We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn & Suites North Beach
Ranked #13 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
GreenLeadersSilver level
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
251 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel”
Reviewed 5 October 2013

This was a wonderful hotel right on the beach. We stayed here the first week of September while my husband was doing a course and very much enjoyed it. There was a great selection of pools - and though they were cold, they were enjoyable. The larger pool was by far the best, the smaller outdoor ones were a little dirty, but it's too be expected in an outdoor pool! Great beach access and a fun little cafe/bar poolside. The elevators needs improvement - there are only two in the building we were in and with the Shriners in town it made for long waits. Plus the one by the pool had this soft middle area which was a bit scary, along with a jolting motion in between the 1st and 2nd floor. The room was amazing! Beautiful balcony and view, comfy beds and a fridge and micro which was helpful.

The staff were great. Very friendly and helpful with any questions or concerns. While we didn't have kids with us, there was a ton if kid activities and movies playing in the theatre. Breakfast was enjoyable and the breakfast staff were beyond amazing. The location is higher then most of the places on the strip but there is trolley/shuttle stop right across the street. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chantal S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roberto H, Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites North Beach, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel. I hope your stay was enjoyable enough that you will come and visit us again in the future and hopefully we can rate a 5 with you next time. Thank you again and see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,123 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    581
    339
    120
    54
    29
See reviews for
704
157
14
74
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (369)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Farmville, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

This was a very nice hotel with a nice view of the ocean. I was there for a business conference. Staff was available when I had any questions and parking was across the street. Hotel would be a great choice for families! I would definitely look into making a reservation here for a family weekend trip. I enjoyed the indoor swimming pool(lazy river) and the whirlpool since it was cool outside. The only issues that I had were: small elevator and the shower bar/door. The shower bar was loose and I had to fix that before opening and closing the door. After my shower, the door kept getting stuck that it fell off the track and I fixed that, too. Otherwise, my stay was great!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pencefj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roberto H, Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites North Beach, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
Thank you for writing a reviw about your stay with us. Please come back and see us again, next time you are in town for Virginia Beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013 via mobile

Perfect location on the strip in the middle of everything. All rooms are ocean front balconies on one side and all glass looking over the strip on the other. Everyone was friendly and the rooms were kept clean . Didn't eat there as there are to many choices elsewhere and they were a bit pricey. Parking kinda sucks but there is not much they can do about that they have a extra lot available a 1/2 a block away. Looking At the other hotels while we were there and I would stay here again.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Travler455
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roberto H, Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites North Beach, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review about our hotel. I truly am happy that your stay with us was enjoyable. Hopefully we will see you again, next time you are in Virginia Beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poplar Grove, IL
Level 6 Contributor
232 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013 via mobile

This hotel has a great new building and location. The movie theater is a really nice amenity, especially on rainy days. The little water park is just enough to entertain little children for a couple hours, nobody else. The drawbacks of this resort hotel are lack of elevators and lack of personnel at the check in counter. This results in long waits at both locations. And the personnel on duty are so overworked that they aren't really interested in helping the visitors.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roberto H, Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites North Beach, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
Thank you for the review and allowing us to look at the positives and the negatives you experienced so we can correct them. I hope we see you back again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
richmond
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

We arrived Friday 9/20. We'd chosen that weekend specifically because there were no festivals at Va Beach that weekend and wanted a fun, peaceful getaway. When we arrived, I noticed there were 3 weddings, and 2 Navy reunions scheduled. Our younger daughter has difficulty with crowds and noise. I crossed my fingers, and asked for a room as far away from noise and activity as possible. The lady working the front desk was named Robbi, was very helpful. She was able to find a quiet corner room. She was also very helpful in recommending a good place for takeout pizza (we often avoid restaurants for the same reasons). So first off, thanks to Robbi!!

We stayed 2 nights, and honestly you would have never known the hotel was full due to the weddings and reunions. We saw lots of other families with young kids enjoying the kids' camp and all the pools. Our room was very comfortable and spacious. With 4 of us, it was nice to have things like padded benches at the foot of each bed, so we had extra space for our bags. Also, there were things like paper plates, bowls, and a can opener. The bathroom was also very spacious--lots of towels, and a nice touch: Bath and Body Works products. Our balcony had plenty of room for us--we'd brought beach chairs, so just added them to the ones provided on the balcony, and we had seating for all of us.

The kids loved the pools and indoor lazy river, and meeting the African tortoises. We were within walking distance of several restaurants and shops. There was free parking right across the street. All the employees we encountered were cheerful and courteous.

A little off topic, but if anyone else is a walker/jogger, if you go north, instead of the Boardwalk, there are several charming neighborhoods. Also a little easier on the joints, than the concrete Boardwalk.

The only thing I would change is: previous reviewers are right---the outdoor pools could use a little heating!! It's chilly out there, and someone has to catch younger kids as they come out of the slides!! Fortunately this time it was my husband, not me!!

Room Tip: We booked an oceanfront room. I think it was a $10-$15 a night difference over the basic room. Def...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank swimteammomRichmond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roberto H, Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites North Beach, responded to this review, 26 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a pleasent review. Our goal is to continue to satisfy our guests and I look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munhall, Pennsylvania, USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013

I've already written a review that went directly to Holiday Inn but it doesn't seem to be on any website.

We were really disappointed with our 2013 trip. We arrived on September 4 and departed on September 13. Last year's visit was excellent so we decided to return this year. This year, our room was on the second floor (I'll never accept a room on a floor that low again) in the south tower. I asked for a room on a higher floor but the facility was booked so there was nothing available. I honestly don't know if the mattresses were queen or not, as I had requested.

The differences between the south tower and north tower were like night and day. The hallways were at least 20 degrees warmer. The hallways near the elevator were generally dirty and crowded as it seems to be near an entrance to one of the banquet rooms. The elevators were old and creaky. Our room was next to the housekeeping supply room and there was a constant gathering of chattering housekeeping staff. The hallway near the soda and ice machine had a perpetual smell of electrical burning.

Our view from the second floor balcony was of palm trees. And more palm trees - thus the vow to never stay so close to the first floor. The room's air conditioner was behind some sort of partition, but that didn't make it any quieter. The mattresses were rocks -- I may as well have slept on the floor. The walls near the bottom of the shower stall had mold / mildew. The bathroom set-up was ridiculous. You had to shut the door to your left, and reach behind you for toilet tissue. Not much water pressure in the shower, either. If the pressure was decent, the water was scalding.

The rest of the facility is very nice. The three pools are wonderful. The restaurants on-site are convenient, if a little expensive. It just seems that the south tower seems to be the forgotton stepsister.

Although this isn't the most expensive facility at Virginia Beach, we paid enough that it should have been a better experience.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NancyP64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roberto H, Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites North Beach, responded to this review, 26 September 2013
I am sorry you stay was not as good as the previous year. We will make sure as a hotel that we work to correct all concerns that you address.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 September 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights. They have a lot of great stuff for kids. My daughter loved the pools and lazy rivers. The hot tub was also nice for the adults. All the staff were wonderful and very friendly. The only downfall is our room didn't have a tub, only a shower. My children also enjoyed the kids kamp and seeing the 2 turtles. We ate breakfast at the buffet one morning and that was also very good and kids were free.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roberto H, Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites North Beach, responded to this review, 26 September 2013
Thank you for writing such a nice review about the hotel. I look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront
1.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
#2 of 109 in Virginia Beach
597 reviews
1.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
#11 of 109 in Virginia Beach
1,918 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North
0.9 mi away
Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfront/South
Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfr...
#10 of 109 in Virginia Beach
840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn & Suites North Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn & Suites North Beach

Property: Holiday Inn & Suites North Beach
Address: 3900 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-2604
Region: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Virginia Beach
#3 Green Hotel in Virginia Beach
#10 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
#10 Business Hotel in Virginia Beach
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
#25 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn & Suites North Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 253
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Splash into 250,000 gallons of fun, enjoy a movie in our movie theater and relax on your private balcony. Holiday Inn & Suites North Beach guestrooms feature mini-refrigerator and microwave, flatscreen TV, iPod stations and free Internet. Splish Splash Lagoon features an outdoor lazy river & two 12-foot waterslides. Float down indoor Lay-Z-Rivah or lounge in the sun by the outdoor pool. For entertainment, enjoy activities for toddlers to tweens in seasonal kids Splash Kamp. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn & Suites North Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn And Suites North Beach
Holiday Inn & Suites North Beach Hotel Virginia Beach
Holiday Inn Virginia Beach
Virginia Beach Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing