We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Barclay Cottage Bed and Breakfast
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The best!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

We have loved B&B's for a fair many years. And I told Marie-Louise and Steve that I was going to give them a horrible review, because I don't want anyone else to go there. That way when we want to we can :-) But since we won't be there for some time, and there place is so awesome, I have to give them 5 Stars for their place. Because I do want to return someday. Seriously, from the moment you arrive, you are family. So much so, that there is a good chance you'll get a hug, and handshake upon departing.

But seriously, this is a magnificent B&B with wonderful owners who care immensely about their clients. And have so many extras available at no charge. The bikes, and all the beach stuff (towels, chairs, umbrellas and even a cart) is available for you whenever you want to go. They truly are community based, and will refer you to whatever your inkling is for dinner that night. And super supportive of the locals businesses.

They have a wonderful porch on each floor, with hammock, swing, and comfy chairs. One night we ordered take out, just so we could sit on the patio and enjoy it.

You will not regret staying here, unless you like noise. No one under 18 allowed :-)

Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Goofypackfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marie-Louise L, Owner at Barclay Cottage Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 10 August 2013
Whew!!! I am glad you changed your mind and wrote a positive review! Just let us know when you're coming back and we'll save a room for you! Thank you for your kind words and for taking the time to write a review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    263
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
24
153
14
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013

My (now fiancé) and I stayed here for a week and enjoyed every moment there. I say "now fiancé" because I asked her to marry me one night at the cottage and she did say yes. Now that we have this memory tied in with all of the other amazing times we has while staying there, we will be sure to stay again and again.

One of my favorite things about staying here was the fact that we were both very comfortable during our entire visit and always felt like we were at home.

Also, the attention to detail is incredible and adds to the comfortability of this place. Steve and Marie-Louise also are always up for further suggestions as to make everyone's stay as special as they can.

The breakfast is some of the best I have ever had as well! It was always a joy wondering what the next delicious dish would be every morning.

I would also recommend purchasing one of the several cigars that they have to offer if you enjoy them.

I could keep going on and on about everything that we experienced and why we loved every moment of our stay, but all in all I very highly recommend staying at Barclays. Whether it is just for a couple night or a couple weeks, I guarantee you will never be even close to disappointment. We can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank butlerjt18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marie-Louise L, Owner at Barclay Cottage Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 30 July 2013
I am glad that you will always have the memory of getting engaged here at our inn. It honors us that you did this. Thank you for that. The hand rolled Barclay Cottage branded cigars are always a hit...smoking one while drinking Port or wine and rocking on the porch and watching the fireworks on Wednesday or Sunday night during the summer is an experience to have!!! Especially if you're with your fiancé!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013

Sometimes staying with relatives can be a pain.....but there are those golden times when it's perfect! You feel welcome and at home.....your hosts are willing to be helpful, but also willing to let you be when you want it. You go home feeling like you've gotten away....but not feeling like you spent time amongst strangers....this is what being at Barclay has always been like for my wife and I. You could not ask for more genuine and enthusiastic hosts. I must travel to Virginia Beach once each summer for business.....finding Barclay has transformed a necessary chore into a treasured travel tradition for us and something we look forward to eagerly for what has now been 7 visits to our "home on the beach".

Green Features: Low key but clear environmentally sound practices are evident throughout the business.
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Todd S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marie-Louise L, Owner at Barclay Cottage Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 25 July 2013
Sometimes having relatives visit can be a 'pain', too! We're lucky, though, because we get to pick the ones we want. Thanks for being our relatives 'of the heart'. We always look forward to welcoming you home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kissimmee, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013

My wife and I have stayed in VA Beach several times. Our initial visits saw us staying at a beachfront hotel. Our last few have been at the Barclay Cottage. It is just a couple of blocks off the beach, but light years ahead of what's available on the beach.

The Boardwalk area, with all its excitement, can be a bit noisy. The Barclay Cottage is a refuge. A couple of minutes walk, two blocks, from all the beach area offers. From the warm and heartfelt welcome, to the lovely rooms, amenities, and of course, the wonderful breakfast, I cannot see staying anywhere else.

As locals and long-term residents, Marie-Louise and Stephen LaFond have keen insights as to great places to eat, sights to see, or the Cottage is a place just to relax.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wjoconnor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marie-Louise L, Owner at Barclay Cottage Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 23 July 2013
"Refuge". That's a good word to describe what we strive for our guests. Many times, people are just fried from the their jobs, a long trip, the kids...whatever. We want to be that place where they come just to chill and take in the excitement...or just do nothing...it's all good and this is a good place to do either one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2013

Great place to stay. Innkeepers were very friendly and professional. They've created a home away from home with all the toys you might need for a beach day. We were basically passing through. So it was great to have access to beach towels, bikes, folding chairs, etc and we barely scratched the surface. Breakfast was delicious as promised and I enjoyed joining the family table in the morning and meeting the other guests. We were sadly only there for one night.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Epacopac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marie-Louise L, Owner at Barclay Cottage Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 20 July 2013
We are glad that our beach "toys" were helpful for you on your road trip. We've found that they are appreciated complementary amenity especially for folks on a trip where every stop is not a beach place and for those who are flying in or taking Amtrak (and even those who just don't want to pack all that stuff!!!). Thank you so very much for taking the time to write a review of your stay. I hope the rest of your trip was wonderful.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

After being at Barclay Cottage you just feel you HAVE to spend some minutes writing a review. Steve and Marie-Louise provide a superb example of how a B&B should be managed. Not only they have a constant attention to little, lovely details which will delight your stay as you will gradually discover them (the list of complimentary amenities never ends), but also they truly enjoy taking care of their guests.
ANYBODY WANTS TO START OR NEEDS TO IMPROVE A B&B SHOULD VISIT THEM TO LEARN SOMETHING. Regarding the warmth and grace they have, well... that has to be natural.
P.S. don't be afraid to take the room with share bathroom, it's so cozy there that you feel like you are at home: going from the room to the bathroom and vice-versa in a bathrobe comes spontaneous...

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank EuropeanTaste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marie-Louise L, Owner at Barclay Cottage Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 10 July 2013
This is just the sweetest! Thank you and we are glad you enjoyed your visit...we look forward to adding more 'little things' for you to discover next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sturbridge MA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2013

Our third stay at Barclay Cottage was, once again, as close to perfection as it could ever get! Steve and Marie-Louise provide wonderful quarters, a breakfast that is heaven-sent and a wealth of knowledge about the area. We'll never stay anywhere else in the Virginia Beach area, period!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank TKozy43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marie-Louise L, Owner at Barclay Cottage Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 1 July 2013
The very best part of owning this inn is welcoming back guests like you who become extended family and friends. Thanks for coming back again and for your sweet review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
12.2 mi away
The Founders Inn and Spa
The Founders Inn and Spa
#9 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,072 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
#12 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,815 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Westin Virginia Beach Town Center
Westin Virginia Beach Town Cente...
#28 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 642 reviews
11.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Virginia Beach - Norfolk
Holiday Inn Virginia Beach - Nor...
#37 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
1.4 mi away
Sheraton Oceanfront Hotel
Sheraton Oceanfront Hotel
#29 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 938 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barclay Cottage Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barclay Cottage Bed and Breakfast

Property: Barclay Cottage Bed and Breakfast
Address: 400 16th Street, Virginia Beach, VA 23451
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Barclay Cottage Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1895 Victorian Coastal Cottage located in historic residential neighborhood. Turkish towels, crisp linens, heavenly beds, spa robes, modern upscale amenities, gourmet breakfasts, beach towels and all beach gear, bicycles, many extras included in rates. 2 Blocks to the beach, and short walk to 20 restaurants, 3 museums, and fishing pier. A romantic alternative to high-rise hotel/motel lodging. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HRS so you can book your Barclay Cottage Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barclay Cottage b&b
Barclay Cottage Hotel Virginia Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing