We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“VERY CLEAN”
Review of 19 Atlantic Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
19 Atlantic Hotel
Ranked #69 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
hicksville,ny
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“VERY CLEAN”
Reviewed 27 July 2009

Although no window in room, we stayed 2 nights. Hotel is clean, staff was helpful when we asked questions. Bathroom in our room was bigger than described in other review. Does need shelf and hooks for hanging robes. Great location, near beach and many resturants. Very quiet.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ravenHicksville_ny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    106
    109
    54
    36
    40
See reviews for
77
137
24
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
washington D.C.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 July 2009

This hotel was better than i expected especially for the price! The service was great (room was very clean). Only suggestion i have is to request a window otherwise the room can become claustrophobic. I stayed in a room w. a queen bed and, though not very spacious, was very comfortable. The hotel location is literally in the middle of all the action on "beach street USA" which is great if you don't want to do much driving while you stay. Tanning deck was also great to have and gave a nice view of the ocean.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hillyp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parrish, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2009

We had to wait 45 minutes beyond the 4 p.m. check in time for our room to be clean. The front desk staff seemed very disorganized. Also, there were only 2 luggage carriers for the entire hotel so had to wait again for that. Once finally checked in, we appreciated the extremely small but clean room. After going out to dinner we had a very hard time sleeping in the room because the air conditioner was extremely noisy. Every two minutes or so there was a noisy buzzing sound. We complained in the morning to the manager and he offered us a free stay in the future. Not sure we'll take him up on that.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cathyjo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
north carolina
1 review
Reviewed 19 July 2009

Good: The bathroom was clean, The coverlet looked new.
Bad: The "suite" is two TINY rooms connected by a hall almost too narrow to roll a suitcase through; no sitting in the "sitting room". The windows were filthy. The toilet paper holder fell off the wall when touched.
THERE IS NOT PARKING available for over half of the guests. The back-up parking is two and a half blocks away. Even though parking is advertised, it is REALLY UNAVAILABLE.
The first floor is occupied by exotic piercing and fantasy weapon salon. (OK, maybe not a bad, but slightly weird.)
Much could be forgiven IF the staff were at all pleasant. NOT THE CASE. Having crossed the tiny lobby from 4-8 times a day for four days I was NEVER greeted, there was NEVER a smile. I mean it, STAY AWAY!!!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gahmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Virginia Beach hotels

Richmond, Va
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2009

19 Atlantic feels like an older property that has had some remodeling. We booked one of the "no window" rooms for the cheaper rate. We actually got a room with a window, but the window looked into an interior fire escape, brick wall, and wall air conditioning unit. At night, the lights from the fire escape were as bright as a noonday sun. Everytime I woke up through the night I thought the sun had risen and it was morning. The rooms are small, but everything was clean. The rooms do not have that sandy, grimy, salty feel that alot of hotels at the beach get. The room A/C worked very well and was extremely quiet. The beds were comfortable enough. Plenty of towels. The room had a mini refrigerator and full size microwave. Our room had a large closet. We peeked at the roof top patio, but the view to the ocean is obstructed by other buildings. The roof top patio would be a great place to sit at night and watch the action on the street though. The staff was friendly. The location of this hotel is perfect, if your not looking for ocean front views. I would recommend this hotel for couples, or families that don't need a lot of space.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tmb66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2009

When we first checked into our room we were given a room with no outside windows(our window looked into a stairwell). While the room was very nice, we just weren't able to not have sunlight in our room for a week stay! When we went back downstairs to request something with a window, our request was granted and we were put into a room with a view of Atlantic St. We were able to see the ocean from this room, and the room itself was very nice! The bathroom was a bit on the small side, but it was not a big deal. The room also had a fridge and a microwave, which was nice to have. The bath amenities were from Bath and Body Works. The best part of the hotel is the incredibly friendly and helpful staff! The GM, Santiago, was fantastic! The location of the hotel couldn't have been better! You're close to everything, just right across the street from the beach, and within a block of some great restaurants. The hotel did not serve breakfast, but they did have breakfast bars out by the coffee every morning. There is pretty limited parking next to the hotel, but they do have an offsite lot a couple blocks away if the hotel lot is full. There was no wifi when we stayed there, which was a bit of a problem since we were there for business. Also, there was a great rooftop area, but it wasn't furnished during our stay. We actually saw the truck bring the rooftop furniture in on the day of our departure, and we're sure it's very nice up there now. Beautiful view, for sure! If I was going to be in VA Beach again, I would absolutely stay at this hotel again!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaitlinK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2009

My husband and I love going on vacation and staying in hotels; however this is hotel I would not recommend. To start off when we got there they were out of parking! They literally only have 22 parking spaces and if you don't get one you have to park 2 blocks away and carry your luggage from the hotel from there! I have to say it does look like the pictures on thier website, but out room was extremely small. I read some of the other reviews and though "oh we can handle a small room" but this was so small that my husband and I could lay on the bed and literally touch ever wall in the room. The shower is a one stall shower, and there is no place to sit your shampoo or soap. Also, it took the staff over 40 minutes to get us shower towels! I also was given TWO towels that had hair folded in them~GROSS! Our air conditioner made a buzzer sound every morning from about 7:30 to after 8:30 (so don't plan on sleeping in). I told the manager of our experience and he was not at all concerned and really was not apologetic at all. I was very disappointed with the manager, and just for that fact alone I would not go back to this hotel. To be honest we were trying to save money, but I would have rather paid the extra and had a decent hotel.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NJPA_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
0.6 mi away
Oceans 2700 Hotel
Oceans 2700 Hotel
#65 of 109 in Virginia Beach
109 reviews
11.4 mi away
Red Roof Inn Virginia Beach
Red Roof Inn Virginia Beach
#46 of 109 in Virginia Beach
313 reviews
12.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#40 of 109 in Virginia Beach
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Schooner Inn
Schooner Inn
#43 of 109 in Virginia Beach
420 reviews
12.4 mi away
The Founders Inn and Spa
The Founders Inn and Spa
#13 of 109 in Virginia Beach
1,156 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sundial Inn Motel and Efficiency
Sundial Inn Motel and Efficiency
#56 of 109 in Virginia Beach
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 19 Atlantic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 19 Atlantic Hotel

Property: 19 Atlantic Hotel
Address: 203 19th St, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-3301
Region: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — 19 Atlantic Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your 19 Atlantic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel 19 Atlantic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing