We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Much Improved!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfront/South
Ranked #17 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 6 March 2013

I stayed at this hotel a year ago, in February 2012, and it was a horrible experience. The reason was because they mistakenly put me on a floor that was undergoing renovations, and I didn't discover until the following morning that there was no hot water on the entire floor! While the situation was rectified (I was given temporary access to a room on another floor so I could shower and get ready for a business meeting), it left me extremely disappointed and wondering how such an oversight could happen. Neverthless, I decided to give the hotel a second chance a year later and I'm glad I did.

The hotel renovations are now complete, and the first thing I noticed was a fresh, new entry foyer and breakfast/restaurant area. The colors are bright and bold and lend a chic touch to the ground floor. I was eager to see the renovated guest rooms. They did a very nice job. While I think some of the aspects were unchanged (wallpaper, some fixtures, same old noisy heat/AC unit), overall the room had a comfortable and sophisticated look with the new furniture and upgrades, and was very conducive to getting work done (the "old" desk chairs, for example, were red pleather that were uncomfortable and in various stages of cracking/peeling. The new ones are comfy and modern). This isn't your normal Courtyard - plus every room has a beautiful oceanfront view which isn't something I'm used to seeing on business trips!

This property really redeemed itself in my eyes. The front desk people as well as the folks at the breakfast bistro were friendly, outgoing, and energetic. They don't pretend you're invisible - not a single employee passed by without making eye contact and saying hello. They are doing something right at this hotel and I will surely stay here again the next time my travels take me to Virginia Beach.

Room Tip: Join the Marriott Rewards program. It's free and you may get upgrades to some of the larger sui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maruru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tanner D, Assistant General Manager at Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfront/South, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2013

I am pleased to hear that you had a wonderful experience while staying with us. We appreciate the second chance and are pleased that we were able to meet your expectations The Courtyard by Marriott South is newly renovated as of last year and we are pleased that you enjoyed the new decor and great staff members! We look forward to having you stay with us again in the future!

Sincerely,
Tanner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (860)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

601 - 607 of 860 reviews

Reviewed 10 February 2013

Stayed here for a race with a group of friends. Stayed 2 nights and had 2 suites - so happy all rooms are oceanfront! The staff was super friendly and always helpful. Provided complimentary on the go breakfast for racers.... Huge plus! Comfy beds and towels that weren't thin/scratchy. Clean rooms and public spaces. Recommend this for families, groups, couples, anyone! Enjoy...

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SaltSandSurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tanner D, Assistant General Manager at Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfront/South, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2013

Thank you for taking your time to review Courtyard by Marriott South. We are pleased to hear that you and your party enjoyed our oceanfront suites and friendly staff members! We hope to see you back at our hotel for a future stay!

Sincerely,
Tanner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2013

Had nothing bad to say about this place. Lots of free parking, nicely decorated, good rooms. Got a nice wrap around suite with oceanfront balcony. Lots of work being done on the beach, hopefully that's cleared up before the summer!

Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
2  Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha S, Front Desk Agent at Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfront/South, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2013

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit with us, but I do apologize for the beach replenishment project that was taking place during your stay. The dredging ended a few weeks ago, and the oceanfront is once again calm and peaceful. Thank you for your review, and we hope to see you again!

-Samantha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2013

It is always difficult to make last minute arrangements and so this time was no different. I'm a sucker for a good hotel, but this trip was impromptu and not only was I entered to run the Polar Plunge 5K, but I had to find an affordable and conveniently located hotel.

I had go through a list of hotels online and I respect people's reviews so although I wanted to stay at a "fancier" hotel, the reviews for those mentioned were not so good. I finally decided to come here as it was just the right distance away from the events and was just the right price.

The thing I want to mention above the nice decor, the very clean room, the view from our room, and the quietness of our hall is how incredibly nice and helpful the staff is here. Not only was I able to extend my checkout due to wanting to come back in between events at the Polar Plunge, but I had forgotten my earphones and the man at the front desk went out of his way to help me find some. Unfortunately there were none to be found, but his efforts were commendable. When the bistro got our breakfast order wrong they gave us more than extra food to apologize and it was nice sitting after a 5K and watching the ocean as we ate. Even when we arrived the vibe of the hotel was nice and we were greeted with casual, genuine smiles.

I loved the modern feel of the hotel as well, you can tell they are trying to work on their image and it showed as it looked very relaxed there. I don't know what it is like in season but I can say that what I experienced was incredible customer service and accommodations were met. I'm a sucker for such things and this place delivered.

Room Tip: the staff makes this place
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LadyJRVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tanner D, Assistant General Manager at Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfront/South, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2013

Thank you for taking your time to write such great comments about Courtyard by Marriott South. We are happy to hear how the wonderful staff took care of you and it was a pleasure having you stay with us. We hope to see again for next year's Polar Plunge event and hopefully even sooner!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2013

Being fairly unafraid of the cold weather, my girlfriend and I decided on a trip to Virginia Beach for Christmas weekend this last month. It's nice. No hoards of tourists to contend with and a fairly quiet (not deserted though), peaceful scene.
The Courtyard South is in a very central location. There are tons of cafes and restaurants in the area. There are your typical touristy shops too, where you can buy cheap sunglasses and ridiculous Virginia Beach t-shirts.
Conveniently enough, they have their own parking lot. We're from DC, so we're not used to a place where you can just drive up and NOT have a valet employee waiting to take your car and charge you sixty dollars a day for parking. That alone was refreshing.
We arrived rather late and check-in was a very easy process. The woman working the front desk for night audit was not what you would call "peppy" or "informative" really. In fact, when asking her about anything to do, she was pretty much resistant to tell us anything other than we had to drive about fifteen minutes or go to Norfolk. We weren't looking for anything amazing; just some basic bum-around activities. If it weren't for that, I'd give the place five stars. The rest of the front desk staff were extremely friendly, personable and (maybe because it was slow) one gentleman (dreadlocks) even remembered me by name. Boom. Awesome.
The pool and hot tub area are very nice. Not too large, but not tiny either.
The guest room we had on the seventh floor was wonderful. It had a decently sized balcony and of course, a fantastic view of the whole beach. It was really wonderful to get up early and check out the sunrise over the ocean's horizon. Amazing. The room was decently decorated and the beds were pretty comfortable. The closet we had was huge as well, so if you're staying for awhile, you'll have plenty of space for your belongings.
The housekeeping staff were also efficient and non-disruptive. I would return to this place in a heartbeat. Thank you for a wonderful Christmas weekend, guys.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CaptainAwethume
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tanner D, Assistant General Manager at Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfront/South, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2013

Thank you for sharing your feedback. We are happy that you made the trip in the colder weather and enjoyed the beautiful oceanfront views especially the sunrises! Courtyard South is located in the center of the Virginia Beach Boardwalk with many shops, restaurants, and activities all within walking distance. I apologize for your check in experience. We have used your feedback in a positive manner and have put steps in place to ensure that all our staff is aware of all that Virginia Beach has to offer! I am happy that all of your other experiences with the staff were exceptional and created a memorable experience for you and your girlfriend Christmas weekend.

We hope to see both of you for future stays!

Sincerely,

Tanner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2013

We recently stayed at this Courtyard for a quick weekend getaway. The location is great, right on the beach/boardwalk and close to lots of restaurants and shops. The hotel has been recently updated, much like many Courtyards, and is well done. The staff were all friendly and helpful. The only drawback is the bed is a bit too soft, not the "Marriott" beds which seem to be the new norm. Would consider staying here again if we were to travel to the area.

Room Tip: This hotel is laid out so all rooms have an ocean view which is wonderful! We always request a high...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank goingbeachy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert D, General Manager at Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfront/South, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2014

Thank you for the review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2013

I know its a little late but better late than never! I stayed with friends last year for the Shamrock half marathon! Virginia beach was packed! but this hotel still managed to make us feel welcomed and give us the Marriott treatment you would expect! I can honestly say that i was pleased with the rooms and public areas throughout the three night stay and would absolutely stay there again!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ocmdtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tanner D, Assistant General Manager at Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfront/South, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2013

Thank you for your wonderful review. We are very proud of our great staff members and pleased to hear that you had a wonderful experience! The Courtyard by Marriott is newly renovated as of last year with all oceanfront rooms and a refreshed lobby space.

We can't wait to have you return for a future stay!

Thank you,

Tanner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
0.4 mi away
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
#13 of 109 in Virginia Beach
1,999 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
#1 of 109 in Virginia Beach
624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North
0.8 mi away
Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfront/North 37th Street
Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfr...
#7 of 109 in Virginia Beach
813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfront/South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfront/South

Address: 2501 Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-3102
Region: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Virginia Beach
#3 Business Hotel in Virginia Beach
#4 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
#4 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range: £87 - £276 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfront/South 3*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you’re looking for hotels in Virginia Beach, VA, you'll love the spectacular views and location of our Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfront South. Our hotel is located along the Virginia Beach boardwalk in the heart of this beachfront resort, minutes from Oceana Naval Air Station and Dam Neck. All of our spacious rooms and suites feature private, furnished balconies with ocean views, comfortable bedding, and complimentary high-speed Internet access. Our Virginia Beach oceanfront hotel also offers one-bedroom suites and Jacuzzi rooms. Drop by our oceanfront cafe for a wonderful breakfast, lunch, or dinner. Enjoy great local events like the Rock n Roll Half Marathon, Boardwalk Art Show, and Neptune Festival. Visit the nearby Virginia Beach Convention Center. Unwind in our indoor pool, whirlpool, or fitness room. If you're planning an event or business retreat, let us know - our largest space hosts up to 60. Few hotels in Virginia Beach, VA can match our great location, so make a reservation today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfront/South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Virginia Beach Oceanfront / South Hotel Virginia Beach
Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Virginia Beach Courtyard
Virginia Beach Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing