We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“~ Great Place for the price”
Review of 19 Atlantic Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
19 Atlantic Hotel
Ranked #69 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Reviewed 28 July 2009

We just got back from our stay at Virginia Beach. After reviewing MANY hotels we chose 19 Atlantic Ave and were not disappointed! Our room booked at $125 a night....that was $150 less than staying 500 feet on the other side of the street (beach front). Literally we were a walk across the street from the beach. Rooms were small but if you are a beach person you are never in the room. Hotel was very clean, and security system at the front door was great...no riff raft let in the building! Room had microwave and frig. Nice Bathroom. And don't miss sitting on the roof top and watching the action below on the strip or looking out over the ocean. Only concern was the strip noise at night, but we were so exhausted that we fell right asleep and it never kept us awake. GREAT place for the price...definately would stay again!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BKFischer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (345)
There are newer reviews for 19 Atlantic Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

321 - 327 of 346 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2009

Although no window in room, we stayed 2 nights. Hotel is clean, staff was helpful when we asked questions. Bathroom in our room was bigger than described in other review. Does need shelf and hooks for hanging robes. Great location, near beach and many resturants. Very quiet.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ravenHicksville_ny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2009

This hotel was better than i expected especially for the price! The service was great (room was very clean). Only suggestion i have is to request a window otherwise the room can become claustrophobic. I stayed in a room w. a queen bed and, though not very spacious, was very comfortable. The hotel location is literally in the middle of all the action on "beach street USA" which is great if you don't want to do much driving while you stay. Tanning deck was also great to have and gave a nice view of the ocean.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hillyp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2009

We had to wait 45 minutes beyond the 4 p.m. check in time for our room to be clean. The front desk staff seemed very disorganized. Also, there were only 2 luggage carriers for the entire hotel so had to wait again for that. Once finally checked in, we appreciated the extremely small but clean room. After going out to dinner we had a very hard time sleeping in the room because the air conditioner was extremely noisy. Every two minutes or so there was a noisy buzzing sound. We complained in the morning to the manager and he offered us a free stay in the future. Not sure we'll take him up on that.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cathyjo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2009

Good: The bathroom was clean, The coverlet looked new.
Bad: The "suite" is two TINY rooms connected by a hall almost too narrow to roll a suitcase through; no sitting in the "sitting room". The windows were filthy. The toilet paper holder fell off the wall when touched.
THERE IS NOT PARKING available for over half of the guests. The back-up parking is two and a half blocks away. Even though parking is advertised, it is REALLY UNAVAILABLE.
The first floor is occupied by exotic piercing and fantasy weapon salon. (OK, maybe not a bad, but slightly weird.)
Much could be forgiven IF the staff were at all pleasant. NOT THE CASE. Having crossed the tiny lobby from 4-8 times a day for four days I was NEVER greeted, there was NEVER a smile. I mean it, STAY AWAY!!!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gahmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2009

19 Atlantic feels like an older property that has had some remodeling. We booked one of the "no window" rooms for the cheaper rate. We actually got a room with a window, but the window looked into an interior fire escape, brick wall, and wall air conditioning unit. At night, the lights from the fire escape were as bright as a noonday sun. Everytime I woke up through the night I thought the sun had risen and it was morning. The rooms are small, but everything was clean. The rooms do not have that sandy, grimy, salty feel that alot of hotels at the beach get. The room A/C worked very well and was extremely quiet. The beds were comfortable enough. Plenty of towels. The room had a mini refrigerator and full size microwave. Our room had a large closet. We peeked at the roof top patio, but the view to the ocean is obstructed by other buildings. The roof top patio would be a great place to sit at night and watch the action on the street though. The staff was friendly. The location of this hotel is perfect, if your not looking for ocean front views. I would recommend this hotel for couples, or families that don't need a lot of space.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tmb66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2009

When we first checked into our room we were given a room with no outside windows(our window looked into a stairwell). While the room was very nice, we just weren't able to not have sunlight in our room for a week stay! When we went back downstairs to request something with a window, our request was granted and we were put into a room with a view of Atlantic St. We were able to see the ocean from this room, and the room itself was very nice! The bathroom was a bit on the small side, but it was not a big deal. The room also had a fridge and a microwave, which was nice to have. The bath amenities were from Bath and Body Works. The best part of the hotel is the incredibly friendly and helpful staff! The GM, Santiago, was fantastic! The location of the hotel couldn't have been better! You're close to everything, just right across the street from the beach, and within a block of some great restaurants. The hotel did not serve breakfast, but they did have breakfast bars out by the coffee every morning. There is pretty limited parking next to the hotel, but they do have an offsite lot a couple blocks away if the hotel lot is full. There was no wifi when we stayed there, which was a bit of a problem since we were there for business. Also, there was a great rooftop area, but it wasn't furnished during our stay. We actually saw the truck bring the rooftop furniture in on the day of our departure, and we're sure it's very nice up there now. Beautiful view, for sure! If I was going to be in VA Beach again, I would absolutely stay at this hotel again!

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CaitlinK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
0.6 mi away
Oceans 2700 Hotel
Oceans 2700 Hotel
#63 of 109 in Virginia Beach
111 reviews
11.4 mi away
Red Roof Inn Virginia Beach
Red Roof Inn Virginia Beach
#44 of 109 in Virginia Beach
318 reviews
12.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#40 of 109 in Virginia Beach
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Super 8 Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Super 8 Virginia Beach Oceanfron...
#82 of 109 in Virginia Beach
214 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sundial Inn Motel and Efficiency
Sundial Inn Motel and Efficiency
#51 of 109 in Virginia Beach
198 reviews
0.6 mi away
Days Inn Virginia Beach at the Beach
Days Inn Virginia Beach at the B...
#49 of 109 in Virginia Beach
1,137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 19 Atlantic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 19 Atlantic Hotel

Address: 203 19th St, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-3301
Region: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Price Range: £47 - £169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — 19 Atlantic Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your 19 Atlantic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel 19 Atlantic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing