We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Founders Inn and Spa
Ranked #15 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

We had a wonderful stay at this hotel. It is especially kid friendly. The staff was super friendly, the food was delicious, and the rooms/grounds were immaculate. I wholeheartedly recommended this hotel to those traveling in the Virginia Beach area.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Felicia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FoundersInn, General Manager at The Founders Inn and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear Felicia M,

Thank you for your review! I am glad to know your stay was pleasant. As you noted in your review, we offer great amenities for all guests to enjoy. I hope that you will join us soon to experience the updated guest bathrooms and perhaps even visit during the upcoming holidays, including Labor Day.

Best regards,
Sascha Hemmann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,181)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

682 - 688 of 1,181 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2014

The room needed updating and was lacking a microwave. Had a small coffee maker and fridge was small. Ice machine nearby was broken so had to go down the hall for ice. The landscaping, gardens and buildings were beautiful!! Not too far to travel to the beach ,,. It was a great experience !!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank s0phia2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FoundersInn, General Manager at The Founders Inn and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Dear S0phia2014,

I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay! It is our goal to help every guest have a great experience with us. While there are microwaves on the first floor of our guest lodges for guests to use, you are certainly welcome to place a request for one in your room; they are subject to availability. Upon making your next reservation, inform the Reservations Agent of your preference. We are currently in the process of making updates throughout the hotel including new fitness equipment and upgraded bathrooms. I hope that you will join us again soon to enjoy these improvements.

Best regards,
Sascha Hemmann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We stayed at The Founders Inn and Spa for 4 nights. The room was very clean and facilities very good i.e. ice available and vending machines in the block should you require them. The Hunters bar served good food and had a pool table and televisions if you wanted to watch sport. The Chef Darren served up a fabulous vegitarian meal for my son's girlfriend and did exactly what she wanted, he was terrific. My only gripe would be that the Swan Terrace restaurant was not open most evenings and as the hotel was a bit out of the way you had to drive to a restaurant but when it was open the food was superb. All the staff were very attentive and friendly, Would very much recommend it if you were only staying a couple of nights.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Karen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FoundersInn, General Manager at The Founders Inn and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Dear Karen W,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know of your experience at The Founders Inn & Spa. We offer a wide variety of amenities, like the Hunt Room and Swan Terrace Grill restaurants, as you noted in your review. The Swan Terrace is open every day for breakfast and lunch (Brunch on Sundays) and is open Tuesday-Saturday for dinner. I apologize that you were not able to enjoy dinner as often while you stayed with us. I am happy to hear that Chef Darren was able to accommodate the dining requests of your party members. We strive to provide personalized service for every guest. Please join us again soon!

Best regards,
Sascha Hemmann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

The good: beautiful propert in and out, felt like I was aboard the Titanic or something (a good thing). Great for couples. Far away from the mess of the boardwalk but only minutes away by car and is right by the freeway. Courteous staff. Very clean rooms, hallways etc. no smoking in any room.

The bad: not much really. Far from the beach but they do offer a shuttle bus. Decor is very old luxury, if you need modern this is not your place. Room was on the small side. Small weird stain on the comforter but maid apologized and changed it immediately.

All things considered, it was a great experience.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Anibal R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FoundersInn, General Manager at The Founders Inn and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Dear SanJuanSky,

Thank you for your review; you described the property so eloquently. We are centrally located to most attractions in and around Virginia Beach, making us a great stop during your travels. Please accept my sincerest apologies for the cleanliness issue you encountered. I am glad it was quickly resolved for you, but I thank you for letting us know so we can avoid repeat occurrences. I hope that you will join us again soon for more great summer activities and our upcoming holiday events, like Thanksgiving Brunch and Grand Illumination.

Best regards,
Sascha Hemmann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

I had read reviews and some were not very good. My husband and I have traveled a lot and I do refer to trip advisor for other travelers input. I was somewhat hesitant , but the inn had a great summer promotion so we booked a three night stay. Our first impression was how lovely the gardens were and so well maintained. The employee at the front desk was so professional and personable. She noted my request for a quiet room and a firm bed. She also informed us she was giving us a room with a newly renovated bathroom. The room is a little dated, but it was very clean and the new bathroom was very nice. It had a great large shower with a super shower head. I loved having a room safe also. The breakfast buffet that came with our room was very good. It is served in the main dining room which is lovely. The selection of breakfast foods was nice and they will make you an omelet if you wish. The outdoor pool was very nice and we noted the staff checking the PH of the water often. We didn't use the indoor pool or jacuzzi, but it looked very nice. I would highly recommend Founder's . Also every employee we met was courteous and very respectful . They had a buffet and a live group on Tuesday. We weren't able to attend the buffet, but the jazz group was great!!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Conniedelmont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FoundersInn, General Manager at The Founders Inn and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Dear Conniedelmont,

Thank you for taking the time to write a detailed review on your recent stay. I am glad to hear that you had an enjoyable visit and were able to experience our updated bathrooms. We offer great amenities like the spa, indoor and seasonal outdoor pools, and the award-winning Swan Terrace Grill. There's something for everyone to enjoy. I hope to see you again soon! If you are able to join us again during the summer months, I do hope you will join us to experience the delicious food options at Tuesdays on the Terrace.

Best regards,
Sascha Hemmann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Rooms seemed small and not very decorative. Mattresses were so soft ( old) that when u sat on them, top almost touched bottom. Linens were nice, so were pillows and mattress overlay. Fridge VERY small, large tv, small coffee pot and microwave in hallway where ice was. Requested one and got it promptly. Light burned out in front of closet, replaced quickly but looked up and saw really dirty filter. Came right back and replaced it too. Indoor heated salt water pool was nice. Hot tub was Extremely small, only seated 3 but was nice and hot but had sand (?) in it. Gym was good with lots of machines. Outdoor pool was large and way better than expected. Was told this was a 4 star hotel, but definitely a 3 star.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kywomansnowskier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FoundersInn, General Manager at The Founders Inn and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Dear Kywomansnowskier,

Thank you for letting us know of your recent experience at the Founders Inn & Spa. I am glad you enjoyed the outdoor pool and gym during your stay. I was disappointed to hear of your experience with the guest room mattress. We do offer rooms with firmer mattresses. I recommend contacting the Reservations Department (757.366.5700) to confirm your preference and they will be happy to notate your preference for your next stay. I hope that you will join us again soon to enjoy great updates, like bathroom renovations and new fitness equipment.

Best regards,
Sascha Hemmann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

I was recently in Virginia and visited the Founder's Inn and Spa for a massage, manicure and pedicure. The Flowering Almond Spa was amazing!!!

Before my services, I mentioned that I had recently changed to a shellac polish and asked if they carried that particular polish. They did not have that brand, but because I anticipated this might happen, I brought my own with me! I met Noriko who would do the manicure. Noriko was familiar with shellac polish and wasn't sure if they had the proper light to cure the polish. She said that while I had my massage she would test it to be sure.

Then I met Julia. Wow, she gave one of the best massages I have ever had! I was so relaxed.

After the massage I was escorted to the Conservatory before my next services. This room is so beautiful. It does not have the feel of a cold impersonal spa, but rather reminiscent of a graceful southern parlor. There were lovely decanters with water with orange slices. I was also offered a glass of champagne, which I accepted. It was a wonderful way to move from one service to another.

Next I was greeted again by Noriko. She tried the shellac polish with the light and it worked!! She was so delightful!!! I felt like I had known her for a long time. If I lived in Virginia, I would make this Spa a regular treat!!! I highly recommend this Spa to compliment your stay!!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Service
Thank sonlovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FoundersInn, Manager at The Founders Inn and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Dear sonlovers,
Thank you for your lovely review! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your visit to the spa! Your kind remarks about our conservatory are very much appreciated and the comparison to a "graceful southern parlor" is simply wonderful! I will pass on your compliments to Noriko and Julia!
Sincerely,
Pennie Watson
Director of Spa and Fitness
The Founders Inn and Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
12.5 mi away
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
#13 of 109 in Virginia Beach
2,026 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Town Center
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach...
#10 of 109 in Virginia Beach
1,068 reviews
12.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Westin Virginia Beach Town Center
Westin Virginia Beach Town Cente...
#32 of 109 in Virginia Beach
691 reviews
12.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
#1 of 109 in Virginia Beach
631 reviews
12.5 mi away
Ocean Beach Club
Ocean Beach Club
#69 of 109 in Virginia Beach
785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Founders Inn and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Founders Inn and Spa

Address: 5641 Indian River Road, Virginia Beach, VA 23464-5247
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Virginia Beach
#18 Business Hotel in Virginia Beach
#23 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
#23 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range: £72 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Founders Inn and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The timeless Founders Inn and Spa is a Virginia Beach resort that pampers guests with the comforts of home, concierge attention and hi-tech conveniences. Select guest rooms with fireplaces and views of the serene lake and lovely Colonial garden are especially unforgettable. The Founders Inn and Spa features a wealth of excellent amenities and guest services including comfortable rooms and suite accommodations, in-house restaurants, a spa and fitness center, a shuttle service, pet-friendly rooms, complimentary wi-fi, a business center, special event spaces and meeting venues, to name a few. Whether it is a business stay, a family vacation, or a life event, we are looking forward to a chance to serve you at The Founders Inn and Spa near Norfolk, Virgnia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Founders Inn and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Founders Hotel Virginia Beach
Founders Hotel Virginia Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing