We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A mixed bag...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Virginia Beach - Norfolk
Ranked #28 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We recently spent some time at the Holiday Inn VA Beach - Norfolk, and the customer service for the most part was great! The staff catered to our family's every need and appeared to be happy to do so. Kudos to Nikietha, Cin, and the front desk gang. The food was pretty good, overall. I enjoyed the Blu Bar burgers and fries, as well as Ashley's breakfast buffet. The room was nicely furnished; however, I would have to take away points for the stained grout on the bathroom tile - nothing a little attention can't fix. But overall, I would recommend the hotel; so, it's a mixed bag review, but the positive definitely outweighs the negative.

Room Tip: We were on the 4th floor and were not disturbed -- it was quite peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank medmunds70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (457)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

294 - 300 of 457 reviews

Reviewed 4 September 2013

Well it’s been 72 hours since talking to the Customer Care representative on Saturday night and was asked to give the local management team 48 hours to respond to questions about our reservation being canceled on a busy Labor Day weekend and family members running in the Rock ‘n’ Roll marathon the next morning. Only information the Customer Care rep was able to pass on was that even after receiving two confirmation emails, the Holiday Inn at Greenwich Rd, Va Beach did not use the current card information used when booking the room in early July, but instead used an expired former company card linked to a Rewards Club account (account has never been used or information entered until working with the Customer Care rep on Saturday night). Not only did they not use the current card, but ran the transaction at 2 am in the morning with no notification that the former company card was expired/denied (haven’t worked there for 6+ years, no surprise there). Repeat – no notification now 96 hours after they just canceled the reservation. Front desk was no help other than to say it was run at 2 am and denied and didn’t seem to care that it wasn’t even a card number that belonged to me. Traveled quite a bit in the past and most hotels give you an option at check-in to use the current card used to book or different card for actual charges. Front desk no help in checking for a room at other possible hotels in the area. Had to prompt for each possible step for assistance, no effort to step up to the plate and try to make a bad situation better. But what would you expect from the staff if the management team can’t respond to a simple inquiry. Never had this type of problem before when traveling for business or staying in Charlottesville at the Holiday Inn. The lack of communication in this situation is very disappointing and makes you wonder what else the management and staff of this hotel are overlooking in the rooms and training based on other comments posted. Feel a little like they were overbooked and dropped the one night stay for a two night stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank weprice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Virginia Beach - Norfolk, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2013

Dear weprice,

I would like to thank you for your review and apologize that your experience with our hotel did not meet your expectations. I would greatly appreciate further information regarding your stay in order that I can investigate further.

I have sent you a private message to obtain additional details about your experience.

Regards,

Brenda J.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We were in the area visiting our daughter stationed at the naval base. Stay was ok. Upon arrival, the attendant had a hard time finding our reservation even though I showed a copy of the confirmation. Our room was ok, we noticed a few stains on the mattress. Our bathroom needed a little more ventilation as we saw a few mold spots in the tub. Overall good stay with the family. The hotel tends to be full to capacity on the weekend as there is a conference center attached to the hotel. We had to park on the opposite side of our room for 3 nights.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scriss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Virginia Beach - Norfolk, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2013

Dear scriss,

Thank you for your feedback and for choosing our hotel. I am sorry to hear about the issues you have encountered at check in. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

A homey experience at this pleasant, quiet located hotel.
Inviting, and comfortable bed. Pampering amenities in the room.
I enjoyed it very much the hotel's complimentary airport and local shuttle, that made my travels easy. Free Wi-Fi access, a complimentary high-tech Business Center, and tasty meals at the Ashleys Bistro completed the courteous service.
Highly commendable is the extraordinary, personalized attention of the staff. I must confess, that I seldom met so gentle, and hospitable people, as in the State of Virginia.
I won't hesitate to be back there.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HospitalityConsult
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Rooms have been updated, very nice. Large flat screen TV, no noise at all, not even doors closing or people in the hallway. Typically booked hotels, you will hear doors slamming etc... Nice large showers and modern sink, lots of counter space for all your toiletries, the only downfall was the granite type tile floor in bathroom- it gets slick when wet.
Beds were comfortable, sheets felt nice & clean and mini fridge & microwave was great for me on a business trip.
I did not utilize the pool so I cannot comment on this but all the staff was very helpful & accommodating.

I did order room service one time, breakfast...it was delivered promptly and very good and was even worth the $2.50 charge plus 18% gratuity added on.
Its about a 15 minute drive to the oceanfront but you have a clean safe room at 1/3 the price of some of those dives at the beach.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NorthCarolinaKaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

LOVED THIS HOTEL. It isn't far from the beach, but not walking distance. The staff was very nice and honored our wishes to have the rooms side by side. I went with 7 of my family members who also loved this hotel. It was very up to date and clean! The pools were awesome and even though they said it closed at 11pm, they let us stay in it til we were ready to get out. It was also very quiet and peaceful and felt like home. I even had a hard time leaving! :( I would DEFINITELY recommend staying here and I would also stay again!

The only downfall is searching for a parking spot. The lot is huge but I think there are more guests than parking spots.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Idefinenichelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013 via mobile

This hotel is fantastic! Very up to date and modern look to it. The front desk staff Jesita and Missy were great!! Room was very clean! Loved the pool and Blu Bar the bartender was so helpful! We didnt want to leave after a 3 day stay! We will definitely be back in the future.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 133Riley133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Norfolk/Virginia Beach
Hampton Inn Norfolk/Virginia Bea...
#16 of 109 in Virginia Beach
528 reviews
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Virginia Beach Norfolk
Courtyard Virginia Beach Norfolk
#53 of 109 in Virginia Beach
163 reviews
2.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Virginia Beach -Town Center
Crowne Plaza Hotel Virginia Beac...
#60 of 109 in Virginia Beach
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Virginia Beach
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Virgi...
#12 of 109 in Virginia Beach
1,397 reviews
2.7 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Virginia Beach / Norfolk Airport
Wingate by Wyndham Virginia Beac...
#52 of 109 in Virginia Beach
419 reviews
11.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Va Beach-Oceanside (21st St)
Holiday Inn Va Beach-Oceanside (...
#27 of 109 in Virginia Beach
640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Virginia Beach - Norfolk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Virginia Beach - Norfolk

Address: 5655 Greenwich Rd, Virginia Beach, VA 23462
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range: £69 - £153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Virginia Beach - Norfolk 3.5*
Number of rooms: 307
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated within minutes of Norfolk International Airport, the beautiful beaches of Virginia Beach, the restaurants & shops of Virginia Beach Town Center, and the Virginia Beach Convention Center the Holiday Inn Executive Center in Norfolk/Virginia Beach is a perfect destination whether you are traveling for business, to a local sporting event, or for a family getaway. The Holiday Inn Virginia Beach/Norfolk is centrally located between Virginia Beach, downtown Norfolk, Chesapeake & Williamsburg providing convenient access to Government Bases such as Norfolk Naval Station, Little Creek Naval Amphibious Base, Fort Story, Oceana Naval Air Station, & Norfolk Naval Shipyard & local businesses such as Verizon, Sentara Leigh, Riverside Corporate Center & Amerigroup. Traveling for sports events? The hotel is located near the Princess Anne Athletic Complex, Hampton Roads Soccer Complex & the USA Field Hockey National Training Center. Looking for fun things to do? The friendly staff of the Holiday Inn Virginia Beach/Norfolk will provide you information and directions to close by attractions such as the Virginia Aquarium & Marine Science Center, Cape Henry Old Lighthouse, Norfolk Botanical Gardens, and the Chrysler Museum of Art. We feature 20,000 sq. Feet of flexible ballroom space perfect for your company meeting, family reunion, wedding or social event from 5 to 500 people. From our entire staff we look forward to your visit! **Hot Tub and indoor pool are currently Closed For Renovation updates to follow** ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Virginia Beach - Norfolk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Virginia Beach - Norfolk Hotel Virginia Beach
Virginia Beach Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing