We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Served it's purpose and VERY FRIENDLY STAFF”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn & Suites North Beach
Ranked #10 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
GreenLeadersSilver level
Scottsdale, Arizona, USA
Level Contributor
189 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Served it's purpose and VERY FRIENDLY STAFF”
Reviewed 1 July 2013

Well, this was the weekend for my brother and new sister-in-law's wedding. We understand that when you request early check in at 2 you might not get it, but when check out is at 11 and you arrive at 10 letting the staff know you are there, perhaps they could clean your room in the first bunch of rooms, we didn't get into our room until 3:45. Again, I understand check in is 4pm, but it would have been more helpful to arrange the rooms of new check in's prior to cleaning existing reservation rooms. Rooms are very expensive as well, but most likely comparable to others along the boardwalk.

Overall, this was a great experience for my family and the wedding group. The elevators leave much to be desired, there are very few of them, they are small and slow. When you have families that are using the carts for luggage and can only get one in the elevator, it is not helpful during check in or check out. Also, another family member is confined to a wheel chair, it barely fit in the elevators near the reception room.

The amenities for children are wonderful, a play room and movie theater inside, three pools, and the ocean. Again, staff was very friendly and helpful when needed.

Our room, 304 was clean, no bathtub, but shower was good, water was sometimes luke warm rather than hot, but that was ok, it was very hot that weekend.

The restaurants were adequate, but a bit overpriced for lunch, but I would imagine all places along the water are. The staff there was also very friendly and helpful.

I would definitely recommend the hotel to families.

Room Tip: If you want quick access to the beach and not have to use the slow elevators, try to get a first flo...
See more room tips
Green Features: My family and I try to avoid room service for various reasons if we are only in a hotel 2-3 nights, our towels dried just fine and we didn't need clean sheets every night, but there were posted signs for not having your towels changed or linens changed.
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roberto H, Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites North Beach, responded to this review, 4 July 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel which we can use to better our staff in the future.
I do apogize for not having your room before our 4pm check in time. We do understand that guests like to check in early at the hotel but with the hotel being sold out this can be a challenge. It appears that your stay was great so a 3 star is very surprising just because you did not get a early check in.

Again we always try to help the guest and check them in early if possible but when we cannot I hope the guest would understand and you did not. Sorry about that and hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,105 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    575
    335
    117
    51
    27
See reviews for
690
154
14
74
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (363)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Illinois City, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013

We booked a Oceanfront deluxe sweet(2 balconies. dining table, wet bar) we arrived about 3:20PM on 6/23 check in time is 4:00PM we had driven 17 hours straight...at 4:30 we inquired when our room would be ready(and there were many families that day waiting and complaining)...we were told they had a room we could have now but was smaller and when asked when the room we booked would be ready Roberto the manager just gave a shrug of the shoulders and a dunno answer. We took the smaller room as we were exhausted. The room was on the 1st floor and it was nearly impossible to get the luggage cart in as there were many stacks of chairs and a miniature bar in the hallway across from our door that belonged in the banquet room...but we were still trying to make the best.
Our outside "space" in the room was two chairs on a small slab of concrete surrounded by bushes and two lounge chairs in the common area yard. After sitting in our area and being hit by balls kids were throwing around and birds swooping in to grab food the neighbors left on the ground and random people sitting in our lounge chairs(which there were not enough chairs for the 5 of us as it was) I had enough...I went to the front desk and COMPLAINED...I was told the room type I had booked was not available for us to move to so I questioned the fact that my room was not ready 3 hours prior but was now all booked. I had been in e-mail contact with Diana Merrill before our arrival making our plans...I fired off an e-mail that night to her. She responded by 8AM the next morning that we could move to a room type we booked. What a HUGE difference...we moved we loved our room and the rest of our stay. Front desk folks made a couple of very good restaurant recommendations. Had it not been for our first day I would rate higher but it left a bad first impression. There was zero customer service that first day but thanks to Diana for saving our vacation because we were preparing to move to another hotel before she saved the day

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roberto H, Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites North Beach, responded to this review, 4 July 2013
Thank you for writing a review that we can use to better train our staff. I am sorry that you had such a bad experience the first night but grateful that Diane was able to fix the situation. It seems after the slight confusion that everything was great and we look forward to seeing you come back here soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poconos
Level Contributor
57 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013 via mobile

Came here with a large group of families and their high school wrestlers. The facilities were excellent for this type of crowd. Our room was spacious and clean. We had rooms over looking the beach with little balconies. There were inside and outside pools. Both pools were clean, well staffed, plenty of towels, etc. The proximity to the beach was perfect. Couldn't get any closer! Parking could get sketchy with one small garage, but price to pay to be so close to beach. Very good breakfast buffet at the hotel. Not huge selection, but enough to satisfy a range of tastes. Excellent hotel at top of hotel, but not for noisy, unruly kids. There is plenty within striking distance of this hotel, but it is removed enough from the more seedy side of Virginia Beach. Already booked again for next year!

Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank jaxma98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roberto H, Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites North Beach, responded to this review, 4 July 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am glad to see that we met and exceeded your stay while you were here. Our hotel is set up perfect for groups visiting Virginia Beach and look forward to seein you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
State College, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2013

My family just returned from staying 6/22 - 6/26 and we loved this hotel. We arrived about an hour and a half before the 4:00 check-in and our room was ready. Our 5th floor oceanfront room was clean and has a perfect view of the ocean. You get a small refrigerator and microwave which was great for when we brought back leftovers to snack on later. Just about every staff member was incredibly friendly, going out of their way to help you and always asking how your stay was going. The front desk staff was very helpful at pointing out great places to eat and how to get to them. As far as amenities - my son was thrilled with the pools - the outdoor pool with the waterfalls and small waterslides was our favorite (3 - 4 ft deep). There is also another large outdoor pool next to a patio bar (this pool is deeper), and an indoor lazy river with waterfalls (3 ft), where I could sit in the hot tub and keep an eye on him. We didn't watch the movies at the movie theater, but it looked nice and there were kid movies scheduled throughout each day. We did stop in the Splash Kamp room when we saw the turtles were out one morning. We got to see Tonka and Tink up close and watch them eat. The individual running the camp that morning was very knowledgeable about the turtles, and again more than willing to talk with us and let us look around. We did not leave our son there, but I saw many children there throughout our stay. Other things to know - I do agree with others that the elevators can be very slow. The one by the lobby, rather than further back the hall, seems to be a bit better. And of course, you will hear jet noise, but this never kept us up or woke us up. With the AC running with the fan always on, it was not that loud. This is an excellent hotel with an excellent location at the northern end of the boardwalk and we would definitely stay again!!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Renee A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roberto H, Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites North Beach, responded to this review, 30 June 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel. I am glad to see your stay was enjoyable and hope you continue to stay with us when you visit Virginina Beach. Your comments will be read during our next employee luncheon so the entire team can enjoy the fact that your stay was great.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lebanon, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2013

I have been staying at the Holiday Inn and Suites for years and I want to personally thank Roberto, the Front Desk Manager for everything that he and his staff do to make sure everyone has a awesome experience while on vacation at this hotel. Everyone is always so nice and friendly. You can certainly tell a 5 star hotel when you walk in. The place is always so clean and the rooms are large and spacious. The King Suite is by far the best room of the hotel. Its very large and has two separate rooms, one with the king bed and bathroom and the other room is the living room and kitchen that is stocked with everything you need. The room has two separate balconies that look out over the pool and beach! The breakfast the hotel serves every morning is top notch and you can have your eggs to order. It's a little pricey, but if your a priority club member its free! The breakfast area gets packed, but the employees in there make sure you are not waiting long and take care of you the entire time your eating breakfast. The waitress we had even remembered what we had to drink every morning and had it placed on our table as we were sitting down. The two outdoor pools are always clean and the best part is you can swim till 11:00pm in the summer months. The pool bar is open till midnight and the bartenders are great! Its a fantastic summer vacation for us do every year and Roberto makes sure its perfect for us! Thank you Roberto!! We hope to see you next year!! Amy and Jessica.

Room Tip: Ask Roberto to help you with your room selection. He will make sure you and your family have the bes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jessica143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roberto H, Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites North Beach, responded to this review, 30 June 2013
That is a great compliment to say we are the best hotel on the beach. That is how each and every one of our employees feel about our hotel and it is nice to see that you felt the same way. I know it takes time to write a review and sign up but I want to thank you as it is our goal to be #1 on Trip Advisor.

We look forward to your next trip to Virginia Beach and hope you will stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2013

This hotel was great for our vacation!
Pros: the room was very spacious, plenty of room for my family of 5. The staff was friendly and always had great suggestion of places to eat, things to do. Great location! Lots of pools, movie theater.
Cons: elevators were extremely slow, had to wait for 10 min on several occasions. Indoor pool had too strong chemical smell. We had to leave after 15 min bc my daughters eyes started stinging and watering. Housekeeping didn't come to our room one day and the next not till 6. If they aren't going to do housekeeping they should offer an incentive to opt out for that day.
Overall, this was a great place on the beach and we would Definately come back if we are at Virginia Beach.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank S29b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roberto H, Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites North Beach, responded to this review, 24 June 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a pleasent and kind review about our hotel. Our goal is to satisfy every guest that stays with us and provide a home away from home feeling. It appears we did so with you and hope you will come back and see us in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mechanicsville, Virginia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2013

All of the staff took care of us and even had a wheelchair ready for my Mom if she needed one. The breakfast at the Greenery was delish as well as lunch on the outdoor patio overlooking the pool, boardwalk and the ocean. Dinner at Isle of Capri was wonderful and especially the rack of lamb. The children had fun at in the indoor lazy river and even took in a movie. Thanks to all!!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank uvalaura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roberto H, Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites North Beach, responded to this review, 24 June 2013
Thank you for staying with us again and writing such a great review. We want every guest to go home feeling they got their moneys worth. When it comes from a repeat guest, that is even more special to us and makes all of us feel great.

I look forward to seeing you again during your next trip to Virginia Beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront
1.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel
1.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
#2 of 109 in Virginia Beach
590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
#13 of 109 in Virginia Beach
1,866 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North
0.9 mi away
Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfront/South
Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfr...
#12 of 109 in Virginia Beach
835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn & Suites North Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn & Suites North Beach

Property: Holiday Inn & Suites North Beach
Address: 3900 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-2604
Region: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Virginia Beach
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Virginia Beach
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
#10 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
#10 Business Hotel in Virginia Beach
#25 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn & Suites North Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 253
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Splash into 250,000 gallons of fun, enjoy a movie in our movie theater and relax on your private balcony. Holiday Inn & Suites North Beach guestrooms feature mini-refrigerator and microwave, flatscreen TV, iPod stations and free Internet. Splish Splash Lagoon features an outdoor lazy river & two 12-foot waterslides. Float down indoor Lay-Z-Rivah or lounge in the sun by the outdoor pool. For entertainment, enjoy activities for toddlers to tweens in seasonal kids Splash Kamp. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn & Suites North Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn And Suites North Beach
Holiday Inn & Suites North Beach Hotel Virginia Beach
Holiday Inn Virginia Beach
Virginia Beach Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing