We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Above & Beyond Support!”
Review of Ocean Key Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ocean Key Resort
Ranked #36 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Newport News, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Above & Beyond Support!”
Reviewed 2 June 2012

Mary and Lisa showed the amazing hospitality & support others in the hotel/resort industry should emulate! Invited by the USO to perform the National Anthem prior to Miranda Lambert's concert (2012 Patriotic Festival), I was looking for valet parking close to the venue. Their gracious support enabled me to park as a guest for the day and use their facilities to change into my uniform and prepare for my performance. Additionally, the kind security officer provided additional peace of mind to ensure only personnel with parking passes used the garage and kept my valuables safe. Many thanks, again, to the staff as their support helped me perform one of my best Anthems in 21+ years!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LtColKat-USAF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BMitchellvsaresorts, General Manager at Ocean Key Resort, responded to this review, 13 June 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your experience at the Ocean Key Resort and for specifically mentioning, Mary and Lisa! I appreciate your positive feedback and look forward to your next vacation with VSA Resorts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    242
    107
    50
    19
    17
See reviews for
209
126
18
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barboursville, West Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 May 2012

Our week at the beach was OK because the weather was awful which is not the fault of the hotel. Everyone at the hotel was very nice and courteous. We found it to be clean and well kept up.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carolyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BMitchellvsaresorts, General Manager at Ocean Key Resort, responded to this review, 30 May 2012
We truly appreciate your business and look forward to your next vacation with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2012

I vacation here at Ocean Key annually, and this year I enjoyed my stay so much more. There have been some very positive additions and renovations. The beach is so conveniently accessible across the street, and plenty of restaurants within walking distance. One day it was very windy and the sand on the beach was blowing, so it was very nice to have an alternative of the roof top sun deck at Ocean Key. The wine and cheese reception on the rooftop patio was another great addition. I mingled and met some really nice people from various parts of the country.The patio furnishings are gorgeous and comfortable. The Ocean Key staff are just wonderful, especially Betsy the Activities Coordinator. They are all so helpful and courteous, and willing to make your stay a comfortable one. I particularly like to travel in early May or Fall when it's not so occupied with children, since it is a family resort. I really enjoy sitting on the balcony and enjoying my morning coffee, and watching the ocean waves and sunrise. It's simply a gorgeous view. The sunset was equally as beautiful. It was just a wonderful week of vacation. I do wish check out time was not so early. I highly recommend it for the entire family.

Room Tip: The balcony rooms overlook Atlantic Avenue and the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BMitchellvsaresorts, General Manager at Ocean Key Resort, responded to this review, 23 May 2012
Betsy and I appreciate your review of the Ocean Key Resort and your positive feedback. We look forward to your next vacation with VSA Resorts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2012

My wife and I came down for a week and I found the room to be very nice with only one problem, in the 7 days that we stayed housekeeping never came to the room once. You have to take out your own trash and strip the bed and take towels to the 3rd floor for exchange and the remake the bed.... I do that at home. The small pool is really in the front lobby where you walk in. It is a nice hotel but you should know these things before you go there.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank brian m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BMitchellvsaresorts, General Manager at Ocean Key Resort, responded to this review, 23 May 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your vacation experience at the Ocean Key Resort. We look forward to your next visit with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Ocean Key Resort in Virginia Beach mid May, 2012 for just a couple days. In general, the hotel was just average at best. these are our observations:

Negatives:
- The indoor pool was always packed with little kids. We wouldn't consider going in.
- We could NOT find sheets without hair. Although the sheets looked clean, all of them, for whatever reason, had hair in them (not just one, but multiple strands)
- The bathroom shower curtain was stained with something. Any other hotel would have replaced that curtain.
- The bathroom floor was dirty and there was a small amount of mold on the drywall at the base of the shower.

Positives
- The hotel is a very short block to the beach, but you do have to cross a relatively busy street which could be a challenge for families with small kids.
- If you are traveling with kids and need to find an inexpensive place to stay with a kitchen and two rooms, then this hotel is probably a decent option. Just bring your own sheets if possible.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 816 that had a small window facing the beach AND the highway. Because the window i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ed13k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BMitchellvsaresorts, General Manager at Ocean Key Resort, responded to this review, 16 May 2012
I apologize that we didn’t meet your expectations – your experience did not meet my expectations either. I hope you will give us another opportunity in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2012

Had a great stay. Liked everything about it. Cristina collins was very helpful. Will stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank humblewon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BMitchellvsaresorts, General Manager at Ocean Key Resort, responded to this review, 16 May 2012
I appreciate your review of the Ocean Key Resort and Cristina thanks you as well. We look forward to your next vacation with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2012 via mobile

We stayed in a 2 bedroom with balcony overlooking Rudee inlet. All 2 bedroom units are on the fourth floor only. We had a beautiful view of the marina. Friday night was noisy with traffic sounds. Week nights were more quiet.

Kitchen is very small and the pillow topper on the bed was too thick and lumpy. Pool area was very clean and inviting and all staff are very nice. Would absolutely return!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kaddiemo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BMitchellvsaresorts, General Manager at Ocean Key Resort, responded to this review, 16 May 2012
Thank you for choosing the Ocean Sands Resort as your vacation destination. We look forward to seeing you and your family this summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
1.2 mi away
Ocean Sands Resort
Ocean Sands Resort
#46 of 109 in Virginia Beach
333 reviews
0.6 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Four Points by Sheraton Virginia...
#9 of 109 in Virginia Beach
710 reviews
0.3 mi away
Barclay Towers Resort Hotel
Barclay Towers Resort Hotel
#14 of 109 in Virginia Beach
1,016 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Belvedere Beach Resort
Belvedere Beach Resort
#7 of 109 in Virginia Beach
492 reviews
1.1 mi away
Atrium Resort
Atrium Resort
#48 of 109 in Virginia Beach
227 reviews
2.0 mi away
Ocean Beach Club
Ocean Beach Club
#74 of 109 in Virginia Beach
752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Key Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Key Resort

Property: Ocean Key Resort
Address: 424 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-3611
Region: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Virginia Beach
#7 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
#21 Business Hotel in Virginia Beach
#27 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean Key Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Staying at a VSA Resort gives you all the comforts of home without having to mow the lawn, do the dishes, or fold the laundry. We love having fun with our guests and strive to give each person–big and small, young and young at heart–the best vacation memories possible.The Ocean Key Resort is located at the serene south end of Virginia Beach, the 142 unit smoke-free resort offers a family-oriented atmosphere with beach accents and soft colors. All vacation units are two-room suites with kitchenettes.On site amenities include:• 24 hour front desk service• Daily activities for all ages• Indoor Pool• Indoor Jacuzzi• Fitness Center• Activities Center & Gaming Room• Party Deck & Sun Patio• On-site parking• Complimentary guest laundry facilities• Complimentary wireless internet access• Complimentary tanning • Harris Teeter on-line shopping & grocery deliveryUnit amenities include:• King size pillow-top mattress• Queen size sleeper sofa• Kitchenettes with smooth top burners, convection/microwave oven, dishware, cookware, glassware and utensils• Full size refrigerator• Dishwasher• 2 flat screen televisions ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Ocean Key Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Key Hotel Virginia Beach
Ocean Key Virginia Beach
Ocean Key Resort Virginia Beach Virginia
Ocean Key Resort Va Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing