We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, but not a PLUS facility.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus Oceanfront Virginia Beach
Ranked #15 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Long Beach Island, New Jersey
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great location, but not a PLUS facility.”
Reviewed 1 October 2012

My husband and I usually stay at Hilton/Hampton Inns, but they were both booked for the Neptune Festival. We chose the Best Western Plus because of it's description and a perfect location for all the festivities. Our room was clean but in much need of an updating. We stayed in room 712. The 'PLUS" description says, " modern amenities". The sink was in the entrance hallway which also included the 24" bar to hang your clothes. The toilet and tub were in a separate room just big enough to open the door. The toilet was loose and banged against the wall whenever getting up. The tub ceiling was in need of replacement, and just dingy in general. The restaurant/bar was in need of a good cleaning and better lighting. When they didn't have the ingredients to make a mojito we decided to go elsewhere. We didn't bother to use a discount coupon for dining. The breakfast was poor at best, greasy sausage,precooked steamed waffles, powdered scrambled eggs, and frozen danish that was cold and hard. They should take a few lessons from Hampton Inns/Hjlton on how to present a quality breakfast. Oh that's right, the owner of this hotel also owns the Hilton a few blocks over and the Gold Key properties we were asked to preview for purchase. Maybe he should invest in some time and visit this location to see for himself how much this property needs some attention. This is the second Best Western we have stayed at and both privately owned hotels were below average in quality and value.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank giulianogirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,358 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    479
    440
    247
    113
    79
See reviews for
633
398
37
75
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (267)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Traverse City, Michigan
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

Virgina Beach is very nice. After you get used to Jets flying by from 8:00a.m. to midnite. They are just protecting our Country Hotel is nice could use an update. Breakfast was good as long as you were there by 7:30am The staff very helpful & nice. Had a pretty good time lots to see & do.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank duseytc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

We stayed at the Best Western Hotel in Virginia Beach, June 25 - July 1, 2012. The hotel is divided into two sections one is across the street from the beach and the other is right on the beach. The location was excellent and the view was spectacular. The rooms were very spacious and included a microwave and refrigerator which was very convenient. The balcony overlooked the beach broadwalk and the beach and in the afternoon we had shade, ocean breeze and the amazing view. We had breakfast included and it offered a pretty decent variety plus it also had hot items like eggs, bacon and sausage. It also included free parking, but most of the time the parking spaces in front of the hotel were taken and we had to park across the street in a garage owned by the hotel. The staff was friendly and willing to assist always, however they were understaffed and a little overwhelmed at times, specially the those in charge of housekeeping. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alanis628
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2012

wanted to get away for a few days, wasnt sure where to stay, wrote down a few hotel names, numbers and rates...when we drove into vb about 11:00am, looked at best western, looked clean, was on the beach...went to the front desk.
I met morgan who was very helpful and answered my questions....they had a hot breakfast every morning with scrambled eggs, sausage and waffles, endless coffee pot, and all the rooms on the ocean side had balconies....
sheets were crisp and smelled fresh, bathrooms were also clean. Had a great stay, viewed the ocean from the balony, would highly recommend this place, extremely well centerally located. Saw dolphins in the water, military jets also fly overhead doing there menouvers three at a time.....it began to rain so I took a swim in the indoor pool....was not able to use the outdoor pool....didnt have time......was a great stay, highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: be sure to book the "ocean side"...some hotels have buildings on both sides of atlantic av...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rainbowribbon2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lanoka harbor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2012

We went for Labor Day, I thought the people were nice the room was clean and we plan on going back again for 4th of July and Labor Day again. Loved the balcony, breakfast needs improvement, dont get there too late or you will wait in line.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
2 Thank lucy1961LanokaHarbor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2012

Have stayed at the Best Western several times over the last few years and they never fail with great service, clean rooms, friendly cleaning staff, reasonable rates and a great breakfast, ice cream shop with hot dogs and plenty parking on site. Can't ask for much more than that! :)

Room Tip: Every room has a GREAT oceanfront view! :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank OceanBrze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2012

I just stayed here with my mom and my daughter in late August looking for a couple of days to relax at the beach. This place is by far the worst "hotel" that I have ever stayed in. The room was tiny and filthy! The beds are listed as "double", but 2 normal sized people can not sleep comfortably. Not to mention that the room is so small that there is barely any room to move. Although our room was ocean front, it is so far back from the ocean that you might as well have been across the street.
Don't be fooled by the photos, the outdoor pool is across the street behind the hotel and the indoor pool is about as big as a large jacuzzi tub.
The food is terrible and even though free breakfast is included, you have to wait in line for an eternity to get cereal, fake eggs and waffles that are about a week old.
None of the ice makers in the whole hotel worked. Multiple people complained, but nothing was ever done. That combined with the lack of air conditioning in any of the common areas except the lobby make you think that they do this to save money.
When you walk into the room, the first thing you see is the sink. The bathroom (or should I say closet) was just to the left of the sink. The bathroom is so small that they can only fit the tub and the toilet in it. Needless to say, it made moving around in there with the door shut very difficult.
There is absolutely no parking. I was told by the person at the front desk just to do the best I could to find a spot. There are a few spaces next to the main entrance and then they have a "parking garage" across the street that is so small only compact cars can fit. Not to mention that they even have a building with additional rooms right next to the parking garage and the outdoor pool. Thank goodness I didn't get stuck in one of those rooms.
The final straw were the jets going over the hotel in endless succession. It made any relaxing at the beach nearly impossible.
This hotel is truly terrible...for service, value, quality, cleanliness, location, etc. Do not stay here!

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else...probably the Hilton up the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank melani_no_e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
1.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
#2 of 109 in Virginia Beach
590 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
#13 of 109 in Virginia Beach
1,867 reviews
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfront/South
Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfr...
#12 of 109 in Virginia Beach
835 reviews
0.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Beachfront
Comfort Suites Beachfront
#6 of 109 in Virginia Beach
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Oceanfront Virginia Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Oceanfront Virginia Beach

Property: Best Western Plus Oceanfront Virginia Beach
Address: 2809 Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-3029 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Oceanfront Virginia Beach)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Virginia Beach
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
#27 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Oceanfront Virginia Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN PLUS at the Oceanfront offers several types of accommodations to choose from. Our non-smoking hotel has stunning views from the private balconies of our oceanfront rooms overlooking the boardwalk. Easy beach access is also available from our adjacent non-oceanfront room location across the street which features double-size beds as well as eight two-room suites with one queen bed. All rooms include microwaves, refrigerators, coffee makers and complimentary wireless internet service for your added convenience. Complimentary breakfast is also included in as well! Please note: One parking space is available per reserved room. We hope you will come and experience a wonderful vacation with us soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Plus Oceanfront Virginia Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Oceanfront Virginia Beach Hotel Virginia Beach
Best Western Virginia Beach
Virginia Beach Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing