We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very clean, great bargain, and close to the airport!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Courtyard Virginia Beach Norfolk
Ranked #56 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Bergen County, NJ
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Very clean, great bargain, and close to the airport!”
Reviewed 30 May 2013

I really enjoyed my one night stay at the Courtyard by Marriott. Check in was easy, the room was large and super clean. It looked like everything was new in the room. The room had free coffee so I do not know why others said they did not. The room had a refrigerator, a large flatscreen TV and premium cable channels. I swam in the pool and used their free internet and computer to print out my boarding passes for the next day. The business center provides pens and paper if needed and is within the main lobby area and not tucked away in a dingy office. Again, I was really impressed by the cleanliness of the room. Also, the beds were extremely comfortable.

Room Tip: I asked for a quiet room and they placed me on the third floor away from the courtyard. Did not hear...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carolj265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer T, General Manager at Courtyard Virginia Beach Norfolk, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Carol,
Thank you for your review. We try hard to ensure every guest has a great experience when staying with us. Thank you again for taking the time to tell us about your time here with us. We hope to see you again if your travels bring you back to our area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    52
    35
    14
    12
See reviews for
45
41
11
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 15 May 2013

Me and my girlfriend arrived at the hotel yesterday the 14..Front desk straff very on point-nice..Our room is very clean-bed made nice an corfortable..walls are thin,can hear others open an shut there door.I thought it was my girlfriend running in an out of our room. Nice gym to workout in the a.m..the only bad thing was the verrrrry over price snacks at this hotel-like really..2 to 3 bucks for chips or candy..a little bag at that, but its a 7-11 in walking distance from the hotel..We live in norfolk we just wanted to get away from home-wish they had free contenital breakfast..The bristo the hotel restaurant is pricey..But hey it is what it is-away from home..Yes :)

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gurlface76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asheville, North Carolina, United States
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

This was a very old property - updated to be a Courtyard. The lobby was attractive but it is difficult to translate a cosmetic update to the guestrooms. Our sliding door was difficult to operate and the bar that is meant to reinforce the lock was inoperable. The WiFi worked occassionally. Guests across the hall from us ran from room to room and shouted in the hallway, using it is as play space for their kids. We did not complain but it was so consistent throughout the weekend that it was clear that hotel employees never walked down the hall.

The staff was friendly but they have a tough job making it seem like more than it is.

Room Tip: If all the patio doors were as poor as ours, I would not accept a ground floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer T, General Manager at Courtyard Virginia Beach Norfolk, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Nancy,

Thank you for your review. Our hotel was built in 1986 as a Courtyard hotel so the translation of the original design to the new concept may not have been what you expected. We did have some issues with the sliding doors and the locking mechanisms. Fortunately for us, this was still under warranty & we did have those particular rooms fixed!
I'm sorry to hear that you had to endure noisy neighbors. Noise issues is something that every hotel is unfortunately at risk of experiencing. We do have outside security on staff 7 days a week to address these complaints when they arise. It sounds like we may have dropped the ball during your stay.
I thank you again for taking the time to provide us feedback on your stay so that we may have the opportunity to make it right for the next guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northwestern PA
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2013

First of all, the review about the coffee is correct. Marriott discontinued the free coffee (which I personally think was a mistake) and instead forces you to buy the Starbucks from the Bistro if you want coffee. I am not sure what their thinking was on this but it has become a HUGE issue with some folks. I doubt any Marriott folks read these reviews so it is useless to say much about the lack of free coffee. That said. If you can overlook no free coffee - this place exceeded my expectations. SUPER clean. Bed was really, really comfortable and staff very attentive. Close to lots of restaurants and easy access to all highways. We paid $99 a night plus tax so I though a fair rate. I would not hestitate to stay again.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lovinlife1245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer T, General Manager at Courtyard Virginia Beach Norfolk, responded to this review, 30 April 2013
Thank you so much for your review. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay! I did want you to know that we do review guest responses....we have heard about the coffee and have expressed guest concerns to the appropriate above property levels. We do like to remind our guests that we still provide free coffee, it is just located in the guest rooms rather than in the lobby.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milford, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
251 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2013 via mobile

They remodled this place since the last time I was here and it is all "spiffy" now. However they used to give you complementary coffee and a breakfast buffet, and even free drinks at cocktail hour. NOW you have to pay for it. I do not like this at all.....I would expect to have to pay at the Marriott but NOT the Courtyard. Hey Folks this is not the roaring 80's or early 90's when everyone had an unlimited expense account. Don't know about everyone else but MY Boss scrutenizes my expenses. Back to the Hampton Inn for me where these things are included.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scot L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johnson City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2013

We were there 2 nights and had no issues. Very clean, staff was super nice and cafe was decent. It's very close to the highway which was also nice. The pool wasn't open due to it still being a bit chilly, but gym was open and lounges were comfortable. Wi-fi was a bit spotty in the room at times.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DanaMarie11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coral Springs, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
228 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2013 via mobile

Your time will start at check in with the cheerful smile of the very helpful Stephanie S. We had a meeting room for business which was perfect for us. The sleeping rooms are very nice with a mini fridge and flat screen TV. Nice place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ron D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Virginia Beach - Norfolk
Holiday Inn Virginia Beach - Nor...
#36 of 109 in Virginia Beach
412 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Norfolk/Virginia Beach
Hampton Inn Norfolk/Virginia Bea...
#21 of 109 in Virginia Beach
485 reviews
2.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Virginia Beach -Town Center
Crowne Plaza Hotel Virginia Beac...
#57 of 109 in Virginia Beach
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn Norfolk Virginia Beach
La Quinta Inn Norfolk Virginia B...
#53 of 109 in Virginia Beach
356 reviews
0.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Virginia Beach/Norfolk Airport
Homewood Suites by Hilton Virgin...
#20 of 109 in Virginia Beach
613 reviews
0.2 mi away
TownePlace Suites Virginia Beach
TownePlace Suites Virginia Beach
#62 of 109 in Virginia Beach
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Virginia Beach Norfolk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Virginia Beach Norfolk

Property: Courtyard Virginia Beach Norfolk
Address: 5700 Greenwich Rd, Virginia Beach, VA 23462-6518
Region: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Virginia Beach Norfolk 3*
Number of rooms: 146
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Courtyard Virginia Beach Norfolk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Virginia Beach Norfolk Hotel Virginia Beach
Virginia Beach Marriott
Virginia Beach Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing