We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel; a few issues mostly with the restaurant” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Virginia Beach - Norfolk

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Holiday Inn Virginia Beach - Norfolk
Ranked #40 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Wichita, Kansas
Level Contributor
54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great hotel; a few issues mostly with the restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

We stayed a total of 4 nights. Check in was easy and the girl told me exactly where to park for easy access to our room. We had a great spot. We had a sliding door that we could park right in front of. The room was spacious and new looking. The beds are extremely comfortable. The tvs are large with lots of channels. The bathroom was the best. I loved the shelving and long counter. The floors were nice and the shower was very refreshing. Encounters with the house cleaning staff were very pleasant. They also showed me where guest laudry was (3rd floor). There were usually lots of groups in the lobbyusing the convention center or conference rooms but all were very respectful. The outdoor pool was nice and well maintained. It was a good size and had lots of chairs and was a nice atmosphere. 90% of this location was great. But the other 10% was issues: the indoor pool was closed indefinitely. Not a huge issue, but still an advertised attraction that until you asked where it was, did not know it was out of order. I tried twice to call up to the front desk or housekeeping to report our toilet stopped up and no one ever answered. It just rang and rang and rang. Finally just left a note hoping housekeeping would see it. The coffee shop that is also an advertised and anticipated attraction was either never open, or the one day it was, the girl was very frazzled, a little rude, and late. And the restaurant.......the only good part was the breakfast buffet. I would recommend NOT eating any other meal here. They have no iced tea. They were out of almost everything we tried to order. Even soda pop. They had to serve us hot cans of pop and still charged us $2.25 each. The mac and cheese for kids was noodles with the nacho cheese sauce on it. Gross. The rolls they brought us out to eat were still frozen in the middle. The menu is extremely over priced - for what they do have in stock. The food was just not good. There was never really an apology for the experience. I believe that this restaurant is going to become huge turn off for guests if not remedied soon, and may begin to reflect badly upon the hotel, which is otherwise a lovely place to stay. Overall, we loved our stay here - just save your money and eat elsewhere. It was about a 10 minute easy highway drive to get to the beach and was a nice escape from all the noise and people.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the first level with a sliding door. You can park right in front of your room and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    137
    110
    71
    30
    30
See reviews for
110
63
25
126
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Rockville, Maryland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2013

We stayed here one night. Check-in was easy though they couldn't accommodate an early arrival for us. The pool was a good size and clean. The breakfast was tasty and the pancakes were great. Our waitress was very friendly - we asked about the restaurant temperature being so cold and they had ceiling fans on. She said she didn't know why they keep it so cold and she told us that staff wears longs sleeves to keep warm. Breakfast would have been more enjoyable if we hadn't froze while we ate. When we checked in and went to our room, it was freezing there too - it was set on high and full blast cold. We actually had to turn on the heater to warm it up just to make it comfortable. I would stay here again, but would like to see them not freeze out there customers. Take a sweater or sweatshirt!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank J N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2013 via mobile

This hotel was nice. Rooms are wonderful and housekeeping did a wonderful job cleaning the room thanks to Debra who was there for us with anything we needed!! Working in the hotel business and going into management training I see everything because attention to detail is a MUST! The rooms were really clean and the only thing I found was the drapes in 528 had a hole in them. The shower was amazing, I love the sink in the rooms and also the sofabed was the most comfortable I have ever slept on!!
Now to the front desk which I know very well. Customer service is lacking bad. Cindy I believe who checked us in was very in the computer to much and not asking "how was is your day", "did you all have a long drive in", "what brings you here", etc. Not good customer service. Called down to the front desk late one night while we were there to ask for a comforter and pillows to be brought up to our room and waited 30 mins and still nothing, I proceeded to the front desk to find 1 front desk agent and some lady behind the desk in a yellow shirt without a name tag who I guess is suppose to work there but was not dressed professionally. But she was very rude and when I asked about our blankets and pillows the guy was very understanding and apologized about that and proceeded to get some in the back but the lady had the nerve to say "Oh, well we called him at ____ and I guess he can't find them" and then back to the computer she went. Oh really!? Well that was rude and he couldn't have come to the front desk after looking 5 mins and grabbed some up there??? I always had to say "hello" or "how are you doing" when I walked by the front desk except for when a young African American lady who worked nights was always there, she was friendly. Just really if customer service would be improved majorly and no pointing blame on someone else and just saying "I'm sorry about that sir one moment and I will get you that" then this hotel would be amazing!! But with all the reviews about customer service lacking and still nothing being done it is now on the management and how they are not stepping up and fixing this problem that could become worse if not dealt with ASAP.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Culpeper, Virginia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2013

Staff was wonderful!! Cleaning staff always said Hi to us when passing in the hallways!! Hotel and rooms were clean. This was a great hotel for me and my family to stay. Close to Virginia Beach. Kids ate free with paying adult (12 and under)- YEAH, considering we had 3. Buffet breakfast. Pool was wonderful opened early am and didn't close to 11pm. Beautiful hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank A12306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2013

We stayed here for one night the hotel itself was beautiful and very clean. However, two weeks after check out I noticed they charged me for two nights. So I have called numerous times. They still haven't returned my money to my bank card and the on duty manager can't even call me back and let me know why and when the problem will be fixed. I can tell you one thing we will never stay at this property again because of the poor management.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Minpod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Virginia Beach - Norfolk, responded to this review, 1 August 2013
Dear Minpod,

First of all, thank you very much for your recent stay at our hotel. We are so sorry to hear about your experience with us. We’d like to obtain some additional detail regarding your experience so we have sent you a private message. We hope to have the honor of serving you again should your travels bring you back in the area.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shawnee Mission, Kansas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2013

Issues
Room Key cards did not work on 4 of our 8 nights and front desk staff replied as if from a script “Sorry for your inconvenience” without any sense of the inconvenience to guests.
Air conditioning unit was shut down by housekeeping on 2 days out of 8 after cleaning. We were advised to write a note each day so they would leave it on. We also had to include in the note to leave the draperies closed as we faced the setting sun and the room was very warm when we returned even with the air conditioner working.
Clicking noise every 50 to 60 seconds (seems to be in the locked room adjacent to our restroom) continued all day and night.
Coffee pot is in a cupboard unit with absolutely no convenient electrical outlets within 15 feet.
Electrical outlet was in back of the sectional making it extremely inconvenient to get to.
Wi-Fi capability is basically useless…700kbps…essentially 2-3 times faster than dial-up and only one person could get online. Was essentially unavailable on 5 out of 8 nights for both of us.
Microwave had the wrong size rotating plate in it and screeched when it ran.
Did they really need to put and 8 day stay in a pool facing room? Loud yelling and hollering until 11pm and after as the pool did not close as scheduled on 2 evenings as posted. (We were on the 6th floor).
Bathroom sink faucet drain was broken and the drain could not be closed to fill with water.
Light switch on the lamp nearest the night stand next to the windows is broken rendering it useless.
Shower had mildewed grout.
The front desk staff was indifferent at best...they do not acknowledge you even with a smile...they are too busy visiting with one another or talking on a phone.

The maid had the audacity to ask when we were checking out with a comment that she would not be there the day we checked out so she would not get her tip. Hint: Don't expect a tip when the guest has to leave a note each and every day asking for the same thing to occur.

On a positive note, the restaurant, bar, and coffee shop staff were pleasant and courteous as well as helpful. The HDTV was nice and the ability to swivel it to view in any part of the suite was a definite plus.

Conclusions: We will not be staying here again...it was a big disappointment for the price we paid.

Room Tip: Do not stay in Rm 637 ...Pool noise and adjacent utility room condenser clicking leads to a sleeples...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sunflowertraveler_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Virginia Beach - Norfolk, responded to this review, 1 August 2013
Dear sunflowertraveler_10,

Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay with us. I am pleased to note your positive feedback on our staff at the restaurant, bar and coffee shop. We work diligently to ensure our facilities and services are superior and we try our hardest to provide not just good value, but comfortable, clean and friendly accommodations. However, it seem that we were not able to execute an exemplary hotel stay experience with regard to the level of cleanliness in our room and amenities. Let me take this opportunity to apologize for the noise and the poor customer service you received at the front desk. Rest assured that this isn't reflective of the high standards we usually pride ourselves. We want our guest to have a pleasant and professional experience when interacting with our staff.

We regret your dissatisfaction for this stay and I hope you would give us another chance to rectify this unsatisfactory experience. We are highly motivated by your words and ensure you that we shall continue to strive for excellence. Your patronage and support to the hotel is very important to us. We value you as our guest and hope you will continue to choose IHG for your future travel needs.

Sincerely,

Lera P
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2013

We are currently staying here and so far I've heard one employee complaining ungodly, the pool had a film on top and Ashley's food is terrible and expensive. For 170.00 a night I would find a better place

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PennFF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Virginia Beach - Norfolk, responded to this review, 23 July 2013
Dear PennFF,

Thank you for taking the time to convey your comments regarding your recent experience with us. Your satisfaction is important to us and we try hard to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding experience at our hotel. Please accept our apologies for the disappointment you had with the service you received. Rest assured that we take all comments and suggestions to heart so that we can improve and provide the exceptional service that our guests expect and deserve.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
2.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Virginia Beach -Town Center
Crowne Plaza Hotel Virginia Beac...
#50 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
2.9 mi away
Candlewood Suites Virginia Beach / Norfolk
Candlewood Suites Virginia Beach...
#35 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Norfolk/Virginia Beach
Hampton Inn Norfolk/Virginia Bea...
#19 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Virginia Beach/Norfolk Airport
Homewood Suites by Hilton Virgin...
#15 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
11.3 mi away
The Oceanfront Inn
The Oceanfront Inn
#17 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Founders Inn and Spa
The Founders Inn and Spa
#10 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,053 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Virginia Beach - Norfolk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Virginia Beach - Norfolk

Property: Holiday Inn Virginia Beach - Norfolk
Address: 5655 Greenwich Rd, Virginia Beach, VA 23462
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Virginia Beach - Norfolk 3.5*
Number of rooms: 307
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated within minutes of Norfolk International Airport, the beautiful beaches of Virginia Beach, the restaurants & shops of Virginia Beach Town Center, and the Virginia Beach Convention Center the Holiday Inn Executive Center in Norfolk/Virginia Beach is a perfect destination whether you are traveling for business, to a local sporting event, or for a family getaway. The Holiday Inn Virginia Beach/Norfolk is centrally located between Virginia Beach, downtown Norfolk, Chesapeake & Williamsburg providing convenient access to Government Bases such as Norfolk Naval Station, Little Creek Naval Amphibious Base, Fort Story, Oceana Naval Air Station, & Norfolk Naval Shipyard & local businesses such as Verizon, Sentara Leigh, Riverside Corporate Center & Amerigroup. Traveling for sports events? The hotel is located near the Princess Anne Athletic Complex, Hampton Roads Soccer Complex & the USA Field Hockey National Training Center. Looking for fun things to do? The friendly staff of the Holiday Inn Virginia Beach/Norfolk will provide you information and directions to close by attractions such as the Virginia Aquarium & Marine Science Center, Cape Henry Old Lighthouse, Norfolk Botanical Gardens, and the Chrysler Museum of Art. We feature 20,000 sq. Feet of flexible ballroom space perfect for your company meeting, family reunion, wedding or social event from 5 to 500 people. From our entire staff we look forward to your visit! **Hot Tub and indoor pool are currently Closed For Renovation updates to follow** ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), IHG and Expedia so you can book your Holiday Inn Virginia Beach - Norfolk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Virginia Beach - Norfolk Hotel Virginia Beach
Virginia Beach Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing