We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nightmare Hotel!!!”
Review of Cavalier Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cavalier Hotel
Ranked #85 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Christiansburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nightmare Hotel!!!”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

This hotel is definitely 1 star or less. The entire hotel was dirty, including all the rooms, lobbys, elevators, and bathrooms. We tried to get a refund the first day we stayed there, but they wouldn't let us. Some other people in our party had to change rooms THREE TIMES just looking for a clean and decent place to sleep in this hotel! The air conditioning is not good either - the entire hotel is humid and all the things in our room were wet the whole time we were there. One other person in our party actually woke up to dozens of bugs crawling on the walls as she slept! This hotel is a nightmare!!!!

Please do not stay here! It is a waste of time and money!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martino D, General Manager at Cavalier Hotel, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Thank you for your valuable feedback regarding your stay. I apologize for the unacceptable issues you experienced with our housekeeping which are not consistent with our standards, nor what our guests expect when staying at our property.

Your comments have been shared with our management and housekeeping teams and corrective action has been taken. We also welcome the opportunity to make this matter up to you. Please contact me at (757) 352-2762 so we can further discuss. Again, thank you for taking time to leave your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    12
    22
    18
    18
See reviews for
42
17
1
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
73 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

The price was excellent but it's far from where the action is.
The ac blows directly to the bed. Breakfast is average.
If you like to stay away from the center, then it is ok.
Parking in front is hard. Pool is ok and the beach is nice not too crowded as the boardwalk.

Room Tip: Away from action.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smartor2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martino D, General Manager at Cavalier Hotel, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback and for staying at the Cavalier Hotel. We hope you enjoyed your weekend and we appreciate your comments about our rates, continental Breakfast, pool and beach. I also appreciate your comments regarding the front lot parking you experienced during your stay. I have followed up with our to review our processes based on your feedback. Thank you again and we look forward to serving you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salem, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

This hotel was great..location excellent, staff very friendly, room very nice, etc. But there were a couple of hidden fees no one explained. One was the $7.50 per night fee to park on the premises that was not visible on the website until you have actually booked the room already, but you can park across the street at the top of the hill free. The other was the $25.00 incidental fees (Per day) added to our total after checkout (held from your account until they release the hold about 2-3 business days after checkout.) No one informed us of this additional hold at all until I called the hotel to question the amount being different than what we had been given a receipt for.

Room Tip: The rooms with the ocean views are nice, balcony not very private due to lighting and no sort of div...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank firemanswoman75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martino D, General Manager at Cavalier Hotel, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback and for staying with us at the Cavalier Hotel. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and we appreciate your kind comments about our friendly staff, nice rooms and great location. I also appreciate your comments regarding the parking charge as well as the incidental charge you experienced before and during your stay. I have follow up with our marketing and front office teams to review our processes based on your feedback. Thank you again for your comments and we look forward to serving you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frederickburg
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

We ended up booking this hotel through Hotwire last minute since everything was $299+ I have friends that have stayed at a Cavalier and were extremely disappointed. Well, for us that wasn't the case. Upon arrival I was greeted by a smiling face which is always a plus! The hotel was decent with the exception of the dirty air vents above the check in desk and the peeling wall paper. The rooms were very clean and the beds were exceptionally comfortable, the pool and property were always kept clean and tidy. Breakfast could use some improvements we stayed Friday through Monday and everyday they had the same thing; cantaloupe, green melon, with bits of pineapple, apples and oranges, yogurt, oats, milk and cereal, French toast (which was horrible tasting and crunchy), grits, and muffins. For free breakfast it's something to get you going. Overall it was a great stay and I would definitely recommend this hotel :)

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rocio C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martino D, General Manager at Cavalier Hotel, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback and for staying at the Cavalier Hotel. We are glad you enjoyed your stay an we appreciate your kind comments about our smiling faces at the front desk and the cleanliness of our pool and property. I also appreciate you comments regarding the dirty vents , wallpaper and the continental breakfast you experienced during your stay. I have followed up with our team to review our processes based on your feedback. Thank you again for your comments and we look forward to serving you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

The bathroom has mold, light fixtures did not work, TV did not work. Do not stay here! I would have done so much better for paying just 10 dollars more at the dhouble tree. They charge 7.50 for parking and the parking lot does not accommodate all of the residents.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Mo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martino D, General Manager at Cavalier Hotel, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Thank you for your valuable feedback regarding your stay. I apologize for the unacceptable issues you experienced with our housekeeping and maintenance which are not consistent with our standards, nor what our guests expect when staying at our property.

Your comments have been shared with our management and housekeeping teams and corrective action has been taken. We also welcome the opportunity to make this matter up to you. Please contact me at (757) 352-2762 so we can further discuss. Again, thank you for taking time to leave your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scranton, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

While the Cavalier Hotel lacks your typical thrill of a fancy new hotel, there is something about it that we love. We always get a room that overlooks that pool (saves you money and still gives you a view of the ocean) and we always seem to love the atmosphere.

They recently remodeled and updated some things as this was definitely necessary. This hotel is somewhere we've been coming for years and will continue to do so.

Be aware that this hotel is not on the boardwalk, but actually a few blocks away from it. Typically to get to the action you'll need to walk a good distance, ride the trolley that stops right in front of the hotel parking lot, or drive to a mid way parking lot.

Have fun!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HenryLabs10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martino D, General Manager at Cavalier Hotel, responded to this review, 17 May 2014
Thanks for taking time to leave us positive feedback about your stay at The Cavalier Hotel. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the view overlooking our pool and the ocean. Your kind comments will be shared with our team. We look forward to being of service to you during future visits to Virignia Beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Virginia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014

For now, don't bother. We were there in September and by now it may have even closed (Oceanfront Building, that is). I spoke with a rep from the new ownership group and he claimed the plan was to raze the building and build a "five star" resort. Let's hope so. It was clear they are spending no money on the place now. The room was awful (one of several remaining that have only had a partial renovation) with the refrigerator not working and a faulty alarm clock.

The room was clean enough but the rest of the building - not so much. The pool was still open but you'd never know it. About our third day there someone showed up to "clean" it and barely made a dent in the filth. The deck area was a mess too, with chairs in poor condition, etc. Getting service from the restaurant was almost as difficult as finding a clean chair.

The front desk staff was friendly enough but did absolutely nothing to remedy any issue I saw brought to their attention for our entire stay. I'm not certain what they're going to do with the Hotel on the Hill but I hope they don't let it go like the Oceanfront property. Time will tell.

Room Tip: Wait and see what is done with the property before booking here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SandKfromVa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfront/North 37th Street
Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfr...
#21 of 109 in Virginia Beach
753 reviews
1.0 mi away
Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfron...
#57 of 109 in Virginia Beach
2,786 reviews
0.4 mi away
Belvedere Beach Resort
Belvedere Beach Resort
#8 of 109 in Virginia Beach
471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
#12 of 109 in Virginia Beach
1,865 reviews
1.5 mi away
Capes Hotel
Capes Hotel
#29 of 109 in Virginia Beach
389 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sheraton Oceanfront Hotel
Sheraton Oceanfront Hotel
#27 of 109 in Virginia Beach
959 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cavalier Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cavalier Hotel

Property: Cavalier Hotel
Address: 4200 Atlantic Ave, Oceanfront, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-2608
Region: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Virginia Beach
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Virginia Beach
#47 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Cavalier Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 400
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Cavalier Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cavalier Resort Virginia Beach
Cavalier Hotel Virginia Beach
Virginia Beach Cavalier Hotel Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing