We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No, it's NOT being updated”
Review of Cavalier Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cavalier Hotel
Ranked #86 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
South Boston, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“No, it's NOT being updated”
Reviewed 12 August 2013

The hotel on the hill has been shut down because the management does not wish to maintain it. The hotel on the beach is potentially facing demolition, due to the owners being petty with each other. And hopefully it will shut down. The quality is crap. The service is crap. The TV sets on the sixth floor (the only modernized floor) are good - the rest are from the early 90s.

We have stayed here every year for almost two decades. This is the last year, for sure. Close your eyes and pick any hotel on the beach - it is almost guaranteed to be a better experience. This hotel is not worth the time, money, or frustration. Stay at the Hilton.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adchild314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    12
    22
    18
    18
See reviews for
42
17
1
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lorton, Virginia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

I traveled to the Cavalier with my family as part of a work conference I was attending. In theory, the Cavalier is GREAT for families. We stayed at the Cavalier on the Hill which has lots of character (beautiful building and grounds, and very old-school, tiled indoor pool). This part of the Cavalier is closing down for some MUCH needed updates (allegedly $40 million worth!). The rooms are tired, and the indoor pool is a bit rundown. That being said, where the conference were held at the hotel on the beach and were great. They put on a GREAT convention for us with delicious food, good drinks and lots of fun activities for adults and kids.

The staff was pleasant and helpful and the outdoor pool, restaurant, beach club, etc... were all fun and well-maintained. Until the hotel on the hill is updated, I still definitely recommend a trip to the beach-front property.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KPav22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

My family and I stayed at the (new) Cavalier on the ocean front. The room was clean but small. The microwave and refrig were in the closet. We had a room facing the northend of the resort strip which is the perfect facing when not upgrading to the ocean front room. You can still see the ocean and it has less buildings and more green space to view. There is a fee to park in the lot near the hotel but complimentry parking is located across the street on the grounds of the old Cavalier.The adult pool is big with a diving board and a kiddie pool is located beside it with the kids play area. There is also a half basket ball court located in the same area. Tennis courts and shuffle board courts are across the street on the grounds of the old Cavalier. The beach showers worked the first day we were there, but seemed to be turned off after that, so the kids ended up in the pool to get the sand off of them. This also meant there was nowhere to rinse off chairs & boogie boards, so we ended up tracking a lot of sand into the room, bathroom and balcony. Breakfast and lunch were expensive for what you got, even if was all you can eat. Golden Corral is bigger, better and cheaper. The hotel is located on the north end of the resort strip past the end of the boardwalk. There is a trolley stop across the street that can take you up and down the resort area. Wifi was available in the room but it seemed very slow.The arcade in the basement was small, it had a ping pong table and about six games. Also in the basement was the fitness center.

Room Tip: If you do not upgrade to an ocean front room, request a room with a north side view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BlueNebula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013

IDK who those people are that say the hotel is beautiful, nice, or anything close to it!! Especially since it is expensive as all. I'll start with the good first: it's oceanfront, play area for children, parking options, kiddie pool, responsive staff. The bad: everything else, I mean I'm no neat freak or anything like that. The first room I was in was awful and depressing, it was just plain bad, I felt like I rented a room in a crack house, but I went and they (without hassle) changed my room to a better one. It was better, but the refrigerator was looked like it hadn't been cleaned in weeks, the bathtub didn't look much better, hair in the sink. I mean, come on!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TB687
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfront/North 37th Street
Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfr...
#22 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 744 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront
0.4 mi away
Belvedere Beach Resort
Belvedere Beach Resort
#8 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Capes Hotel
Capes Hotel
#32 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
1.8 mi away
Alamar Resort Inn
Alamar Resort Inn
#66 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
1.0 mi away
Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfron...
#52 of 109 in Virginia Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 2,750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cavalier Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cavalier Hotel

Property: Cavalier Hotel
Address: 4200 Atlantic Ave, Oceanfront, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-2608
Region: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Virginia Beach
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Virginia Beach
#47 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Cavalier Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 400
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Cavalier Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cavalier Resort Virginia Beach
Cavalier Hotel Virginia Beach
Virginia Beach Cavalier Hotel Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing