We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Girls weekend in VA Beach -- Recommend Oceanfront rooms only!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus Virginia Beach
Ranked #17 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 May 2013

My friend and I just returned from a girls weekend in Virginia Beach. We were looking for a budget friendly, CLEAN, centrally located hotel on the oceanfront. When we arrived at the Best Western we received an amazing warm welcome from Morgan. She is an awesome employee and always chatted with us when she saw us throughout the long weekend. Morgan upgraded us to an oceanfront room and all I can say is THANK GOD! The non ocean front side was across the street and looked like a run down motel. On the other hand our ocean front room was on the 8th floor and had a balcony which overlooked the boardwalk and the beach...amazing view!

This hotel is very basic, but if you are on the upper floors of the oceanfront side I can say it was very clean. I wouldn't recommend the pool or the gym as neither seemed very clean / the gym could use some upgraded equipment and free weights. Overall this was a great place to stay on a budget and definitely one of the better hotels in Virginia beach. If you are looking for a hotel with more amenities absolutely stay at the Hilton down the street! Plus it's an awesome hang out even if you aren't staying there.

Room Tip: OCEANFRONT ONLY! Try to get a room on the 8th floor - very clean and awesome views of the ocean!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bridget337
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,518)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,277 - 1,283 of 1,518 reviews

Reviewed 19 May 2013

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Sandra B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 16 May 2013

My family stayed here in April. Check in was easy, we got a good parking spot out front.
When we walked into our room the view was fantastic!!! All I could see was ocean which is exactly what I came to see.
Breakfast was good although one morning the restaurant was so busy we waited in line for a long time and had trouble getting a seat. The other days there were no line ups at all.
The only real complaint I have is that one of the criteria I had when booking was Wifi and it wasn't working well. It was very slow and would just cut out completely and front desk just said they'd reboot it, but it never got better. After reporting it 3 times they just said there's nothing they can do.
There are tons of restaurants around within walking distance
All in all, it's a nice hotel on an amazing beach with incredible views.

Room Tip: Get an ocean front room!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mboyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2013

We went to see our children and Grandchildren in Washington we stayed there for 5 days then we motored to Virginia Beach. The hotel gave us a great walk-on rate and the room was excellent. We booked for 3 days and stayed 6.

Great Beach,the only problem was the weather. It was very windy and a bit cold. We need to checkoutthe weather next time b4 we go.

We took a coupleof trips whilstwe were there, the first was through the two Chesapeake tunnels and to I thinkthe town was Charles Town Opposite from Cheriton. Great coffee place to visit there.

We also went back to Colonial Williamsberg the next day, the last timewe were there was in 1980 with our 2 little girls at that time,now they are both married and we have 4 fab little Grandchildren.

Room Tip: A room with a King Bed is always good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank loretta-brian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Older place but everthing in my room was in good condition. Flat screen TV, room was clean and comfortable bed. HVAC system was a little noisey when it started but other than that it was ok.

This hotel has sort of unusal arrangement with all King & double rooms on the oceanfront and the queen rooms are not oceanfront and are actually on the other side street. It's really like 2 hotels. There is limited parking (which is normal for beach properties) but they also have parking across the street.

One thing that strikes me as petty though is when I checked out there was a $1 charge for the in room safe - really? I guess I'm lucky they didn't charge for the coffee maker and hair dryer.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RLCarmichael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2013

The service was fantastic, people in the hotel very welcoming and nice. The ac in the room wasn't working, was blowing hit air even when shut off. But fixed right away when I called it to their attention. I stay 2 nights, both nights I saw a cockroach. Wasn't happy about it

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Claudia O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2013

Ok this had to be the worst experience ever. You get to the hotel, and there is no place to park. Their parking lot is located across the street, not in the hotel. (They had a few spaces in front but they were all taken). So then you go through the hallways to get to the elevator, and there is no air conditioning in the halls. It was hot, humid, stuffy and smelly, besides in dire need of new paint and rugs. So we get to our room, which was kind of small but okay. The ocean views were nice, and probably the best part of this place. Then we go into the bathroom! It was the size of a closet. There was no SINK in the bathroom. It is located outside of the bathroom so if you use the facility, you have to leave the room to wash your hands (unsanitary I think). Then we decide to go to the pool. We find out the pool is not located at the hotel, but across the street. Small pool with no restroom facilities or refreshments available. If you want a drink or need to use the bathroom, you have to go back across the street. Ridiculous. Never will go here again. Staff was sourpusses, the restaurant had a limited menu and terrible service (half hour to get a sandwich at lunchtime). Don't waste your money here.

Room Tip: Ask for an oceanfront view otherwise don't even bother.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank P R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
1.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
#13 of 109 in Virginia Beach
2,021 reviews
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
#1 of 109 in Virginia Beach
631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Beachfront
Comfort Suites Beachfront
#3 of 109 in Virginia Beach
450 reviews
0.0 mi away
Econo Lodge on the Ocean
Econo Lodge on the Ocean
#4 of 109 in Virginia Beach
503 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Virginia Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Virginia Beach

Address: 2809 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-3029 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Oceanfront Virginia Beach)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Virginia Beach
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
#27 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range: £58 - £208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Virginia Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN PLUS at the Oceanfront offers several types of accommodations to choose from. Our non-smoking hotel has stunning views from the private balconies of our oceanfront rooms overlooking the boardwalk. Easy beach access is also available from our non-oceanfront rooms, which are located across the street from our hotel, in a 3-story motor-inn style building with exterior corridors. Non-oceanfront rooms feature double-size beds as well as eight two-room suites with one queen bed. All rooms include microwaves, refrigerators, coffee makers and complimentary wireless internet service for your added convenience. Complimentary hot breakfast buffet is also included as well! Please note: One parking space is available per reserved room. We hope you will come and experience a wonderful vacation with us soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Best Western Plus Virginia Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Oceanfront Virginia Beach Hotel Virginia Beach
Best Western Virginia Beach
Virginia Beach Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing