We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfront/South
Ranked #11 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed 7 May 2013

This hotel was in the perfect location and our Presidential Suite was awesome! The hotel is modern and the hotel staff were great. Please note that the indoor pool is rather small and only goes to 5ft. I'm not sure if there is an outdoor pool.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PhoenixFiyah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha S, Front Desk Agent at Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfront/South, responded to this review, 13 May 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review of our hotel! I'm happy to hear that you had a nice stay with us. I apologize for our pool being on the smaller side, and we actually do not have an outdoor pool. But we have the ocean! If you and your family choose to vacation in Virginia Beach another time, please let us know. We would love to host you again.

Thank you,
Samantha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

826 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    437
    249
    88
    36
    16
See reviews for
285
244
25
107
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milford, DE
Level Contributor
169 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2013

Front desk staff was very friendly, could not give me my free Marriott Rewards upgrade because the hotel was full but gave me coupons for free breakfast for 2 days. All rooms are oceanfront and our room was a nice size and very clean. My granddaughter enjoyed the indoor pool. Unfortunately our free breakfast in the Bistro was horrible! The biscuits with gravy was so salty I could not eat it. The scrambled eggs were so dry I could not eat it. I Finally settled for a bagel. They charge $10.00 per person and it was worse than the complimentary breakfast you get at Residence Inn or Springhill Suites.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MMB101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha S, Front Desk Agent at Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfront/South, responded to this review, 7 May 2013
Thank you for review and for letting us know where we can improve. Your thoughts are greatly appreciated. I am glad to hear that your stay was enjoyable, and that your granddaughter had a blast in our pool! I am sorry that The Bistro's buffet breakfast was less than desirable; your feedback has been passed on and we are taking steps to improve our food selection's quality. Thank you again for your time and we hope to see you at the oceanfront again soon!

-Samantha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 April 2013

I just got back from this hotel. We were really happy. All the rooms are ocean front, the prices are reasonable and it is right on the board walk and the beach. This hotel as excellent service as well. I enjoyed it's proximity to bars and restaurants as well as the beautiful stretch of beach. The Bistro has limited hours but there are plenty of other places to eat within a short walking distance. The pool was warm and the hot tub great, Both overlook the boardwalk and beach. I recommend this hotel unconditionally. Enjoy

Room Tip: All rooms are ocean front so it doesn't really matter. We were on the 9th floor and heard no noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stevesin4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha S, Front Desk Agent at Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfront/South, responded to this review, 7 May 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review and kind words, we are thrilled to hear that you had an excellent stay! Our location is key, seeing as we are right in the middle of everything. I enjoy the view from our hotel as well, it really is amazing. We hope that you and your family will join us again, please contact us the next time you're planning a vacation!

-Samantha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northwestern PA
Level Contributor
45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2013

The front desk staff upon arrival was awesome. I reserved a oceanfront and was upgraded to the corner suite since I am a Gold Rewards member. Room was more than adequate with a separate bedroom and living room with a small kitchette all overlooking the ocean. Room was clean but did have a strong smell when we first arrived I am assuming it was some cleaning material they used. I opened the sliding glass door on the balcony and it soon dissapated.

I really have only two issues with the hotel. First being the bed, it was not a good bed. Very soft and lacked any real support. The second issue was the quality of linens and towels. I am not sure would they are being washed in but very scratchy and harsh.

We didn't eat at the Bistro but the front desk did give us a great recommendation for dinner which we took and had an enjoyable meal. For our breakfast we ate at a local pancake house that I had seen on the Food Channel as being the best in VB.

All in all it was an OK stay and location is fantastic as is front desk staff. I would have given this hotel a higher rating if the bed has not been so horrible. It really needs to be replaced.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lovinlife1245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha S, Front Desk Agent at Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfront/South, responded to this review, 7 May 2013
Thank for taking the time out of your day to let us know how your stay was. I am very happy to hear that our staff was enjoyable and friendly! I apologize for our mattress not giving you enough support, we will definitely be looking into your request. There are so many wonderful restaurants in the area and I am pleased to hear that you had a few great meals! If you plan to travel to Virginia Beach again please give us a call.

-Samantha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2013

Landed in VB and really didn't know where we were staying. Asked if we could check out the room before booking. Maria at the front desk was very accomodating and allowed us to check out the room. We chose the 7th floor oceanview. Very nice. Everything was perfect. I would say the beds were a bit springy but okay. The view spectacular. The staff excellent, Maria, Randy, Rocky and Samantha. Plus the guy at the buffet breakfast all very nice.

Room Tip: Ask if there may be rooms with newer beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sanrom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha S, Fronjt Desk Agent at Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfront/South, responded to this review, 21 April 2013
I am thrilled to hear that you had a nice getaway with us! Our staff works hard every day to ensure a fun and relaxing vacation for our guests. Thank you for your kinds remarks and we hope to have you again in the future!

-Samantha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henrico, Virginia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2013

After one terrible night at the Econo Lodge on the Ocean (#2/118 ???) our weekend was salvaged by the Courtyard by Marriott, 2501 Atlantic Avenue (23451). We tried to save the weekend by asking if they could accommodate us for one night (Saturday). The front desk employees Raquel and Greg were very welcoming. We asked to see a room and after checking it out, booked it for one night (Saturday). On Sunday morning, we decided to stay longer (one more day) and Rande handled the request. Great view, clean room, comfortable bed and a good Sunday brunch (hotel restaurant). We enjoyed the indoor pool too. Thanks to the good weather and booking a better hotel we have a good memory of the VA BCH Oceanfront.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NYtoVAElvis1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha S, Front Desk Agent at Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfront/South, responded to this review, 21 April 2013
Thank you for taking the time out of your day to leave us such a wonderful review! We are very happy to hear that our hotel and staff were able to leave you with great memories of your stay in Virginia Beach. Please let us know when you plan to visit again!

Thank you,
Samantha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland
Level Contributor
68 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2013 via mobile

The primary area of opportunity here is the consistency amongst the staff. Upon check in it became evident there were some issues here. The desk person was placingplacing his lunch order on the phone while we stood there holding our bags waiting to be helped while he read off his order in front of us. Finally as the line to check in grew he decided to help us. We stayed in the Presidential Suite which was a good size and we had requested pillows and sheets for the pullout bed. They gave us one pillow and no sheets. Not even a fitted one. The only blanket provided had a 12" stain on it. When I called down to Mike the front desk person who was the same one who checked us in told me there were no sheets because they had all been given to the "high schoolers" who had requested extra sheets so it meant we could have even one flat sheet for the nasty mattress. Eventually houskeeping found a fitted sheet which helped a little. Not to nitpick but another frustration came when we pushed the "roomservice" button and it continued to ring and ring. After no answer I called the desk and they informed me to my surprise there is no roomservice here which I found to be quite misleading since both phones have the option button and rings to nowhere.
All in all the experience was poor and there were such varying levels of service that its clear management is unaware of the poor performance of some if the team.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank swetfam4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopherThiele, General Manager at Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfront/South, responded to this review, 24 April 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback on your experience at our hotel. I’m disappointed to hear that we did not provide you with the high level of customer service we typically deliver. I have reviewed your comments with our front office management team, as we want to make sure every guest who stays with us has an enjoyable experience and their experience with our front desk team (our leaders in customer service) are entirely positive.

And also, thank you for pointing out the “Room Service” button on your guest room telephone – our guest rooms and restaurant were renovated last year, and we are proud to offer the Courtyard by Marriott Bistro in addition to our breakfast buffet. The Bistro features “Bistro-To-Go” instead of room service, and we neglected to notice that our phones still said “Room Service” on them. After reading your review and reviewing our guest room phones, we’re now in the process of having the faceplates on the phones reprinted and switched out so it properly reflects our offerings. Thanks for noticing – it’s helpful feedback from guests such as you that help make our property better!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
#2 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 580 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Beachfront
Comfort Suites Beachfront
#8 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
#13 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,836 reviews
0.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfront/South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfront/South

Property: Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfront/South
Address: 2501 Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-3102
Region: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Virginia Beach
#3 Business Hotel in Virginia Beach
#4 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
#4 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfront/South 3*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you’re looking for hotels in Virginia Beach, VA, you'll love the spectacular views and location of our Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfront South. Our hotel is located along the Virginia Beach boardwalk in the heart of this beachfront resort, minutes from Oceana Naval Air Station and Dam Neck. All of our spacious rooms and suites feature private, furnished balconies with ocean views, comfortable bedding, and complimentary high-speed Internet access. Our Virginia Beach oceanfront hotel also offers one-bedroom suites and Jacuzzi rooms. Drop by our oceanfront cafe for a wonderful breakfast, lunch, or dinner. Enjoy great local events like the Rock n Roll Half Marathon, Boardwalk Art Show, and Neptune Festival. Visit the nearby Virginia Beach Convention Center. Unwind in our indoor pool, whirlpool, or fitness room. If you're planning an event or business retreat, let us know - our largest space hosts up to 60. Few hotels in Virginia Beach, VA can match our great location, so make a reservation today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Marriott, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfront/South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Virginia Beach Oceanfront / South Hotel Virginia Beach
Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Virginia Beach Courtyard
Virginia Beach Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing