We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming (pair) of hotels. Remodeling will make even better.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cavalier Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cavalier Hotel
Ranked #85 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Virginia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Charming (pair) of hotels. Remodeling will make even better.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013

We traveled with another couple to the oceanfront property. We also took a look at the old hotel on the hill (loved it). I would recommennd exchange priveldges between the two to increase popularity. The oceanfront property offers basketball, a courtyard for cornhole and a pond. It also offers outdoor pool and views. The old hotel on the hill is gorgeous old and historic with wonderful indoor pool. Both the hotels could use some vamping! The oceanfront hotel could use a hot tub and a nicer smelling gym/game room.

The positives:
The rooms were clean and offered wonderful ocean views in oceanfront property
The pond with fish in courtyard was a nice touch
The staff was very friendly and accomodating of two cars in lot
The location was quiet and relaxing

The cons
Really should remodel both hotels and offer exchange privledges.
The hotel smelt funny, especially in the game room and gym.


Overall really enjoyed this hotel and the walk over to check out the hotel on the hill.
Hope mangement can agree to keep both open with some remodeling.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank moorec4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    12
    22
    18
    18
See reviews for
42
17
1
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013 via mobile

Was made to believe that Cavalier is a historic hotel on the boardwalk. Felt more like it should be history. Glad it is slated for demolition. Mold on the ceiling of our room, no grab bars in bathroom, stains on bathroom walls, boardwalk two blocks away, wall seams coming apart, mattresses uncomfortable, dark hallways, etc...
Not someplace I would stay again with all the better choices available.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank grammie1998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
latrobe
Level Contributor
118 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

The property is an older building with connected areas for large parties, a pool, a bar and a deck.
If you have mobility issues there are 3 whole handicapped parking spaces. Don't wait on the free valet parking either. The front desk clerk(s) couldn't find them and after waiting for over 45 minutes for a valet to show up - the lot was full because of a convention and 2 weddings - I had someone follow me to the "overflow lot'', across 2 busy streets, so I could get back to the hotel safely.

The desk staff always seemed to have other things to do when people came up for information or assistance, but if one persisted in standing around long enough somebody would eventually come out to find out how to get rid of that person. I can't say I enjoyed my stay but it would have been far more enjoyable with a better front staff and working valet parking attendants.

The property is at the far northern end of the Beach area and nothing is within walking distance except the 7-11 back towards the area where all the stores, eateries and nicer hotels are.

The printed policy for linen change is DAILY unless otherwise requested. Actually, our linen was never changed during the entire stay - even with requests to housekeeping. A possible communication error over the phone using a room number or notifying the front desk.

Oh, and if you need a wake up call be sure to bring your own clock because the "automatic" wake up call system doesn't call, even though it says your wake time back to you.

There is a breakfast buffet for $8.95 and it's good. The serving staff were really nice, friendly and knew a lot about the area.

You can bet I won't be vacationing at the Cavalier again. My money has better places to be spent.

Room Tip: Most of the hotel is quiet so I'm guessing all the rooms are, also.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank armedinfidel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High Point, North Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

Nice,relaxing,had luxury feel to the hotel. My family enjoyed the history behind the hotel. Impressive how they have tried to keep the luxury to this old hotel. We're certainly grateful to be able to stay right before the demolition so we can stay afterwards to compare before and after. We're prepared for a wow factor once the hotel is reopened.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 91Jenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellicott City, MD
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

We stayed at the Cavalier over the Labor Day weekend, so, of course, it isn't going to win a high "Value" rating from us. Based on the reviews I read, I wasn't expecting a very nice hotel, but we were pleasantly surprised. Our room (on the 3rd floor) had a partial view of the ocean. The room was clean, except for some mildew in the shower area. Being so close to the ocean, it was understandably damp. Everything, including the A/C and Refrigerator, worked fine. The walls are apparently paper-thin, so we could hear what was going on in the next room. The towels were good. We did not eat at the hotel. The bellman was friendly, but not helpful. The front desk personnel were OK, but not impressive. The hotel was close enough to the high-activity areas for us, and the beach was extremely nice in this area. I would probably rate the hotel higher if I'd been paying off-season rates.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CW2S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

The general condition is that the hotel is worn out and poorly maintained. The beds were descent but our carpet was wet in spots and we could not figure out why. The hallways and elevators had no climate control. They charge $10 to park in their lot or they offer you free parking at the other location which is across a very busy street. They should just build the parking cost into the room charge. This is our first time staying here and we are not likely to return.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Whiteoak66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bn4md1
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2013

Staff were friendly and helpful, partial ocean view was unexpected and nice, room was clean although the bed spread was outdated polyester cover however the beds were reasonably comfortable, toilet and shower clean and in working order. We enjoyed the flat screen tv and small fridge. We also opted to pay the additional $10 for parking onsite vs across the street which turned out to be very convenient for our family with all of our beach gear.
Thumbs down on the Room Service which was catered by the restaurant downstairs the food wasn't very good. The following morning however took a risk and ultimately enjoyed the breakfast buffet from the same restaurant.

All in all, we would go back as it met our basic needs, it's ocean front, and we enjoyed the outdoor salt water pool.

Room Tip: Request partial ocean view if full ocean view is unavailable. The 10th floor is nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bn4md1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
0.4 mi away
Belvedere Beach Resort
Belvedere Beach Resort
#8 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfront/North 37th Street
Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfr...
#25 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 721 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Alamar Resort Inn
Alamar Resort Inn
#56 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sheraton Oceanfront Hotel
Sheraton Oceanfront Hotel
#28 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 932 reviews
1.0 mi away
Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfron...
#52 of 109 in Virginia Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 2,662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cavalier Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cavalier Hotel

Property: Cavalier Hotel
Address: 4201 Atlantic Ave, Oceanfront, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-2608
Region: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Virginia Beach
#46 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Cavalier Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 400
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Cavalier Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cavalier Resort Virginia Beach
Cavalier Hotel Virginia Beach
Virginia Beach Cavalier Hotel Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing