nice pool/garden area, but that was the only decent thing about it. The room was tiny, the bed was hard and low to the ground, the linens were like budget sheets, the floors sloped and had what felt like buckles under the wrinkled dirty looking carpet. The shower was built for someone less than 5 feet tall, the sink took 5 minutes to drain inbetween each of us brushing our teeth and the huge, old TV was plugged in with the lamp, so we had to unscrew the lightbulb in order to watch in the dark, lol. There was a lot of activity/noise throughout the night....between the awful bed and the noise, we got no sleep. We were so disappointed because the property was so much worse than the pictures. Their website advertised a "buffet breakfast", but it was only cold cereal and coffee in a corner with 2 small tables and 3 chairs. To add insult to injury, the advertised room rate on the sign out front was $10 cheaper than we prepaid on Expedia!!! Worst hotel we ever stayed at!

Room Tip: Find a different hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LISA T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
S C, Manager at Magnuson Hotel Norfolk Airport, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
I apologize for the unsatisfactory experience you had while staying at the Magnuson Hotel Norfolk Airport. Customer service is our number one priority at the Magnuson Hotel. We will defiantly speak to our personnel about their behavior and have this matter rectify. We would appreciate it if you would contact us to discuss this matter further.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Virginia Beach hotels

Virginia Beach, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 April 2014

My girlfriend and I come here when we want to get out of the house and have a nice date night. It's a nice, quiet place and the staff is friendly and helpful. A great place to stay on short notice and always accommodating!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amyrick820
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
S C, General Manager at Magnuson Hotel Norfolk Airport, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
We at the Magnuson Hotel Norfolk Airport are grateful to our happy guests who give us a chance to serve and make them have a comfortable stay . And as you mentioned..Yes! we are always accommodating and happy to have you here. Thanks and we appreciate it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed 5 April 2014

You get what you pay for, butts it was a good $50 spent... quiet, clean, cozy.my boyfriend and I stay here all the time when we just wanna get away from our parents and let it be just us.... the front desk people were nice.. waiting further to open the pool so we can really have some fun.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mwinstead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
S C, General Manager at Magnuson Hotel Norfolk Airport, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
The Management and the staff at the Magnuson Hotel Norfolk Airport are thankful for all the times you have stayed with us and for all your good words. The pool will open shortly and the property will be done with renovations. We look forward to see you again. And remember your satisfaction is priceless for us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Williamsburg, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
160 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014

The staff was very friendly..We were only staying for one night and thought the price was too much..The room smelled,the front of the dresser draw fell off,the drapes were dirty and not hanging properly....we asked for blankets and we told they had none to give us but the hotel wasn't busy???? The hotel needs to be updated...The breakfast was almost non existent,we had a bowl of cereal and went back for another bowl to find all the cereal empty,when we let the staff know it was empty she said that was all they had,there was only 3 of us eating.....they had no more in the whole hotel....there was no OJ,just coffee and apple juice...a few mini muffins and a few mini bagels..to me this is poor management as there were other guests in the hotel.. The young lady at the front desk was friendly and the location was good but that was it... We would not return to this hotel..

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brenda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
S C, General Manager at Magnuson Hotel Norfolk Airport, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
We at the Magnuson Hotel are sorry to hear that. At the time of your stay we had renovations going on in the hotel. But no excuses, we apologize for the discomfort and inconvenience. Please feel free to discuss this matter with any of our supervisors.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynchburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Being 20, my girlfriend and I don't have too much selection at Va beach (most have a 21 age requirement). We went last summer, forgive me if I enter the wrong month, it was either in June or July 2013. We loved our room, it was convenient and allowed us to park right outside the door. This hotel not only has good access to I-264 (To the Boardwalk), but you can also hop on US 60 eastbound and find some more natural less congested beaches such as at the state park. The breakfast could have been better, but it was better than nothing, and the staff that I encountered were all very welcoming. Room was very cozy.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sawyer C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
S C, General Manager at Magnuson Hotel Norfolk Airport, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
The Magnuson Hotel Norfolk Airport would like to thank you for staying with us and apologize for the inconveniences. As you mentioned that you loved your room , we would like to inform you that we have revamped our rooms . So plan a visit soon this summer. We love to have you here!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn Virginia Beach - Norfolk Airport
Red Roof Inn Virginia Beach - No...
#49 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Center Inn
Best Western Center Inn
#38 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
0.4 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Virginia Beach / Norfolk Airport
Wingate by Wyndham Virginia Beac...
#43 of 109 in Virginia Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
WoodSpring Suites Virginia Beach
WoodSpring Suites Virginia Beach
#60 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
2.2 mi away
Quality Inn Little Creek
Quality Inn Little Creek
#71 of 109 in Virginia Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
3.0 mi away
Red Roof Inn Virginia Beach
Red Roof Inn Virginia Beach
#46 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magnuson Hotel Norfolk Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnuson Hotel Norfolk Airport

Property: Magnuson Hotel Norfolk Airport
Address: 5708 Northampton Blvd, Virginia Beach, VA 23455-3704
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #87 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Magnuson Hotel Norfolk Airport 2*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Each room is being remodeled and contains modern amenities, including but not limited to mini fridge, microwave, iron, ironing board, in-room coffee, FREE Wi-Fi, SHOWTIME. Every morning from 6:00a.m. to 9:00 a.m. we offer FREE continental breakfast. A suite, that has a separate kitchen, separate bedroom with a King size bed, separate living room and a Jaccuzi tub is available as well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Magnuson Hotel Norfolk Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Virginia Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing