We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEWARE OF THE NON OCEAN VIEW ROOMS!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus Oceanfront Virginia Beach
Ranked #16 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“BEWARE OF THE NON OCEAN VIEW ROOMS!!!”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

If you are not in an ocean view room you will have to stay across the street from the property in a 3 story dump with a metal roof, very thin walls and rundown/dirty rooms. We were put in a rooms 339 & 340. It was necessary for anyone on the 3rd floor to tromp past our room at all hours of the day and night. The metal roof sounded like it was going to fall on our heads whenever it rained. The walls are very thin to say the least. The car traffic in the adjacent parking structure was constant as well.It was impossible to sleep. We could not open our curtains because of the constant human traffic. The staff at check in and check out were rude to say the least, after the 2nd night of zero sleep we asked to be moved. We were first told there were no rooms, then we were offered rooms 3 doors down. The rooms themselves were a sad site. The kitchenette is a joke and their idea of housekeeping was to make the bed and a quick vacuum. Nothing was ever restocked. If you are looking for a complimentary breakfast, the early bird gets the worm and it is over promptly at 9:55.To say the least we were more than disappointed with this property.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MARK K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bwvabeach, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Oceanfront Virginia Beach, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the Best Western PLUS Oceanfront here in Virginia Beach. Just a reminder to all guests; all of our non-oceanfront rooms are located directly across the street (Atlantic Avenue) in our separate building with open corridors and no view. The non-oceanfront rooms are connected to our parking garage which is where all of our additional parking is housed. There are a total of 48 rooms that are non-oceanfront. This information is provided on our Best Western website as well as on all third party booking websites. Thank you for the post so other fellow TripAdvisor users are aware that all of our non-oceanfront rooms are located directly across the street. Also don’t forget that all guests are recommended to contact the hotel directly to verify their reservation. The Best Western PLUS Oceanfront Virginia Beach does not want any guest to be confused before, during or after their stay with us. Take care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,328 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    471
    424
    244
    110
    79
See reviews for
616
390
37
74
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (264)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

This was our second trip to Virginia Beach and also staying at Best Western plus. Upon arriving check in was crazy but the front desk staff did a wonderful job of handing the crowd. Every staff member we came across was friendly and outgoing. The view from the balcony is amazing and being right on the ocean is a plus. We also had a remodeled room which was a bonus. Having an indoor pool and an outside pool is a plus. Parking can be alittle crazy but if you dont mind crossing the street and being patient its not a problem. Make sure to try Sweet Frog which is across the street. Yum.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shoey99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bwvabeach, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Oceanfront Virginia Beach, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Thank you for your review of the Best Western PLUS Oceanfront Virginia Beach. We appreciate you always coming back to stay with us. Thank you for the wonderful comments on our staff. We take great pride in providing excellent customer service to all of our guests. Be sure to visit us on your THIRD trip back to Virginia Beach. The Best Western PLUS Oceanfront is now your “home away from home.” Take care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We stayed 4 days on a quick family trip and had a good time. I stay in all kinds of hotels for business and leisure, and I think you have to compare the hotel to others of a similar price in the area. Basically, it was a clean room in a good location for a reasonable rate for a family trip. If you're picky, then it's probably not for you but you're going to have to pay more somewhere else. There were definite pluses. The staff was friendly. The location was good--it is fairly central on the boardwalk (definitely stay beachside and not across the street) and we watched the fireworks from the balcony. The rate was reasonable compared to the area, and the room was clean. There was free wi-fi that was adequately quick and free breakfast. The beds were pretty comfortable. The room had a small microwave and refrigerator. They had a friendly concierge who recommended good places to eat and things to do. As for the minuses, the hotel is showing its age. The room was small, particularly the bathroom, which had just enough room for the toilet and tub/shower. There was chipping paint and some other minor similar maintenance issues, but, again, the room was clean. We never did find a good spot to plug in/use the coffee maker. The elevators were slow, and there were only a few luggage carts. Our biggest complaint was the breakfast quality and selection. The fresh fruit was limited to small oranges and red delicious apples. Everything else was pretty bland. It was fine for a day or two but got old by the third day. Most of these were minor issues to us, and did not affect our enjoyment of our trip (we spent most of our time on the beach and out of the hotel), and frankly were kind of expected given the room rate, but they might matter more to other people.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 30mark30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bwvabeach, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Oceanfront Virginia Beach, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave your review of the Best Western PLUS Oceanfront here in Virginia Beach. We appreciate you sharing what a great time you had while staying here with us. The fireworks are amazing to watch from your balcony during the summer months! Your details involving our location and amenities are spot on and we love that you shared this information. Thank you for staying with us and we cannot wait until your return trip back to Virginia Beach. The Best Western PLUS Oceanfront loves repeat guests! Take care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
baden, United States
1 review
Reviewed 8 July 2014

The staff at the hotel was more than helpful. The room was clean and comfortable. We had an excellent view from our room. Just steps away from the beach. The board walk did not have much to offer for us, but the hotel was great and very clean

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Johnnette S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bwvabeach, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Oceanfront Virginia Beach, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave your review of the Best Western PLUS Oceanfront here in Virginia Beach. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Be sure to spread the word to friends and family that you enjoyed your visit so they too can enjoy a great stay when they come to Virginia Beach. Take care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

I've stayed at Best Western PLUS hotels before and never had an experience like this one. The only plus of this hotel is the location, the fact that it is a beach front property. That is it.
This hotel is ridiculously expensive for what it is. The rooms are small and very outdated. There was spills on the walls, and stains all over the carpet. The staff was rude, with the exception of three people: 1. the concierge, who was a super nice guy, eager to help and gave us great tips, 2. our cleaning lady who was always happy, and smiling; and 3. One of the ladies at the front desk, her name was Jessica who was also nice and helpful. The rest of the staff were the complete opposite; they seemed inconvenienced every time we spoke to them.
The pools are a joke. The hotel is in serious need of a major remodel.

Room Tip: Pick a room at a different hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank caroayala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bwvabeach, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Oceanfront Virginia Beach, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave your review of the Best Western PLUS Oceanfront here in Virginia Beach. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future. Take care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pa
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Not a bad motel for they money and oceanfront. Great breakfast and friendly people. Had a great stay! The parking is cramped and normally had to park across the street in parking garage. The plus to that was it was out of the sun. The indoor pool needs heated, but otherwise, good motel for the price.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank hollywood23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bwvabeach, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Oceanfront Virginia Beach, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Thank you for leaving a review of the Best Western PLUS Oceanfront here in Virginia Beach. Thank you for the compliments on our staff and our amenities. We make every attempt to be sure our guests are fully taken care of while here with us. Our additional parking is located in our parking garage that is directly across the street (Atlantic Avenue.) The indoor pool is seasonally heated so during the summer months, the heat is off. Be sure to visit us during the winter months and the indoor pool will be heated to your comfort. Thank you so much for staying with us and we cannot wait until your return stay! Take care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Very nice and professional staff: every single one of them were friendly and helpful. Great location on Virginia Beach, steps from Neptune along the boardwalk, very central location. Room was very clean and the bed was surprisingly comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Amy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
1.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
#2 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Oceanfront Inn
The Oceanfront Inn
#21 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
0.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Beachfront
Comfort Suites Beachfront
#6 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Oceanfront Virginia Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Oceanfront Virginia Beach

Property: Best Western Plus Oceanfront Virginia Beach
Address: 2809 Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-3029 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Oceanfront Virginia Beach)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Virginia Beach
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
#11 Business Hotel in Virginia Beach
#27 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Oceanfront Virginia Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN PLUS at the Oceanfront offers several types of accommodations to choose from. Our non-smoking hotel has stunning views from the private balconies of our oceanfront rooms overlooking the boardwalk. Easy beach access is also available from our adjacent non-oceanfront room location across the street which features double-size beds as well as eight two-room suites with one queen bed. All rooms include microwaves, refrigerators, coffee makers and complimentary wireless internet service for your added convenience. Complimentary breakfast is also included in as well! Please note: One parking space is available per reserved room. We hope you will come and experience a wonderful vacation with us soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Oceanfront Virginia Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Oceanfront Virginia Beach Hotel Virginia Beach
Best Western Virginia Beach
Virginia Beach Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing