We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noise Tolerance”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus Oceanfront Virginia Beach
Ranked #15 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Noise Tolerance”
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Overall hotel quality, friendliness and amenities are more than ample. Parking (even in annex facility) always a problem but front desk staff go out of their way to accommodate...and do satisfy. Before booking suggest check out ongoing beachfront activities! For me there was too much noise. My trip was to meet up with old friends and a sister. Due to time of year and weather forecast I knew we would not "be on the beach blanket" and had planned to enjoy jamming in room and balcony to enjoy the atmosphere and view. But because of an outdoor music extravaganza booming over loud speakers from Noon to 11 o'clock could not use my room or balcony to sit and enjoy conversation and view. Even with room door closed, it sounded as if there was an intercom playing in the room! So we had to go down the boardwalk quite aways to another restaurant or beach area to enjoy. I felt as if I did not get any dollar value on the cost of the room nor use of amenities.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bwvabeach, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Oceanfront Virginia Beach, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Thank you for your review of the Best Western PLUS Oceanfront Virginia Beach. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. You have shared a great tip! Starting in May and throughout the summer until September, Virginia Beach is the host of many festivals here on the oceanfront. Be sure to check with the Visitors Center for any events that may be happening during your stay. You were visiting during Beach Music Weekend which brings in lots of people, fun and music to the Virginia Beach oceanfront. The Best Western PLUS Oceanfront loves repeat guests so we cannot wait until your return stay. Take care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,360 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    479
    442
    247
    113
    79
See reviews for
635
398
37
75
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (267)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Lyon, MI
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014 via mobile

This hotel is fine -- it was clean with parking and a free breakfast. It's a great location, I was really glad to get an oceanfront room for such a reasonable price, and all the staff I dealt with we're very friendly.

But I can't say much more than "fine". The A/C in my room didn't work very well, so everything I had was damp by the time I left. The decor needed updating, the mattress was worn, the breakfast was a typical hotel breakfast.

There are probably nicer places to stay in VA Beach, and you might be able to find a better deal if you do some research. This is a perfectly good place, but you do get what you pay for.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrea1018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bwvabeach, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Oceanfront Virginia Beach, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave your review on the Best Western PLUS Oceanfront here in Virginia Beach. We appreciate your patronage and hope you will consider staying with us in the future so we can provide exceptional customer service to you and your family. Take care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

the employees were THE best. so helpful and friendly. everyone from housekeeping to the front desk staff went above and beyond their call of duty. the breakfast buffet was good for a buffet. i tend to stay from buffets no matter where i am, be it eating near home or away but, the link sausages were the best ever! and the food was at a good temperature, not cold like most buffets. i liked that they had whole oranges and apples not just the juice. it was clean. no place will ever be clean enough for me, but i will return to this hotel in november (already made the reservations) so that says a lot from me about the cleanliness.

Room Tip: stay low if you want wi fi service. if you want the beautiful view - go HIGH! :O)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank infobabe1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bwvabeach, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Oceanfront Virginia Beach, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave your wonderful review on the Best Western PLUS Oceanfront in Virginia Beach. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your non-oceanfront room. All of our non-oceanfront rooms, which are a total of 48, are located directly across Atlantic Avenue in our separate building with no view. Our main building here on the boardwalk side of Atlantic Avenue hosts all of our oceanfront rooms, which are a total of 166, which face the ocean with a private balcony. We cannot wait for your return stay. The Best Western PLUS Oceanfront loves repeat guests! Take care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampton, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 May 2014

I thought the overall hotel was nice. We stayed across the street from the Oceanfront rooms and it was located inside of a parking garage. This I was not too fond of. There is no view but parked cars outside of your room, kind of noisy. The room was nice inside though and beds comfortable. The indoor and outdoor pool was very nice as well. I say spend the extra 40-60$ to stay on oceanfront. I know I will.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bwvabeach, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Oceanfront Virginia Beach, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave your wonderful review on the Best Western PLUS Oceanfront in Virginia Beach. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your non-oceanfront room. All of our non-oceanfront rooms, which are a total of 48, are located directly across Atlantic Avenue in our separate building with no view. Our main building here on the boardwalk side of Atlantic Avenue hosts all of our oceanfront rooms, which are a total of 166, which face the ocean with a private balcony. We cannot wait for your return stay. The Best Western PLUS Oceanfront loves repeat guests! Take care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linwood, PA, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 May 2014

When we checked in they had a crazy line due to the computer would not allow the staff to apply the rooms to the reservation. Very Frustrating after a 6 hour drive. Then our keys stopped working all weekend around check out & check in time. Our sick was OMG extremely slow to drain. And not to mention our microwave did not work & they had to bring a new one that took awhile. And when asking for extra towel and what not it just took awhile for them to bring.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Jolene B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bwvabeach, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Oceanfront Virginia Beach, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Thank you for leaving your review on the Best Western PLUS Oceanfront Virginia Beach. We appreciate you staying with us during the busy Virginia Beach Cheerleader Finals. Please accept our apologies about the microwave and your keys not working. We have our maintenance department fully staffed on special events such as this one to be sure each guest issues are taken care of immediately. Be sure to visit us on your return back to Virginia Beach. We love repeat guests! Take care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rome, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Room was very clean and there was not any noise by neighbors. The bed was comfortable and had a clean comforter. The continental breakfast was fresh and hot. They served scrambled eggs, sausage, waffles, and different items during week. The pool was heated. The hotel was easy to get to and close to restaurants and shops

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
2 Thank Chad P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bwvabeach, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Oceanfront Virginia Beach, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Thank you for your review on the Best Western PLUS Oceanfront here in Virginia Beach. Thank you for nominating us "Best on the Beach." ;-) Thank you for spreading the word to fellow TripAdvisor users that our hotel is clean, comfortable and guest friendly. We cannot wait for your return stay with us! We love repeat guests. Take care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia beach, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

This hotel is a great place for the family vacation. Its breakfast is luxury, but you have to get up early to avoid the long waiting line. It will offer the spacious room if you stay longer. The speed of Wi-Fi is not so fast and you have to connect it frequently-that's quiet annoying.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
3 Thank Cheng-Hsien W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bwvabeach, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Oceanfront Virginia Beach, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Thank you and your family for spending time with us here at the Best Western PLUS Oceanfront in Virginia Beach. Families are important to us and we take pride in being a family oriented business. Please accept our apologies about the wireless internet. This has been brought to the attention of the General Manager and will be investigated for repair. We look forward to your return stay. We love repeat guests! Take care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
1.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
#2 of 109 in Virginia Beach
590 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
#12 of 109 in Virginia Beach
1,867 reviews
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfront/South
Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfr...
#14 of 109 in Virginia Beach
835 reviews
0.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Beachfront
Comfort Suites Beachfront
#6 of 109 in Virginia Beach
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Oceanfront Virginia Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Oceanfront Virginia Beach

Property: Best Western Plus Oceanfront Virginia Beach
Address: 2809 Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-3029 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Oceanfront Virginia Beach)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
#11 Business Hotel in Virginia Beach
#27 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Oceanfront Virginia Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN PLUS at the Oceanfront offers several types of accommodations to choose from. Our non-smoking hotel has stunning views from the private balconies of our oceanfront rooms overlooking the boardwalk. Easy beach access is also available from our adjacent non-oceanfront room location across the street which features double-size beds as well as eight two-room suites with one queen bed. All rooms include microwaves, refrigerators, coffee makers and complimentary wireless internet service for your added convenience. Complimentary breakfast is also included in as well! Please note: One parking space is available per reserved room. We hope you will come and experience a wonderful vacation with us soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Plus Oceanfront Virginia Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Oceanfront Virginia Beach Hotel Virginia Beach
Best Western Virginia Beach
Virginia Beach Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing