We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“2 night getaway” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn & Suites North Beach

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Holiday Inn & Suites North Beach
Ranked #13 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Stuarts Draft VA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“2 night getaway”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

The hotel is at the end of the boardwalk. Pools are nice. Beach was kept clean. Room and all of the staff were very friendly. I do think $14.95 for a breakfast buffet is too high, if you are staying at the hotel. We got the bus pass ($1.00 per day for seniors) and never drove when we were there. The bus stop is accross the street from hotel. You can get on and off as many times as you want. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bakerylover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael G, Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites North Beach, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, it was a pleasure having you stay with us and hope you will visit again soon. I understand the price of the buffet seems high but we do price it with the market. We also have more items along with fresh waffles and omelets which keep the price going.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,081 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    562
    328
    113
    51
    27
See reviews for
679
148
13
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (355)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

We went to Va Beach for a last minute vacation, and found the Holiday Inn & suites. The hotel was clean and the staff was friendly & courteous. The amenities were above average and the kids had a great time at the indoor and outdoor pools. The location was great. It was away from all the crowds, but a short drive to get into all the action if you want.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Scales1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael G, Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites North Beach, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to fill our a review of our hotel. It appears that everything was great but we failed to reach a 5 rating on here. Please let me know what we could of done better to ear that extra rating so we can fix in the future. Thank you and look forward to seeing you next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

Family with 3 kids (age 6,10,13) stayed in Oceanfront suite room in July for 5 nights. Very friendly staff at this hotel, they were very helpful suggesting activities in area and local restaurants. Location ideal for family since was out of the busy main strip area but close enough to walk (15-20min stroll with 3 kids) or drive (5min drive) to the main strip area. Went to main area every evening for street entertainment, ice cream. The views from balcony were amazing, saw dolphins jumping in early am (bring binoculars). Rooms were nice, modern and spacious and relatively clean. The desk chair in our room looked kind of shabby with tips in fabric but rest of room was great. Best part of vacation was hotel amenities, worth the extra cost of this hotel. The hotel Restaurant Square Whale is great, you can eat poolside or tables overlooking ocean, food was actually good! We ate there several times. Amenities at hotel were amazing, we switched from ocean to pool to pool (they have 3 pools) to keep kids entertained. Great kids club too, really nice staff, good activities and free too!! You can drop off kids (4+) or stay with them, always good activities planned. You can also borrow/sign out pool noodles and floaties from kids club room. Was also a movie theatre that showed variety movies daily but we did not use, good if it rains maybe. Only few slightly negative parts 1) balconies are small and noisy from AC units (if you smoke, there is no smoking allowed on balconies or anywhere in hotel common areas) 2) the elevators are really really slow and 3) rooms were clean but not really as clean as would expect from this hotel (ie still felt sand on carpets and in bathrooms daily). Overall this is a great family hotel and we really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Family5_TO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael G, Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites North Beach, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am glad to see that you had a good time at our property. Thank you for all your feedback good and not so good please come back and see us again next year or sooner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
119 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

We came with kids and grandkids and thoroughly enjoyed everything. . . nice rooms, good breakfast, great pools, wonderful beach. Loved the view. The boardwalk is pleasant and clean. What more do you need???

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jjjjam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael G, Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites North Beach, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Thank you for staying with us, it was a pleasure having your family stay here. We have all the amenities a family would need included in the rate and look forward to your next visit. Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorton, Virginia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

My family and I had a blast on a quick last-minute long weekend to Virginia Beach. I'd say this hotel is uniquely designed for families. The weather was iffy, cloudy and cool, throughout most of our trip, but there were plenty of options for the kids to take part in.

The property was right on the beach with direct beach access... very convenient when lugging your kids toys, etc... They have SplashCamp in the hotel, which plans different activities for kids every hour or so during the day. Perfect for those rainy days. My kids were playing charades and nintendo wii and my little one was reading books. There's an in-house movie theater which plays kids movies from about 10 a.m. til about 6 p.m. Plus, of course, the indoor pool. That, plus beach access plus two outdoor pools makes for a great spot for families.

I found the staff to be very friendly and helpful. We also ate often at the restaurants on property. They were never packed, convenient, had decent (not great) food and kids ate free.

We will definitely be back... no question.

Room Tip: Our room was poolside, which is convenient but noisy. Although everything closes at 11, and my kids...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KPav22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael G, Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites North Beach, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Thank you for staying with us and filling out a review of our hotel. I am excited to see that your stay was perfect and we will see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

I loved every minute of being at this hotel. All the employees were friendly and helpful. The room was clean and cozy. The pools are awesome. This was a family trip for us and we just had so much fun. They have a pool with water slides and a little lazy river type thing. They have cornhole boards. It is RIGHT on the beach. They have an activity room for kids and a movie theater. They also had daily activities for the kids...cannonball contests and stuff of that nature. Just something fun for the kids. We loved it!! I can not say enough good things about this place...there was nothing bad or wrong with our stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank beach_fever_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael G, Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites North Beach, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Thank you for visiting the Holiday Inn North Beach. Our hotel offers more then any hotel on the Oceanfront and I am glad you got to experience it. We thank you for chosen our hotel and hope you will stay again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waldwick, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

Stayed Tuesday July 30th through Aug 3rd 2014. This is a very nice hotel and worth the stay. The staff is extremely friendly and always eager to help. Whether it was from service requests to ideas for location to eat. You will read some concerns about waiting for elevators. We did not find this to be an issue. I would not concern yourself with it. Yes this hotel can be a little loud. This is since it is a family hotel on the beach. That is what you get. However, somethings to keep an eye on.
1. The most annoying thing about this hotel is something they can not fix. If you happen to be there when the Navy has a aircraft carrier inbound or out bound the jet noise can be to much.
2. The hotel has complementary valet car service. This is a nice touch. However they leave the keys in an unsecured rolling cabinet. The cabinet has the ability to be locked but the leave the key in it. It is only a matter of time before someone has a vehicle stolen if it hasn't happened already.
We did not eat at any of the restaurants on site but we did hear that the one on the top level of the south tower was very good. This is also a great hotel to stay because it is just far away of the amusements to be low key and still be able to go when you want to. I will stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael G, Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites North Beach, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to write a review. I am glad to see that your stay was good with some small issue. I will address those concerns and thank you for bringing it to our attention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront
1.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
#2 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
1.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North
1.0 mi away
Comfort Suites Beachfront
Comfort Suites Beachfront
#7 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
#10 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn & Suites North Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn & Suites North Beach

Property: Holiday Inn & Suites North Beach
Address: 3900 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-2604
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Virginia Beach
#3 Green Hotel in Virginia Beach
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
#10 Business Hotel in Virginia Beach
#10 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
#25 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn & Suites North Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 253
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Splash into 250,000 gallons of fun, enjoy a movie in our movie theater and relax on your private balcony. Holiday Inn & Suites North Beach guestrooms feature mini-refrigerator and microwave, flatscreen TV, iPod stations and free Internet. Splish Splash Lagoon features an outdoor lazy river & two 12-foot waterslides. Float down indoor Lay-Z-Rivah or lounge in the sun by the outdoor pool. For entertainment, enjoy activities for toddlers to tweens in seasonal kids Splash Kamp. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Holiday Inn & Suites North Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn And Suites North Beach
Holiday Inn & Suites North Beach Hotel Virginia Beach
Holiday Inn Virginia Beach
Virginia Beach Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing