We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Little Less than Average”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Days Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Ranked #25 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Herndon, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A Little Less than Average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2012

I stayed here this past weekend for two nights with my teenage daughter. The location is great; right in the middle of the busy section of Atlantic Avenue, and right on the boardwalk on the beach.
We checked in at about 9pm, and it was a little sketchy. There were no parking places left in front of the building, so after we checked into our room, we had to park in the satellite lot which is across Atlantic Avenue behind some stores (basically in an alley). That was a little scary for a woman and her daughter traveling without any men.
The check-in staff were very friendly and helpful. We stayed on the seventh floor. I did not like how the front side of the hotel is all glass; it basically looks like a motel with a glass wall in front of the room doors. But I did notice that there are other properties like that at the beach. In the hallways, there are exposed pipes on the ceiling, and the lighting is not very good. It periodically smelled bad in the hallways, and was always VERY hot.
Our room was a good size and had adequate amenities: two double beds, desk, large enough TV, table, chairs, refrigerator, microwave, and nice balcony overlooking the beach. The balconies are open on the sides, so you can basically see into the adjoining rooms if their curtains are open. Not private at all.
The room was fairly clean, though the bathroom floor was somewhat sandy (probably not uncommon for a beach property), and there was a large dead bug in the overhead light in the bathroom. The room had carpet in the middle, but tiling at both the door to the hall, and to the balcony. Water pressure was very low in the shower.
Continental breakfast was served (included in the price) each morning in an adequately-sized two-room area of the first floor. There was toast, muffins, small bagels, cream cheese, yogurt, apples and bananas, milk, juice, coffee, tea, and cereal. Nothing special, but definitely enough.
The property does have an indoor pool, but we did not use it. There is a large inflatable slide on the beach in front of the hotel.
The property definitely is in need of updating.

Room Tip: Upper floors room views are not obstructed by inflatable slide on beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marnie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

911 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    211
    362
    226
    72
    40
See reviews for
460
255
45
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2012

The hotel needs some major updating. The beds are uncomfortable and bathrooms just look dirty. The water pressure is horrible. The location is amazing and it was nice that we could just walk down to the beach. Loved all the shops everything within walking distance. Parking lot is small but they do have another one across the street. The breakfast is fine and the staff seemed friendly. Also has an indoor pool, needs updating though. Basically you pay for the location.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adeline752
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henrico, VA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2012

I stayed 3 nights the last week of June. This was my second time staying at this property and I was disappointed. The housekeeping staff did not clean my room the first night. I had to empty trash, make my bed and search for clean towels. When I informed the front desk they did not even care. They even hung up the phone in the middle of our conversation. The manager of the hotel called the next day and apologized but that did not make up for the rude staff that I encountered. The hotel is in a great location. It is a bit dated but it is clean and at the right price. I will look for other hotels the next time I return to the beach.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrownieLove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond VA
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2012

We stayed two nights. The second floor room showed signs of its age but was clean.The ocean view was partially obstructed by an inflatable slide (see photo). The loction was good as there was free entertainment in the park next door and we were close to top rated Tautog's restaurant. As seems to be so often the case with free breakfasts, the orange juice seemed diluted and we missed the waffle maker found in similar facilities. The staff was helpful and we were able to check on early..

Room Tip: Try for a higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2012

For starters, Matt at the front desk was AWESOME!!!! What a great experience. Rooms were nice and clean. But again what hooked me was the service. Everyone was there to help. It was like we were the only guests in the motel. If i was forced to complain about something it would be the size of their parking lot...although they do have another nearby.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drwambo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middleburg, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2012

We booked a room for one night at this hotel and wasn't sure what to think having stayed at several hotels at the beach. Most hotels do not have very pleasant staff and for the most part with so many people coming and going they are not the very accommodating. This Days Inn was exceptional. From the minute we arrived the front desk staff was incredibly polite and accommodating. Matt and Conrad were the best. I asked, knowing it would never happen, if we could check in early - 10:00am. We were told - absolutely! Matt said if it's ready we want you to check in and enjoy your stay! Not used to that!! Then he asked me how my drive down was and acted as if he really wanted to know. They made us feel like they wanted us to stay there.

The hall ways and stair wells are a bit unpleasant (odor in stairwell) so when we got off the elevator we weren't sure what to expect in the room. Another surprise - the room was spacious and clean with fridge and sink and microwave. While sitting on the balcony I overheard other guests commenting that "for a Days Inn this one was not bad"!

Bottom line - Great hotel, GREAT staff - from Matt and Conrad to all staff, good continental breakfast (it's a continental breakfast). Oh and when we wanted to check out and stay at the beach - I asked for a late check out and they said sure stay till noon and you can leave your car in the lot until 2-3 when you want to leave.

Would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 316Henry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edgewood, Maryland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2012

Decent priced, right on ocean front, spacious room, comfy bed, clean room and lobby. Friendly staff, good location, and free breakfast (with good coffee!) Indoor pool good for rainy days, but high in chemicals. Parking isn't great if you have to park in overflow lot. Close to 31st street (Laskin Road) and Walgreens across the street!

Room Tip: all are oceanfront!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ktg0709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
1.3 mi away
The Oceanfront Inn
The Oceanfront Inn
#19 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
1.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Oceanfront Virginia Beach
BEST WESTERN PLUS Oceanfront Vir...
#15 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,300 reviews
0.6 mi away
Schooner Inn
Schooner Inn
#45 of 109 in Virginia Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Comfort Suites Beachfront
Comfort Suites Beachfront
#10 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel
0.3 mi away
Ramada Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Ramada Virginia Beach Oceanfront
#31 of 109 in Virginia Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,895 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Property: Days Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Address: 2417 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-3203
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront 2*
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Days Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront Hotel Virginia Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing