We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Oceanfront Virginia Beach

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Oceanfront Virginia Beach
Ranked #16 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very nice!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2009

We stayed in this hotel the weekend of March 20-22. We were in Virginia Beach to race the Shamrock 8K and Half Marathon. When booking our hotel we were looking for a hotel that was reasonable, close to the start and finish line of the races, and had a restaurant attached to it. We opted for a room with a Jacuzzi and I am glad we did.. what a great stay. The room was really clean, the décor pleasing, and the service friendly.

The parking spots are insanely small so if you have a truck or suv.. be aware if someone parks next to you.. YOU WILL NOT be able to get in your vehicle.. honest! But other than that we found we LOVED this hotel and most definitely will be back again next year.

We ate every meal in the Angelo’s Restaurant which offered tasty pasta specials each night.. make sure you get there before 5:30pm for the special price.. they also had a fantastic breakfast buffet each morning until 10.. we ran the races, were back in our hotel (because it was so close to finish), showered and down at breakfast for the buffet each morning!

There was PLENTY of hot water for the Jacuzzi… which was a definite treat since it was soo cold weather wise out. The room temperature controls were self regulated so you could determine how hot or cold you wanted your room. The sound proofing seemed great.. we didn’t hear a lot of noise from other guests except the occasional slamming of a door..s me of the hotel room doors were heavy and slammed shut if someone didn’t close them gently. Our room seemed spacious and had a nice little balcony in which we could view the ocean.

The wireless internet was included in room price which was a great treat and it worked splendidly. The maid service was friendly. The indoor pool was warm… (they stated temp was 90 degrees)... but there was not a separate hot tub.. they did have a “hot tub” in the pool but since it was in the pool it was not as warm as a normal hot tub would be on the muscles.. still very nice but not very therapeutic.

We were within walking distance of everything.. the start and finish of the races. And right on the beach. Make sure you get an ocean FRONT room.. as those are the best!

Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank PennsylvaniaJean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,277 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    446
    411
    237
    106
    77
See reviews for
595
380
35
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (257)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aiken, SC
Level Contributor
69 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2009

We just spent two nights 2/5-6/09 while we were visiting our Navy son and his family. The room was adequate but nothing near the quality of the ones we stayed in in California a few years ago. The beds were hard. The bathroom area was small with only a very small sink and counter. The bathroom door was starting to split at the bottom. Towels were very adequate for the two of us. The heat was a nightmare. It was 16 degrees the first night, but we had to almost turn off the heat in order not to be baked. This time of year the hallways are cold. The view from our 5th floor room was very nice. The check in was easy but the desk clerk seemed a little bored with her job. I'm sure this is the slow season and it can get boring. There were not many guests Thursday night but it really got busy Friday. People wanted to see the Polar Bear plunge, I guess. All in all it was not bad for the out of season rate of $59 per night. We had a meal in the restaurant which was pretty good. I had the veal marsala.

  • Liked — view of beach
  • Disliked — the room
  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank twotravelersAikenSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sicklerville, NJ
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2008

Stayed there with my girlfriend from August 24-August 28. Check In was a breeze. Got there around 3:30pm and had a room key in hand by 3:35pm. People in the front desk were polite. Didn't find a parking spot in front of the hotel, but they provide parking across the street. Make sure you get a bell cart and unload all your belongings in the front door or you will be lugging all your stuff from across the street.

I was contemplating to either getting the non oceanfront view and save $40 a night or to get an oceantfront view. Get the oceantfront view, it's so well worth it! I asked the lady in the front desk what is the preferred floor to stay it, she said 5th floor, and I will admit, it's a beautiful view from that floor!

As for the hallways, it was definitely warm, but it didn't really matter to me since the room was nice and cool from the cold A/C. The bed was nice and comfy. The bathroom area could be a little bigger, but it didn't hamper the moment.

All in all, I will definitely recommend Best Western. If you are there for happy hour excitement though, I would suggest to get a hotel around 21st street in Atlantic Ave., you will be in walking distance to the bars.

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank G0RD0N77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
549 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 801 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2008

We stayed at the non-oceanfront room, which was in a separate building across the street right next to the hotel's parking garage (that was our view pretty much). I've never stayed at a Best Western before and probably won't ever again. This was somewhat a last minute thing for us and we did not have time to shop around.
The hotel has a restaurant which we did not try, an indoor pool, a small exercise room, and an outdoor pool near the road next to the non-oceanfront building.
The room was of adequate size, but kind of shabby. The bathroom was bad. The toilet did not flush well. There was mold on the shower curtain. The towels were old and ratty. There were not enough towels (there were 4 of us in the room) or toiletries. The door to the room did not close well and had to be slammed really hard to close.
I was not expecting the Ritz or anything even close, but I was not expecting quite this low a level of quality
One positive -- the manager, Tara, allowed us to check in early (the other woman behind the counter was very indifferent and insisted that there is no room available for us before 4 pm) and recommended good restaurants to us (thank you Tara!)
We did enjoy Virginia Beach, but would not stay at the same hotel again.

  • Liked — Tara the manager who was friendly and recommended good restaurants
  • Disliked — everything else -- mold in the bathroom, nonflushing toilet, old and worn out towels
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank giulietta429
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2008

the hotel website is extremely misleading and this property is not worthy of the 'best western' name. we booked two non-ocean front rooms for a night in virginia beach, to break a long drive south. upon check in, i discovered that the rooms were in an old annex over a very busy road away from the beach, in what appeared to be a 1950s motel that had been repainted and had a 'best western' sign attached. i was assured at the front desk that the rooms in the old annex were of the same standard as the main room. i hope this is not true, for the sake of the people who paid extra for ocean front views. our rooms were dark and musty, had NOT been cleaned properly and were VERY noisy. no insulation at all from the sounds that drifted up the open staircases and from the main road below. i did not sleep, and neither did my toddler who lay miserably in his crappy and unstable crib that was eventually brought to our room. we thought we were staying in a hotel - we ended up in an expensive glorified motel which was NOT on the beach, and overpaid for the privilege. what a rip off. i would have complained there and then - if there had been someone to complain to. for $175 per room per night, this is terrible value. per the website, the misleading marketing just leaves me angry and i will not stay in a best western again.
the one good note is that the location is central to the main drag, and the beach is very nice.
ps don't have the breakfast buffet in the hotel restaurant. it is cheap - around $8 a head - but the food is awful. frozen or shelf stable products just unwrapped and left on a hot plate. no bagels/rolls/toast, stale cereal, mushy tinned fruit, and oily french toast sticks. just awful.

  • Liked — ample car parking
  • Disliked — poor value, dirty and dark rooms, being dumped in an old motel masquerading as a hotel
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lilfella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New york
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2008

Me and my family stayed here for about 4 days.When we first got there, it was ...well ok. the front desk was nice. I liked the way the scenery looked. We checked in with no problems.We got up stairs. Ok big con here. The hallways. Hot as crap.


The beds were soft and all, and we checked out the game room and the fitness room. Beach was nice.

We enjoyed our stay and when we come back here we might stay here.piece, fizzy.

  • Stayed August 2007
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank FizzyKid08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrisburg
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2008

We stayed at the Best Western Oceanfront from June 29-July 5, 2008. I booked the hotel in January, so was able to get a rate of $95 per night (an obvious, absolute steal!). Last year, we stayed in a non-oceanfront room across the street (didn't realize we'd be staying across the street, but you're still in the "action" regardless - its not much of a walk or anything...). This year, since we knew better, we specifically booked an oceanfront room. We were expecting larger than ususal crowds, considering it was the week of July 4th, but boy were we wrong! No crowds, no lines, nothing! It was great! And let me tell you - the view from our room was amazing (we were on the 6th floor). I was VERY skeptical from reading many negative reviews on how our stay would be. The comments on the hot elevators and hot hallways are correct. I shrugged that part off since, we were mostly dripping wet from the beach anyway, so who cares? The staff at the front desk were very helpful with directions and supplying us with anything we may have forgotten/run out of (toothpaste and plasticware specifically). The room was nice - very cool AC. It was a King/standard room. The bathtub and toilet are separated from the wash sink, which is no big deal, but I will comment on not having much room to close the bathroom door... We didn't see much of housekeeping. They made the bed and threw away the trash - so if that's what's expected of them, then they did a great job! Really, its not a Hilton where there's a wine bottle laying on your pillow when you come in or anything, however, it's a nice place to lay your head after a long day at the beach. (And that's really what a hotel is for anyway, right? A place to sleep). Comments on parking: we were lucky enough to find a spot in the lot right in front of the hotel. However, we took a drive one day and lost our spot, so we had to park in the parking garage across the street. I drive a Mazda, so I had an easy time maneuvering. If you have a big truck, it might be a little tricky. So overall, considering the star rating for this hotel and the cheap rate we got for our stay, I would definitely rate our stay at the Best Western Oceanfront as Excellent! Clean and enjoyable.

  • Liked — The price!
  • Disliked — Hot hallways/elevators.
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank dinald444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
#2 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Beachfront
Comfort Suites Beachfront
#7 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Oceanfront Inn
The Oceanfront Inn
#17 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Oceanfront Virginia Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Oceanfront Virginia Beach

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Oceanfront Virginia Beach
Address: 2809 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-3029
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Virginia Beach
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
#27 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Oceanfront Virginia Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN PLUS at the Oceanfront offers several types of accommodations to choose from. Our non-smoking hotel has stunning views from the private balconies of our oceanfront rooms overlooking the boardwalk. Easy beach access is also available from our adjacent non-oceanfront room location across the street which features double-size beds as well as eight two-room suites with one queen bed. All rooms include microwaves, refrigerators, coffee makers and complimentary wireless internet service for your added convenience. Complimentary breakfast is also included in as well! Please note: One parking space is available per reserved room. We hope you will come and experience a wonderful vacation with us soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), HotelsClick, Agoda, Odigeo and Ebookers so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Oceanfront Virginia Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Oceanfront Virginia Beach Hotel Virginia Beach
Best Western Virginia Beach
Virginia Beach Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing