We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oceanview”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfront/South
Ranked #19 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 29 April 2012

A predictable place to stay on the beach, guaranteed oceanview, on the boardwalk as well. Great location in the middle of everything

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank MaryBee_21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 11 July 2012

Thank you for your review! Hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (860)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

665 - 671 of 860 reviews

Reviewed 29 April 2012

I stay in Virginia Beach frequently for business. This trip the Courtyard South was the only one with per diem rate rooms. So I booked it and hoped for the best.

Location - It's great. You are basically right in the middle of the boardwalk and next to the Coast Guard Memorial. However parking NEAR the hotel is very limited. There is an overflow garage but it is a block away and if you had lots of stuff to carry - not good. If they are going to have an overflow that far away, they need some kind of valet/baggage help.

View - Also great - all rooms are oceanfront.

Room - The room is large but I found many things that needed some help. Half the lightbulbs were burnt. Carpet felt like it had not been properly vacuumed. Room was looking a little beleagured. My biggest woe - hot water was hard to come by. Every morning it was a 10 minute wait at least for the water to even get lukewarm. Morning paper never made it in front of my door each day while the room 2 doors down always had one.

Service - Front desk was helpful most of the time. Housekeeping was very hit and miss. First day, bed made, dirty towels picked up, but no replacement towels, but bathroom was obviously not cleaned other than trash emptied. Next day, housekeeping never made it to the room. I have to mention though when I called for some replacement towels, they were quick to respond with a new set but it was a maintenance person not housekeeping that brought them to the room.

Cafe - Also hit and miss. I liked how they had the calories listed on the menu but the second day they messed up my order. Thank goodness they had mixed it up with a co-worker and we just switched out the breakfast meat. They were very apologetic but there was only 3 of us in the cafe so the error didn't come from it being extremely busy but I will leave it to you to decide.

Bottom line - I will try to make my reservations earlier and get a better hotel on the strip.

Room Tip: All rooms are waterfront with a balacony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ckhbrodt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ejrvab, General Manager at Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfront/South, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2012

Thank you for your review. i have used it as a training tool for my staff following our rennovation. Please give us another try and see how your comments helped us improve.

Ed Rapp
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

The guy at the front desk was great and very helpful. We arrived early and he was very kind and helpful to get us into a room as early as possible. The hotel was completely booked and parked was limited. I believe there was an additional parking garage across the street but we never had to use it. The location was great. We had room 1101 which was on the highest floor (sweet) but all the balconies were a tad small. It’s ok for 2 people but can become crowded with anymore. They did not have a blow dryer FYI.

I'd stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Craig H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 11 July 2012

Thank you for your review. We are pleased you had a great time. I will be sure to let Rande, our front desk supervisor, know you appreciated his service. We hope you do stay here again and we will be sure to show you where the hair dryers are located.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2012

From the moment of check in, the staff were friendly and kind. The lobby is open, spacious, and has great views of the ocean. The room was a good size with a small seating area, free wifi, and balcony overlooking the beach.

Only con is the parking lot: it's too small given the size of the hotel.

Great stay and highly recommended. I look forward to returning there.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wxnats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 11 July 2012

Thank you for your review and highly recommending us. Our staff takes pride in providing friendly service. Our front parking lot has limited spaces, that’s why we offer our 2-story garage across the street for additional parking. We look forward to seeing you next time you’re in the Virginia Beach area!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2012

My weekend at this hotel was great. We had and ocean front room w/ balcony on the top floor with an excellent view of the ocean. The staff was great. They responded to our simplest requests in a timely manner and even when we had a late night fly infestation (as a result of leaving the balcony door open), they sent someone up after midnight to spray our room.

It's a very convenient location on the boardwalk w/i walking distance of several restaurants and shops. Only downside was that their new lobby/bistro was a big fat let down. Over priced Bistro menu with limited selection and very slow staff needs to be reconsidered to compete with convenient shops within walking distance of the hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vwildster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 11 July 2012

I am so glad you enjoyed your stay! I will share this review with our staff on their responsiveness to your needs. I’m sorry you didn't enjoy our new bistro. We have made changes since your visit and positive you will enjoy the menu items. We hope you will think of us again, the next time you are in the Virginia Beach area. Thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2012

Despite a lobby renovation (that pushed a B- breakfast into a converted hotel room), this is a terrific place to stay for Virginia Beach. It's on the higher end of the strip, so closer to quite activities (shopping, other great hotels) and a few blocks from the active bars. Lack of a fancy pool, means fewer kids, if that's what you are seeking.


+
The room was very clean.
Great rate.
Ocean view.
Great quite part of Atlantic Avenue.

-
Lobby renovation.
Overflow parking is across the street

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank aeg9297
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 11 July 2012

Thank you for such a pleasant review. We value our guest feedback and ways to improve. The renovation is fully completed and we would love for you to visit again and enjoy the new atmosphere.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2012

We stayed on 3-28 for two days. We own a moving company and brought two of our guys with us as we were moving a customer to VA beach. They found room for our large 26 foot moving truck. We rented the larger suit, it was well priced. The room was clean and nicely furnished. Maid service was excellent. Pool and gym are okay. You have the beach so you really dont need a pool. I do not know if they move the gym because of construction. It was in a tiny room and smelled. The free breakfast is a nice deal.

They are under construction so we had to deal with the lobby being right next to the elevator which was kind of a hassle. They were jack hammering as the clerk was answering phones and waiting on customers at a folding table. As we sat on our balcony again more annoying jack hammering to take out the sidewalks. The moved the entry door twice.

I understand there is a need for renovation and no time is more perfect before the summer season kicks off. So I do not take this personal.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rmovers315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
0.4 mi away
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
#13 of 109 in Virginia Beach
1,999 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
#1 of 109 in Virginia Beach
624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North
0.8 mi away
Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfront/North 37th Street
Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfr...
#8 of 109 in Virginia Beach
813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfront/South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfront/South

Address: 2501 Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-3102
Region: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Virginia Beach
#3 Green Hotel in Virginia Beach
#4 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
#4 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range: £88 - £276 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfront/South 3*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you’re looking for hotels in Virginia Beach, VA, you'll love the spectacular views and location of our Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfront South. Our hotel is located along the Virginia Beach boardwalk in the heart of this beachfront resort, minutes from Oceana Naval Air Station and Dam Neck. All of our spacious rooms and suites feature private, furnished balconies with ocean views, comfortable bedding, and complimentary high-speed Internet access. Our Virginia Beach oceanfront hotel also offers one-bedroom suites and Jacuzzi rooms. Drop by our oceanfront cafe for a wonderful breakfast, lunch, or dinner. Enjoy great local events like the Rock n Roll Half Marathon, Boardwalk Art Show, and Neptune Festival. Visit the nearby Virginia Beach Convention Center. Unwind in our indoor pool, whirlpool, or fitness room. If you're planning an event or business retreat, let us know - our largest space hosts up to 60. Few hotels in Virginia Beach, VA can match our great location, so make a reservation today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfront/South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Virginia Beach Oceanfront / South Hotel Virginia Beach
Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Virginia Beach Courtyard
Virginia Beach Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing