We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best trip to Ocean Key ever!”
Review of Ocean Key Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ocean Key Resort
Ranked #33 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 November 2013

I have been an owner since '98 and this past week in Virginia Beach was our best trip yet! We had a beautiful view of the ocean and took full advantage of our proximity to the beach. The resort was clean and the staff was receptive. Thank you, Bill Mitchell and the rest of the staff at Ocean Key!

Room Tip: Since this was a working vacation having a balcony made our trip!
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brendaveggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BMitchellvsaresorts, General Manager at Ocean Key Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2013

Thank you for sharing your vacation experience at the Ocean Key Resort. I am pleased that you and your family enjoyed your time with us and mentioned our beautiful Resort amenities, and wonderful staff including myself. I appreciate you choosing VSA Resorts and look forward to your family’s next vacation in Virginia Beach.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (437)
There are newer reviews for Ocean Key Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

203 - 209 of 437 reviews

Reviewed 24 October 2013

We enjoyed our time at Ocean Key. The staff was always friendly and helpful. It is a small place, but is nice. There are small issues with cleanliness, but not a big deal. It was generally quiet. The rooms were not large, but was fine for 2 adults and 2 children. The kitchen was tiny, but the microwave/convection oven and the stove-top was sufficient to meet our needs. We ate the majority of meals in the room.

The pool and hot-tub were nice. It was never very busy and was plenty of room for our children to play.

Although it was not directly on the beach, being right across the street from the beach was not an issue. It would have been nice to have been in a room with balcony to have enjoyed the beach view. It was close to a couple of beach playgrounds, one in each direction from the hotel. This was a HUGE plus with our 4 year old.

Their common area / activity area was nice. The staff there was very accomodating.

We would go back to the hotel again, if we decide to go back to Virginia Beach. Unfortunately, during the off-season the dredging done by the city with black-muck with chunks of who-knows-what was spewing into the water not far from the hotel. It grossed my family out and may keep us from returning to the area for a very long time.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Loserboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BMitchellvsaresorts, General Manager at Ocean Key Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your vacation experience at the Ocean Key Resort. I am pleased that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Bill Mitchell and his staff made our vacation even more enjoyable by their show of hospitality. There were there 24/7 for all of our many questions.We have a time share and trade to go different places all the time and we had such a great time ,we will be back next summer with our family. We loved being at the quieter end of beach. Getting up in the morning and being able to walk to get breakfast was so ideal. Monica F from Long Island.

Room Tip: ask to be high up for the view
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tfrascone13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BMitchellvsaresorts, General Manager at Ocean Key Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2013

Thank you for sharing your vacation experience at the Ocean Key Resort. I am pleased that you and your family enjoyed your time with us. I appreciate you choosing VSA Resorts and look forward to your family’s next vacation in Virginia Beach.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

This was out 3rd stay at Ocean Key, we love the location on the quieter south end.
We had an oceanside balcony, where we spent many hours enjoying the sights and sounds of the ocean and boardwalk. How lovely to have morning coffee while watching the sun come up!
A big thank you to Bill Mitchell for helping find us an ocean view room. Also many thanks to all the staff. My third morning there I woke up sick and the front desk directed me to walk in care and directions to get there.
The rooms are clean, nicely decorated, with everything you need to prepare meals if you can resist all the really good restaurants within walking distance.
If you are planning to come to Virginia Beach stay here. Thank you Ocean Key Resort.

Room Tip: Opt for a balcony.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ljewell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BMitchellvsaresorts, General Manager at Ocean Key Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2013

Thank you for sharing your vacation experience at the Ocean Key Resort. I am pleased that you and your family enjoyed your time with us and mentioned our beautiful Resort, amenities, and wonderful staff including myself. I appreciate you choosing VSA Resorts and look forward to your family’s next vacation in Virginia Beach.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Very nice place. Lots of amenities from the game room to the indoor pool and Jacuzzi. The room was smaller than expected and the only window in the room was off the balcony in the master suite which left others without the access to the view. The walls a thin. We could hear people in the hallway at all hours day and night as well as hear the elevator chime each time it arrived on the floor.

The staff was all very nice and quite accommodating. Even though the lack of windows bothered me a bit, I would stay at the Ocean Key Resort again and would also tell others it is an okay place to stay.

Room Tip: Make sure you specify you want a balcony otherwise you may not get one. I do not believe every room...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BMitchellvsaresorts, General Manager at Ocean Key Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2013

Thank you for choosing the Ocean Key Resort as your vacation destination. We look forward to seeing you and your family again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

My wife found a deal online to a one-night stay at Ocean Key. We found the hotel to be a nice one night stay open with great boardwalk access and easy to find for us Carolinians. We checked in late and the check in process went smoothly. Here are my trivial gripes - I had to repair the flush mechanism on the toilet ( a 2 min. Fix) and the TV remote would not work. I did not call for help since it was late.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
Thank Pack D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BMitchellvsaresorts, General Manager at Ocean Key Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2013

Thank you for giving us the opportunity to fulfill your family vacation needs. We appreciate your kind words about the location at the Ocean Key Resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

I truly enjoyed my one week stay at Ocean Key Resort. Bill Mitchell and Staff were wonderful. In particular I would like to say Kudos to Theresa at the front desk, she was immensely helpful, full of good ideas, and quick to find the answer an questions and to do any research that we needed to make our trip more enjoyable.

Thank you Theresa!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bnwamira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BMitchellvsaresorts, General Manager at Ocean Key Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2013

Thank you for sharing your vacation experience at the Ocean Key Resort. I am pleased that you enjoyed your vacation with us and mentioned our wonderful staff, especially Theresa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
1.2 mi away
Ocean Sands Resort
Ocean Sands Resort
#43 of 109 in Virginia Beach
334 reviews
1.1 mi away
Atrium Resort
Atrium Resort
#55 of 109 in Virginia Beach
229 reviews
2.2 mi away
Belvedere Beach Resort
Belvedere Beach Resort
#7 of 109 in Virginia Beach
522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ramada Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Ramada Virginia Beach Oceanfront
#36 of 109 in Virginia Beach
2,081 reviews
0.3 mi away
Barclay Towers Resort Hotel
Barclay Towers Resort Hotel
#15 of 109 in Virginia Beach
1,051 reviews
0.6 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Four Points by Sheraton Virginia...
#9 of 109 in Virginia Beach
754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Key Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Key Resort

Address: 424 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-3611
Region: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Virginia Beach
#7 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
#21 Business Hotel in Virginia Beach
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range: £91 - £161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean Key Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Staying at a VSA Resort gives you all the comforts of home without having to mow the lawn, do the dishes, or fold the laundry. We love having fun with our guests and strive to give each person–big and small, young and young at heart–the best vacation memories possible.The Ocean Key Resort is located at the serene south end of Virginia Beach, the 142 unit smoke-free resort offers a family-oriented atmosphere with beach accents and soft colors. All vacation units are two-room suites with kitchenettes.On site amenities include:• 24 hour front desk service• Daily activities for all ages• Indoor Pool• Indoor Jacuzzi• Fitness Center• Activities Center & Gaming Room• Party Deck & Sun Patio• On-site parking• Complimentary guest laundry facilities• Complimentary wireless internet access• Complimentary tanning • Harris Teeter on-line shopping & grocery deliveryUnit amenities include:• King size pillow-top mattress• Queen size sleeper sofa• Kitchenettes with smooth top burners, convection/microwave oven, dishware, cookware, glassware and utensils• Full size refrigerator• Dishwasher• 2 flat screen televisions ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ocean Key Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Key Hotel Virginia Beach
Ocean Key Virginia Beach
Ocean Key Resort Virginia Beach Virginia
Ocean Key Resort Va Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing