We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is our third trip to this hotel we love it!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holiday Inn & Suites North Beach
Ranked #14 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
GreenLeadersSilver level
Richmond
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“This is our third trip to this hotel we love it!”
Reviewed 14 June 2012

Traveling with a five year old and a special needs two year old. The pools are a blast for the kids and they get to eat free in the hotel restaurants. Check in and out were a breeze really nice folks, they got us in our room early and let us stay a bit past check out time. The pool and ground staff were outstanding and everyone would stop and ask if you needed anything, bring you pool toys and towels. The weight staff in the restaurant were right there with drinks or to clear the plates as soon as you need it done. A few words to the wise ... if you need a crib bring your own or plan to use the hotels pack and play. We have a sleep number bed at home so the hotel beds seemed pretty hard to us ... not the hotels fault just letting you know it can be rough to get up in the morning.

Room Tip: Almost all the rooms have a good view of the beach or pool so dont worry about not getting a room wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WBTRO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,122 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    581
    338
    120
    54
    29
See reviews for
703
157
14
74
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (369)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2012

My group used this hotel to host a conference during the end of May through June 8, 2012. The hotel staff is very friendly and they saw to all of our needs. My stay there was very enjoyable. We are planning to return to this hotel in the future for another conference. Do consider staying here. There is a lot to like.

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side are quieter. There are military jets that fly over the skies of Virginia Bea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MarcusE9012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 6 Contributor
78 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2012

I arrived at the hotel on quite a windy day. Was given my room and went up to it and found that the wind was blowing into the room through a large gap in the balcony door. It was properly closed. Did not even put anything down and requested a change of room.

Success, new room and much better.

Hotel turned out to be pretty good and was better than my first impressions. Most of the staff are friendly.

Great points - Pool not too busy as next to the beach

Not so good - lobby beside elavator not very clean. Elevator door close way too quick. Watch you for your kids.

I would certainly return to this hotel.

Room Tip: I would suggest the South Tower away from the indoor pool and cinema.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Amanda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2012

We recently stayed at this hotel for several days, and loved our oceanfront room on the 5th floor, decorated in bright tropical colors. The staff was exceptionaly friendly, and greeted us the second we walked in the front door. This hotel is located at the extreme north end of the boardwalk, in a quieter section of the beach. The Belvedere coffeeshop is a short walk down the beach, and a great place to eat when not eating at the hotel. There is a nice movie theater for the kids, and several pools. Parking is in a two level parking garage directly across the street. I did a lot of research before choosing to stay here, and believe this to be one of the best places to stay in Virginia Beach.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MTNMAN56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grand rapids mi
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2012

Stayed at this location because of the reviews on tripadvisor and what a great choice it was!. John & Butch at the front desk were great upon check-in. Check-in technically is not until 4:00 and we arrived in town a lot earlier than we expected, approx. noon. We stopped to the hotel, not expecting to get a room, but to see if we could park there until a room was available. To our surprise a room was available! We reserved an ocean front room and what a view it was!! The pictures on the website are true to the hotel! Great room, overall extremely clean (some ink marks on the white comforter and a small stain in the middle of the carpet but that did not bother us), very spacious bathroom. Decor was very colorful but not overbearing. Staff was very friendly upon each encounter.
Location was great! It was at the beginning of the north end of the boardwalk, and though we were there towards the middle of the week, and a little early in the season, it seemed very quiet. Pools were beautiful and took advantage of 2 out of 3 of them but enjoyed the few steps it took to be on the beach itself. Plenty of shopping and dining locations within walking and driving distance.
We have never been to Virginia Beach before and can't wait to go back. A 2 night stay was definitely not long enough. We will also return to this location, it was wonderful!!

Room Tip: Spend the extra $$ and get an ocean front room, well worth it!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank familyof4fromGR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrie
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2012

We decided to go to Virginia beach for a couple of days and stayed at the newly refurbished Holiday inn north beach. We were able to check in early and the hotel and rooms were all very modern and clean. We had a 2 room family suite overlooking the ocean with 2 private balconies. The service was very friendly and the grounds were well manicured. My only complaint was the pools were all very cold - they are not heated I was told and although the indoor pools were OK, the outside ones were impossible to swim in. I saw no one in the pools at all. The hotel should heat the pools at all costs. Although it really did not bother us the airport base is close by and jet fighters were constantly flying over us with thunder booming noise all through the day. Beware of this if loud noises bother you. The hotel is right on the north part of the beach and boardwalk with plenty of shops and restaurants to keep you busy. Bike rentals, boat cruises, water sports are all in the vicinity. All and all a very nice visit with a few minor problems. Would definitely come back here again if we ever re-visit Virginia beach

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChefFatCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, VA
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2012

Really liked the hotel before even though I thought the rooms were a little worn. NOW... after the renovation, the rooms are SO clean. The suite was great. My husband hung out in the front room and watched news while my daughter and I sat on the bed and watched our own thing. LOTS of room, refrigerator, corkscrew, bottle opener, closet, 2 TVs, tons of towels, pillows were labeled firm and soft. Check in was easy and friendly.
Indoor lazy river pool is great. The outdoor lazy river/slides were great but cold. The 6th floor Isle of Capri Restaurant is superb. The BEST caesar salad ever. Good wine list. The veal Fiorentino was fabulous. Great ocean view.
The cons: Wish people didn't save chairs with towels and then never sit in them. Not really a problem with the hotel, though. The hot tub had dirty foam floating on top. They are not really clear with the "Kids Eat Free" policy. Kids do NOT eat free from the entire kids menu in the Square Whale restaurant. We weren't told this when we ordered and were surprised when we got the bill.
Overall, a GREAT family vacation. Thanks!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank klever7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront
1.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
#2 of 109 in Virginia Beach
596 reviews
1.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
#11 of 109 in Virginia Beach
1,918 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North
0.9 mi away
Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfront/South
Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfr...
#10 of 109 in Virginia Beach
840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn & Suites North Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn & Suites North Beach

Property: Holiday Inn & Suites North Beach
Address: 3900 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-2604
Region: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Virginia Beach
#3 Green Hotel in Virginia Beach
#10 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
#10 Business Hotel in Virginia Beach
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
#25 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn & Suites North Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 253
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Splash into 250,000 gallons of fun, enjoy a movie in our movie theater and relax on your private balcony. Holiday Inn & Suites North Beach guestrooms feature mini-refrigerator and microwave, flatscreen TV, iPod stations and free Internet. Splish Splash Lagoon features an outdoor lazy river & two 12-foot waterslides. Float down indoor Lay-Z-Rivah or lounge in the sun by the outdoor pool. For entertainment, enjoy activities for toddlers to tweens in seasonal kids Splash Kamp. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn & Suites North Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn And Suites North Beach
Holiday Inn & Suites North Beach Hotel Virginia Beach
Holiday Inn Virginia Beach
Virginia Beach Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing