We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad at all”
Review of Dolphin Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Dolphin Inn
Ranked #96 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Reviewed 10 June 2014

So we booked the rooms about 3 month before the trip. After booking I read the reviews and was so scared i was having nightmares Before the trip. We have two rooms side by side witch is what we requested. The rooms are very spacious and location is amazing. We have three young kids and no issue with room. The rooms are ok for cleanses. They aren't dirty no bugs. Yes the furniture is dated but its clean. The bathroom has sand around the edges but u are at the beach. If you aren't expecting a 5 star resort and will be happy with a clean but dated place to stay. This is the place. Plus staff is wonderful. We plan on coming back bext year. I will say one downfall for me is only one elivator so it makes for slow travels.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Annkatejacobsmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (327)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

112 - 118 of 327 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2014

Let me start off by saying I have written over 20 reviews and this is my first negative review! We stayed here over memorial day weekend for 5 days. The hotel is an all efficiency hotel which was what we were looking for but it was very run down and old. Housekeeping was AWFUL!!!! The first day they made one bed but not the other and that was the extent of their cleaning. After complaining to manager next day room was cleaned much better but by our third day they ran out of bath towels and we had to use pool towels...which weren't any bigger than an over grown hand towel. They didn't do any other cleaning for the rest of the time while we were there. The only positive thing was the receptionist at front desk was super nice and location isn't bad if you want to be where the action is. Other than that I wouldn't recommend this place and I will not be returning.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank smokymountainlove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

I am not too picky but this is awful! I brought hubby for our anniversary. This place is so gross! Bedroom smells like pee, bug crawling on bed, filthy floors that are seriously crunchy, filthy refrigerator. I talked to front desk who said they are booked and will get us in something different tomorrow. I am typing this now because I cant sleep in this. =( I read reviews and take them lightly but trust when I say this is definitely the worst ever.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ebag511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

I am far from picky- and if you don't care about cleanliness- stay here because it is a great location.

When we arrived they hadn't emptied the kitchen trash from the last people! The bathroom was upgraded- yet very dirty.

The space of the room was perfect for our family of 5. The kids enjoyed the pool (although very small) and the view from the balcony was beautiful.

Stayed: April 2014
2  Thank Christy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

that is about all I liked about this hotel. We could hear all the noise from the surrounding clubs at night until 2 in the morning. If you have small kids that needs sleep this is not the place for you. Also the rooms were dirty, stained, very old and not well kept. I am not a picky person but I do require clean and this was not it. The only thing I really liked was the view and the balcony where I could feed the gulls. However, I will be looking elsewhere for our next trip.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Martha P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

When I was trying to book our place for our vacation, I didn't have many options left...so Dolphin Inn is what we chose!...regardless of the poor reviews, I booked it!

I am far from a super picky person, neither is my family...and we found the Dolphin Inn to be just great! Right in the middle of shops, food, attractions along the boardwalk, great area!!

The staff here is TOP NOTCH...friendly, quick to our requests and extremely polite!!

Our room was descent...yes--carpets had stains, the tub had some marks from usage....but I didn't find it to be 'dirty'....its a older hotel with some basic wear and tear...no big deal! The kitchen had a fridge, microwave, utensils, bowls and plates--along with dishtowels and soap.

The bedroom has 2 double beds and a dresser with TV inside...pretty good sized room! Also had a ironing board and iron in there along with hangers and rack for clothing.

In the living area there was a desk, TV, 6 drawer dresser, table and chairs and sectional couch that pulled out to a bed.

Balcony with chairs and table faced the ocean...was wonderful to wake up to each morning!

Looking for your basic place to stay---stay here! Cannot commend the staff enough...really friendly and on top of things!!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank camille4824
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014

Hotel was decent for the price. It is ocean front but affordable, swimming pool, great staff, efficiency rooms with oven, refrigerator, plates, cups, coffee maker, balcony, etc! Great location at the end of the beach! Great restaurants within walking distance!! On the Boardwalk!!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank amyc1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
1 mi away
Schooner Inn
Schooner Inn
#39 of 109 in Virginia Beach
434 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Breakers Resort Inn
The Breakers Resort Inn
#34 of 109 in Virginia Beach
407 reviews
0.4 mi away
Surfbreak Oceanfront Hotel
Surfbreak Oceanfront Hotel
#49 of 109 in Virginia Beach
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ocean Sands Resort
Ocean Sands Resort
#47 of 109 in Virginia Beach
348 reviews
0.1 mi away
Boardwalk Resort Hotel and Villas
Boardwalk Resort Hotel and Villa...
#61 of 109 in Virginia Beach
310 reviews
0.7 mi away
Turtle Cay Resort
Turtle Cay Resort
#46 of 109 in Virginia Beach
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dolphin Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolphin Inn

Address: 1705 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-3424
Region: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#52 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range: £45 - £352 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Dolphin Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spacious Comfort Right on the Beach! This Virginia Beach, boutique hotel offers you and your family uncomplicated and uncompromised comfort and warm hospitality at a truly great value. Located at the very heart of the 3-mile long boardwalk, this all suite, all oceanfront property provides space and amenities at an unbeatable location. The Dolphin Inn is the perfect place to experience your special Virginia Beach vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Dolphin Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dolphin Hotel Virginia Beach
Dolphin Virginia Beach
Dolphin Inn Virginia Beach Va

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing