We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good for families but bring your own sheets!”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Ocean Key Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ocean Key Resort
Ranked #32 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Good for families but bring your own sheets!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Ocean Key Resort in Virginia Beach mid May, 2012 for just a couple days. In general, the hotel was just average at best. these are our observations:

Negatives:
- The indoor pool was always packed with little kids. We wouldn't consider going in.
- We could NOT find sheets without hair. Although the sheets looked clean, all of them, for whatever reason, had hair in them (not just one, but multiple strands)
- The bathroom shower curtain was stained with something. Any other hotel would have replaced that curtain.
- The bathroom floor was dirty and there was a small amount of mold on the drywall at the base of the shower.

Positives
- The hotel is a very short block to the beach, but you do have to cross a relatively busy street which could be a challenge for families with small kids.
- If you are traveling with kids and need to find an inexpensive place to stay with a kitchen and two rooms, then this hotel is probably a decent option. Just bring your own sheets if possible.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 816 that had a small window facing the beach AND the highway. Because the window i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ed13k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BMitchellvsaresorts, General Manager at Ocean Key Resort, responded to this review, 16 May 2012
I apologize that we didn’t meet your expectations – your experience did not meet my expectations either. I hope you will give us another opportunity in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    240
    101
    49
    18
    16
See reviews for
205
119
18
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2012

Had a great stay. Liked everything about it. Cristina collins was very helpful. Will stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank humblewon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BMitchellvsaresorts, General Manager at Ocean Key Resort, responded to this review, 16 May 2012
I appreciate your review of the Ocean Key Resort and Cristina thanks you as well. We look forward to your next vacation with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2012 via mobile

We stayed in a 2 bedroom with balcony overlooking Rudee inlet. All 2 bedroom units are on the fourth floor only. We had a beautiful view of the marina. Friday night was noisy with traffic sounds. Week nights were more quiet.

Kitchen is very small and the pillow topper on the bed was too thick and lumpy. Pool area was very clean and inviting and all staff are very nice. Would absolutely return!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kaddiemo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BMitchellvsaresorts, General Manager at Ocean Key Resort, responded to this review, 16 May 2012
Thank you for choosing the Ocean Sands Resort as your vacation destination. We look forward to seeing you and your family this summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2012 via mobile

A more appropriate question is why did I leave!! Hands down best vacation I've ever had. Such a pleasant experience that I know I will be back!!!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bdwkkane1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BMitchellvsaresorts, General Manager at Ocean Key Resort, responded to this review, 8 May 2012
Thank you for sharing your vacation experience at the Ocean Key Resort. We are looking forward to your return in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clarks summit
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2012

We lived in VA Beach for several years. Oct, 2011 went back for a visit and again April, 2012. Would stay a again if another road trip to VA Beach is needed.

Room Tip: Food services are not available. However, there is a restaurant in the hotel looby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mary d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BMitchellvsaresorts, General Manager at Ocean Key Resort, responded to this review, 2 May 2012
Thank you for returning to the Ocean Key Resort, we look forward to seeing you and your family again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2012

My room was perfect. They have the best product I have experienced in a hotel. The service was so above and beyond I'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cazzzzzx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BMitchellvsaresorts, General Manager at Ocean Key Resort, responded to this review, 18 April 2012
Thank you for your first class review of the amenities and service at the Ocean Key Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lexington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2012

The staff at Ocean Key Resort staff went above and beyond to make our stay the best it could be!! Very nice facilities!!!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BMitchellvsaresorts, General Manager at Ocean Key Resort, responded to this review, 18 April 2012
Thank you for giving the Ocean Key Resort staff the opportunity to make your vacation a memorable one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
0.3 mi away
Barclay Towers Resort Hotel
Barclay Towers Resort Hotel
#11 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 946 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ocean Sands Resort
Ocean Sands Resort
#46 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
2.0 mi away
Ocean Beach Club
Ocean Beach Club
#74 of 109 in Virginia Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Four Points by Sheraton Virginia...
#20 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 637 reviews
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel
2.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Key Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Key Resort

Property: Ocean Key Resort
Address: 424 Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451
Region: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Virginia Beach
#7 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
#21 Business Hotel in Virginia Beach
#23 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean Key Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Staying at a VSA Resort gives you all the comforts of home without having to mow the lawn, do the dishes, or fold the laundry. We love having fun with our guests and strive to give each person–big and small, young and young at heart–the best vacation memories possible.The Ocean Key Resort is located at the serene south end of Virginia Beach, the 142 unit smoke-free resort offers a family-oriented atmosphere with beach accents and soft colors. All vacation units are two-room suites with kitchenettes.On site amenities include:• 24 hour front desk service• Daily activities for all ages• Indoor Pool• Indoor Jacuzzi• Fitness Center• Activities Center & Gaming Room• Party Deck & Sun Patio• On-site parking• Complimentary guest laundry facilities• Complimentary wireless internet access• Complimentary tanning • Harris Teeter on-line shopping & grocery deliveryUnit amenities include:• King size pillow-top mattress• Queen size sleeper sofa• Kitchenettes with smooth top burners, convection/microwave oven, dishware, cookware, glassware and utensils• Full size refrigerator• Dishwasher• 2 flat screen televisions ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ocean Key Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Key Hotel Virginia Beach
Ocean Key Virginia Beach
Ocean Key Resort Virginia Beach Virginia
Ocean Key Resort Va Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing