We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Revitalization needed”
Review of Cavalier Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cavalier Hotel
Ranked #83 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Great views,but this place is definitely showing its age. It is a shame that previous management did not maintain it. The tear down of the beach front property cannot happen soon enough. The service was adequate, but several staff members were clueless. Restaurant is a joke. Go somewhere nearby to eat your meals. Parking is a big challenge and can be frustrating during the weekend when busier.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that had already been renovated prior to the sale of the property. Even though not m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gracie92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (84)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

64 - 70 of 84 reviews

Reviewed 6 October 2013

Great beachfront location. Sadly, the property is in transition and under new ownersip. Staffing is inadequate and a number of rooms are not habitable. Restaurant and banquet service woeful; the few employees on staff are overwhelmed.

Room Tip: 10th floor and above seemed to have decent rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank William896
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

This review is for the Cavalier on the Oceanfront (not the Cavalier on the Hill, which is the 1920s brick building located, well, on the hill :).

We stayed here for three nights as part of a military reunion group. Our room (#624) was an oceanview, but very close to the ocean side of the hotel so the view from the private balcony was just excellent. Who wouldn't love hearing and seeing the waves breaking from your bed? The room was spotlessly clean and the two queen beds were very comfortable. Lots of towels, but strange shiny synthetic sheets.

The hallways proved that this is an older hotel .... long and dim hallways. But our room was on a renovated floor, and the room itself was quite satisfactory.

All rooms have a mini-fridge and a little microwave.

The front desk staff and valet parkers were also friendly and polite. I heard varying comments from members of our 250+ person group, but our experience was fine.

The restaurant was another story. Service was slowwwww ... but I think the hotel was overwhelmed by the number of guests at this time ... they were actually sold out for several consecutive days. I was told that on one day they held seven events: three weddings, two reunions, and two meetings. And there is definitely not enough staff for all of that! Our banquet dinner was good to pretty good food, super-slow service, with a lack of china and utensils. Our 10-top table had five coffee cups (wanna share?), and we were asked to use the same fork for salad, entree, and dessert. Now, I'm not the fussiest person, but after eating fish I'd prefer a new fork for my chocolate cake.

The elevators: one was possessed, I think. We hit the DOWN button and it went up. So we hit DOWN again ... the elevator slowed, hovered between floors, and then decided to descend. That was a strange experience and we avoided that particular elevator in the future. Others in our group told of similar experiences.

The Cavalier on the Oceanfront has been sold and is scheduled for demolition, to be replaced by a 20-story 5* hotel. The dates for this were murky at best, but with the superb oceanfront setting I'd bet the new hotel will be a big hit.

Room Tip: If you do not get an Oceanfront room (there are six on each floor), ask for an Oceanview that is nea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carol B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

We traveled with another couple to the oceanfront property. We also took a look at the old hotel on the hill (loved it). I would recommennd exchange priveldges between the two to increase popularity. The oceanfront property offers basketball, a courtyard for cornhole and a pond. It also offers outdoor pool and views. The old hotel on the hill is gorgeous old and historic with wonderful indoor pool. Both the hotels could use some vamping! The oceanfront hotel could use a hot tub and a nicer smelling gym/game room.

The positives:
The rooms were clean and offered wonderful ocean views in oceanfront property
The pond with fish in courtyard was a nice touch
The staff was very friendly and accomodating of two cars in lot
The location was quiet and relaxing

The cons
Really should remodel both hotels and offer exchange privledges.
The hotel smelt funny, especially in the game room and gym.


Overall really enjoyed this hotel and the walk over to check out the hotel on the hill.
Hope mangement can agree to keep both open with some remodeling.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank moorec4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013 via mobile

Was made to believe that Cavalier is a historic hotel on the boardwalk. Felt more like it should be history. Glad it is slated for demolition. Mold on the ceiling of our room, no grab bars in bathroom, stains on bathroom walls, boardwalk two blocks away, wall seams coming apart, mattresses uncomfortable, dark hallways, etc...
Not someplace I would stay again with all the better choices available.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grammie1998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

The property is an older building with connected areas for large parties, a pool, a bar and a deck.
If you have mobility issues there are 3 whole handicapped parking spaces. Don't wait on the free valet parking either. The front desk clerk(s) couldn't find them and after waiting for over 45 minutes for a valet to show up - the lot was full because of a convention and 2 weddings - I had someone follow me to the "overflow lot'', across 2 busy streets, so I could get back to the hotel safely.

The desk staff always seemed to have other things to do when people came up for information or assistance, but if one persisted in standing around long enough somebody would eventually come out to find out how to get rid of that person. I can't say I enjoyed my stay but it would have been far more enjoyable with a better front staff and working valet parking attendants.

The property is at the far northern end of the Beach area and nothing is within walking distance except the 7-11 back towards the area where all the stores, eateries and nicer hotels are.

The printed policy for linen change is DAILY unless otherwise requested. Actually, our linen was never changed during the entire stay - even with requests to housekeeping. A possible communication error over the phone using a room number or notifying the front desk.

Oh, and if you need a wake up call be sure to bring your own clock because the "automatic" wake up call system doesn't call, even though it says your wake time back to you.

There is a breakfast buffet for $8.95 and it's good. The serving staff were really nice, friendly and knew a lot about the area.

You can bet I won't be vacationing at the Cavalier again. My money has better places to be spent.

Room Tip: Most of the hotel is quiet so I'm guessing all the rooms are, also.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank armedinfidel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Nice,relaxing,had luxury feel to the hotel. My family enjoyed the history behind the hotel. Impressive how they have tried to keep the luxury to this old hotel. We're certainly grateful to be able to stay right before the demolition so we can stay afterwards to compare before and after. We're prepared for a wow factor once the hotel is reopened.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 91Jenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
0.8 mi away
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
#13 of 109 in Virginia Beach
2,042 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North
0.4 mi away
Sheraton Oceanfront Hotel
Sheraton Oceanfront Hotel
#41 of 109 in Virginia Beach
1,002 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suit...
#37 of 109 in Virginia Beach
567 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront
0.5 mi away
Ocean Beach Club
Ocean Beach Club
#68 of 109 in Virginia Beach
792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cavalier Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cavalier Hotel

Address: 4200 Atlantic Ave, Oceanfront, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-2667
Region: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Virginia Beach
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Virginia Beach
#48 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range: £202 - £422 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cavalier Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 400
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Marriott, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cavalier Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cavalier Resort Virginia Beach
Cavalier Hotel Virginia Beach
Virginia Beach Cavalier Hotel Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing