We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Founders Inn and Spa
Nearby Hotels
US$227
Country Inn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$242
US$217
GardenInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Oceanaire Resort Hotel(Virginia Beach)(Great Value!)
US$195
US$190
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront Virginia Beach(Virginia Beach)(Great Value!)
US$156
ComfortInn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Plus Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel(Virginia Beach)(Great Value!)
US$164
US$144
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$223
US$210
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront(Virginia Beach)(Great Value!)
US$294
US$249
Hilton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Best Western Plus Virginia Beach(Virginia Beach)(Great Value!)
US$107
US$96
BestWestern.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ocean Beach Club(Virginia Beach)
US$167
US$141
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Comfort Suites Beachfront(Virginia Beach)(Great Value!)
US$143
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,261)
Filter reviews
1,261 results
Traveller rating
590
341
181
82
67
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
590
341
181
82
67
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsswan terraceregent universityhunt roommain buildingcolonial styledog parktennis courtsoutdoor poolbeautiful propertyminute drivefitness centervirginia beach areamini fridgefireplaceweddingfoundedconference
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
898 - 903 of 1,261 reviews
Reviewed 22 June 2013

Stayed at Founders Inn based on friend's recommendation. We were not disappointed. We had a queen room. Room was clean and nicely decorated, very cozy. Loved the soft towels in the bathroom. We enjoyed sitting in the rocking chairs outside overlooking the lake and fountain. Air conditioning was slightly noisy, room didn't get as cool as we would have liked. We ate at the Swan Terrace. Food was delicious and service was excellent. Definitely would return when in the area.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kimmely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FoundersInn, General Manager at The Founders Inn and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2013

Dear Kimmely,

We are glad that you enjoyed your experience at the Founders Inn & Spa! I will pass on your comments regarding your wonderful food and beverage experience to the Executive Chef. Please join us again soon for another stay and another visit to the Swan Terrace.

Best regards,
Sascha Hemmann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2013

We had a queen room June 16, 2013. It was tastefully decorated and clean. The queen bed was comfortable. The grounds at the Inn are beautiful. Although we had no children with us the pool had families and a separate small pool area seemed to entertain the children with its slide. A small outdoor bar is located at the pool with a limited menu. No outside food or beverage is allowed in the pool area. A small outdoor bar is located at the pool with a limited menu. The pool area is nice, but nothing great. In addition to the pool there is a nice play area with a swing set and slides on site for small children.

Parking was included on site.

Breakfast was not included in our room rate but there is a restaurant on site. Because it was Father's Day the Brunch with Live Music was $34.95 per adult, children 5-12 $17.95.

A shuttle runs a couple times a day to the beach. This hotel seems to be more in the Chesapeake area than the beach area. I would estimate a shuttle would take about 20-30 minutes to the beach.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TempeGrandma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FoundersInn, General Manager at The Founders Inn and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2013

Dear TempeGrandma,

Thank you for your review of the Founders Inn & Spa! I am glad to hear that you enjoyed the colonial décor of the hotel, as well as our relaxing pool area. We seek to provide a unique and quaint experience for all of our guests! Come back soon!

Best regards,
Sascha Hemmann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2013 via mobile

Great pool and slide for the kids, convenient location near highway. Small rooms, average service. Breakfast has fresh fruits and usual staple of foods. Exercise room has adequate equipment, closed captioning did not work on TVs above treadmill.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tartebroeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FoundersInn, General Manager at The Founders Inn and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2013

Dear Tartebroeck,

I am glad to hear that you enjoyed our wonderful hotel amenities. Our outdoor pool and waterslide is a great way to cool down during the hot summer months in Virginia Beach! Please join us again soon for a relaxing stay, as well as to enjoy a special dining event like Tuesdays on the Terrace or our Independence Eve Cookout!

Best regards,
Sascha Hemmann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2013

My daughter was dreaming of a wedding with colonial venu(miltary notalgia) close to an airport and one that would provide everything in one package. She found the venue and never dreamed that the rooms(bridal room-presidential suite-exquisite), food, staff, and beautiful location would fit so perfectly with her dream.

The event planner, Molly Ann McGowen, was literally there at "our beckon call" to follow through with all of Andrea's wishes. All of our guest felt like they were all a cruise. The staff was so polite, friendly, and helpful.

The Preidential Suite is a perfect room for the bridal party to get ready and then then perfect room for parties after the rehearsal and the wedding. The room was exquisitely decorated and laid out. The balcony area was beautiful for socializing and pictures.

The food for the wedding was wonderful and everything offered in the packages was there. The bride and groom had a wonderful time with the chef picking out the menu for the wedding.
The groom(although a Naval fighter pilot professionally) has cooking as his favorite hobby and loved the professionalism of the chef and was able to identify with his specialty.

The grounds and gardens are beautiful. Although the wedding was moved inside because of the weather(beautiful Atrium though), we were able to take many pictures during rehearsal and before the wedding in the garden.

My daughter is a Navy LTJG(Navy Nurse Corp) and her husband now also a LTJG(as state before Navy pilot) and The Founders Inn was such a perfect location as a hotel built around the founding father of our nation.

As parents of the bride, it was so nice to have hardly any worries and to be able to enjoy the wedding.

The only recommendations for the hotel would be to increase the size of the room for the reception. The tables and dance floor was someone pushed together. Also, to be aware of the parties beside each other. The music in the next room overshadowed some of the speakers in our room.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FoundersInn, General Manager at The Founders Inn and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2013

Dear Susan,

Thank you for your review! We are so glad that we could host your family and friends as you celebrated your daughter’s nuptials! The hotel and guest rooms are certainly well-appointed to serve as a beautiful wedding venue. We will pass on your kind comments to the staff! Please join us again soon for another wonderful stay!

Best regards,
Sascha Hemmann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2013

I only stayed at this hotel for the one night on a business trip, but the AARP rate was the lowest rate in the area. The hotel was very clean and comfortable; the room was large and had a nice view of their pond.

The only issue was the very loud a/c unit that kept cycling on and off all night. Woke me up several times.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Slevinelaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FoundersInn, General Manager at The Founders Inn and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2013

Dear Slevinelaw,

Thank you for your review of the Founders Inn & Spa. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you stayed in one of our lovely lake view rooms. Thank you for bringing areas of opportunity to our attention so that we can better the guest experience. We look forward to seeing you again!

Best regards,
Sascha Hemmann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews