We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding service, excellent location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfront/South
Ranked #14 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
GreenLeadersSilver level
Morgantown, West Virginia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Outstanding service, excellent location”
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Even though I stayed here in the off-season (October), the parking lot was pretty full, while other hotels were seemingly empty. The hotel has a very modern look. The lobby includes a full bar, which is also a coffee bar. The staff are exceptional. Very efficient and friendly. They were also very good about providing dining and spa recommendations and directions.

The room was very clean and surprisingly large with a living room, small dining table, mini fridge and then a separate bedroom.The balcony is pretty small, but holds 2 chairs. The only negative is that the beds are due to be replaced. The mattress was a bit saggy. The beach is just across the boardwalk and bike path (this is how all the oceanfront hotels are set up in VA beach). The indoor pool was clean, with a nice temperature. The hot tub was clean, deep and hot.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greystone26508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert D, Manager at Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfront/South, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Greystone26508,
Great thanks for taking the time to share your experiences here at the Courtyard Ocean Front South. We take pride in being able to accommodate any kind of traveler, so that anyone who walks in the door has something new to experience. Your reflection is much appreciated! See you soon.

Robert
AGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

835 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    442
    250
    89
    37
    17
See reviews for
288
248
25
108
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013 via mobile

Spent a night here in a word Great. To my surprise I was upgrade to a suite no charge. The staff went out of there way to make sure my stay was the best. Bistro for dinner, cocktails the game and back for breakfast food was top notch. Room (Suite) was spotless bed was comfortable really can't Sind a down side. It will be my first choice to stay when I travel there.

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank BABernier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha S, Front Desk Agent at Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfront/South, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Thank you for your fabulous review of your stay with us! I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your complimentary upgrade, the cleanliness of our rooms, and our football nights in the Bistro. Our breakfast options are great as well, from simple sides like fresh fruit, to unique and healthy sandwiches. We hope to see you again! Please let us know when you are ready for a return trip.

Thank you,
Samantha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sevierville, Tennessee
1 review
Reviewed 7 October 2013

My husband and I started an 18 day trip by spending Labor Day weekend in Virginia Beach, Virginia before continuing on to Canada. It was of course a very busy weekend at the beach but upon our arrival, the front desk attendant advised our room was almost ready (although we were early for check-in) and that she (unfortunately I don't remember her name) would call our cellular. She not only called once but twice as we were making our way back to the hotel. Our penthouse suite was wonderful - two totally separate rooms, great view, clean, well appointed, etc. But two staff members even exceeded the suite...Shakeela and Rande. Whatever request we had, these two quickly fulfilled. They were ALWAYS smiling, pleasant, courteous and more! When we left, it was as though we were parting from family including hugs and good wishes from them. Not to be forgotten is the young gentleman (name?) who provided valet services for us. Our stay at The Courtyard South was great and it is with much fondness that we remember Shakeela and Rande as well as the young lady and gentleman mentioned herein.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert D, Manager at Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfront/South, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
Linda G.,

Many thanks for sharing your Courtyard South and Virginia beach experience . You appeared to cover all the bases and experienced what makes Courtyard South so unique. Ever changing, there is always something new to see, eat, listen to, or bring home. We look forward to you return, and promise to have something entirely new.

Travel For Fun.

Robert Duffy, Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Beach, Virginia, United States
1 review
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Everything from check in, to our joining rooms to check out was excellent! The views of Virginia Beach were just awesome! The staff were attentive and informative. Thanks to the AGM, Robert Duffy, for making this weeknd happen!! Hope to do it again real soon!!

Room Tip: As far as I know, all rooms have a view of the Ocean... so how can any room be a bad room?
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Seger822
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha S, Front Desk Agent at Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfront/South, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
Thank you for the wonderful review of your stay! I am thrilled to learn that you enjoyed yourselves and that Robert was able to make your time with us a little better. The view from every room at our location is wonderful! We hope that you will make a return visit.

Thank you,
Samantha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed here with our children for the Neptune Festival. We were really impressed with all the staff they were so friendly and accommodating. The room we had was very clean and comfortable and of course the views from the balcony were amazing. Great hotel!!

Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank LesJds09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha S, Front Desk Agent at Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfront/South, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave us such positive feedback about your stay with us! I am happy to hear that your family was able to enjoy the Neptune Festival, both from the room and on the boardwalk. Our staff enjoys communicating with our guests, and establishing a friendly and fun relationship with them. I hope that you will give us a call for your next trip to the oceanfront!

Thank you,
Samantha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 October 2013

The room was nice and clean. Facility was nice.....right on the beach. Very convenient to all attractions we were interested in. Only stayed two nights but would definitely come back. Book early as all hotels on the beach fill up quickly in the summer.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha S, Front Desk Agent at Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfront/South, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
Thank you for the review of your stay! I am pleased to hear that you found our hotel to be clean and convenient. Our placement on the boardwalk makes it very easy to acces the beach, various restaurants and stores. We hope that you will stay with us during your return trip!

Thank you,
Samantha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crozet
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 October 2013

We have stayed at this Courtyard by Marriott more times that we can count. We enjoy the Neptune Festival every September and this hotel is perfectly central to everything we want to do. Add to that the fact that the staff is incredibly friendly. We are always greeted with Rande's warm smile and kind welcome back. We are headed to VA Beach again in December for the light show and you can bet we'll be staying here again. Thanks, we are grateful for your hospitality!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 3BinCrozet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha S, Front Desk Agent at Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfront/South, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Thank you for leaving such a fantastic review regarding your stay with us! Our location is extremelely convenient, located on the boardwalk where everything is happening, and walking distance from a plethora of restaurants and stores. Our staff enjoys creating a positive and fun environment for our guests during your stay, making you feel at home and like a part of our family! I am glad to hear that you enjoyed Neptune Festival weekend, and we look forward to seeing you in December for the holidays!

Thank you,
Samantha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront
0.4 mi away
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
#12 of 109 in Virginia Beach
1,867 reviews
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
#2 of 109 in Virginia Beach
590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North
0.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Beachfront
Comfort Suites Beachfront
#6 of 109 in Virginia Beach
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfront/South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfront/South

Property: Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfront/South
Address: 2501 Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-3102
Region: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Virginia Beach
#3 Green Hotel in Virginia Beach
#4 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
#4 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfront/South 3*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you’re looking for hotels in Virginia Beach, VA, you'll love the spectacular views and location of our Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfront South. Our hotel is located along the Virginia Beach boardwalk in the heart of this beachfront resort, minutes from Oceana Naval Air Station and Dam Neck. All of our spacious rooms and suites feature private, furnished balconies with ocean views, comfortable bedding, and complimentary high-speed Internet access. Our Virginia Beach oceanfront hotel also offers one-bedroom suites and Jacuzzi rooms. Drop by our oceanfront cafe for a wonderful breakfast, lunch, or dinner. Enjoy great local events like the Rock n Roll Half Marathon, Boardwalk Art Show, and Neptune Festival. Visit the nearby Virginia Beach Convention Center. Unwind in our indoor pool, whirlpool, or fitness room. If you're planning an event or business retreat, let us know - our largest space hosts up to 60. Few hotels in Virginia Beach, VA can match our great location, so make a reservation today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Marriott, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfront/South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Virginia Beach Oceanfront / South Hotel Virginia Beach
Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Virginia Beach Courtyard
Virginia Beach Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing