We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In the future all my parties will be at the ocean key resort.”
Review of Ocean Key Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ocean Key Resort
Ranked #45 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 March 2012

The manager at the hotel Bill Mitchell was very helpful. I had family come in from out of town for my daughter's baby shower having everyone stay at the ocean key and the party at the ocean keys made everything convenient. The room was beautiful and the staff were very helpful. The location and view were perfect.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Itslisa53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BMitchellvsaresorts, General Manager at Ocean Key Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2012

It was a pleasure having you and your family at the Ocean Key Resort for such a special occasion. We look forward to having your family visit in the future, thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (443)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

361 - 367 of 443 reviews

Reviewed 14 March 2012

Excellent Value. Staff makes you feel welcome and all needs are met.

Room Tip: Higher rooms on east side have view of ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Burt8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BMitchellvsaresorts, General Manager at Ocean Key Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2012

Thank you for your excellent review about the Ocean Key Resort and our staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2012

The resort is clean and the people are very friendly.
One drawback is that guests are placed in adjoining rooms when the rest of the floor is vacant.
Although we have had a balcony room each time that faces Atlantic Ave., the truck noise from across the street is very loud at 5:30 in the morning.
In unit H/AC units are very loud.

Room Tip: If you want to see a bit of the ocean, the balcony rooms are ok if you don't mind the street and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank snowsigloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BMitchellvsaresorts, General Manager at Ocean Key Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2012

Thank you for your review about the location and the units at the Ocean Key Resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2012

From the first moment that we arrived the folks at Ocean Key Resort were always cheerful and helpful. The location of the resort is perfect. The oceanfront boardwalk is across Atlantic Ave. and Rudee Inlet is a short walk away. There's a cool children's playground on the beach that is wheelchair accessible. Bars, cafes, and restaurants are all around. Parking is onsite with easy access. The pool and pool area were spotless and the jacuzzi was enjoyed by all. The third floor has an activity center that includes video games, flat screen TV, popcorn machine, pool table, air hockey, workout equipment, and an outside deck. Ben, the activity center host, was especially pleasant. The room was clean with a fantastic view. The elevators were efficient, clean and quick.
I would recommend Ocean Key Resort to anyone that wants to have a quality vacation in the Virginia Beach area. The Tidewater area (Virginia Beach, Chesapeake, Norfolk, Hampton, Newport News, Suffolk, Portsmouth and Williamsburg) is a very historical area with dozens of nice day trips. Enjoy!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GottaGetAwayRightNow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BMitchellvsaresorts, General Manager at Ocean Key Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2012

Thank you so much for sharing your vacation with the Ocean Key Resort! Ben thanks you as well and we look forward to your next vacation with the Ocean Key family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2012

I give this resort four thumbs up! I was very pleased with the how the staff were pleasant and greeted us upon entering. They often asked "do you need anything?" " Is there anything we can do to help? The room was very clean and smelled great. I was very pleased with how clean and sanitized the bathroom was. I loved the mid week activities (the cheese and wine). It was great. My husband and myself will be coming back to this resort again and again. It was so peaceful.....I loved it!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BMitchellvsaresorts, General Manager at Ocean Key Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2012

It’s a pleasure to hear you and your husband enjoyed your stay at the Ocean Key Resort. Thank you for your exciting review and participating in our weekly activities, we look forward to seeing you and your husband in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2012

We had a wonderful off-season vacation at this resort. In February we were pleasantly surprised with 70 degree weather. We had a fabulous ocean view from the 9th floor which included a small balcony. This place is very clean & has great amenities for kids. The heated, indoor pool is perfect for kids & there is also a Jacuzzi for adults right next to it. There are free, planned activities to do inside & outside the resort. We highly recommend going here sometime. The 3-mile boardwalk in Virginia Beach is fabulous & there is a great playground for kids at one end plus smaller playgrounds along the way. You can rent family bikes that seat up to 4 people to pedal along this bike path which runs next to the boardwalk. Lots of restaurants & places to visit close-by (1 mile away) like the Virginia Aquarium & I-Max Theater which were excellent. Resort is across the street from the beach, so not on the beach, but still a great location.

Room Tip: Opt for a 2-bedroom for 4 adults since the 1 bedroom has a pull-out couch in the living area so not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JDV_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BMitchellvsaresorts, General Manager at Ocean Key Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2012

Thank you for sharing your experience at the Ocean Key Resort; we look forward to hosting your family in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2012

The staff is exceptional, very friendly and most of all very accommadating. The rooms and resort are very clean and well taken care of, the pool was alsways a great temp which was important ot us because we were there in Febuary. We had alot of company and it was never a problem for them to park in their parking garage although I am sure that would not be the case during large events or prime vacation periods but we really appreciated that. I don't think you would be disappointed staying here.

Room Tip: On one side of the resort you can view the ocean if up high enough. The other side offers a beautifu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Renee0604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BMitchellvsaresorts, General Manager at Ocean Key Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2012

Great review, we appreciate your feedback about the Ocean Key Resort. We look forward to you and your family staying with us in the future, thank you very much!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
1.2 mi away
Ocean Sands Resort
Ocean Sands Resort
#48 of 109 in Virginia Beach
348 reviews
1.1 mi away
Atrium Resort
Atrium Resort
#59 of 109 in Virginia Beach
231 reviews
0.3 mi away
Barclay Towers Resort Hotel
Barclay Towers Resort Hotel
#13 of 109 in Virginia Beach
1,113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Oceanaire Resort Hotel
Oceanaire Resort Hotel
#44 of 109 in Virginia Beach
449 reviews
2 mi away
Ocean Beach Club
Ocean Beach Club
#67 of 109 in Virginia Beach
798 reviews
0.8 mi away
Boardwalk Resort Hotel and Villas
Boardwalk Resort Hotel and Villa...
#61 of 109 in Virginia Beach
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Key Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Key Resort

Address: 424 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-3611
Region: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Virginia Beach
#7 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
#21 Business Hotel in Virginia Beach
#30 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range: £67 - £246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean Key Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Staying at a VSA Resort gives you all the comforts of home without having to mow the lawn, do the dishes, or fold the laundry. We love having fun with our guests and strive to give each person–big and small, young and young at heart–the best vacation memories possible.The Ocean Key Resort is located at the serene south end of Virginia Beach, the 142 unit smoke-free resort offers a family-oriented atmosphere with beach accents and soft colors. All vacation units are two-room suites with kitchenettes.On site amenities include:• 24 hour front desk service• Daily activities for all ages• Indoor Pool• Indoor Jacuzzi• Fitness Center• Activities Center & Gaming Room• Party Deck & Sun Patio• On-site parking• Complimentary guest laundry facilities• Complimentary wireless internet access• Complimentary tanning • Harris Teeter on-line shopping & grocery deliveryUnit amenities include:• King size pillow-top mattress• Queen size sleeper sofa• Kitchenettes with smooth top burners, convection/microwave oven, dishware, cookware, glassware and utensils• Full size refrigerator• Dishwasher• 2 flat screen televisions ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Ocean Key Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Key Hotel Virginia Beach
Ocean Key Virginia Beach
Ocean Key Resort Virginia Beach Virginia
Ocean Key Resort Va Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing