We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Vacation”
Review of Dolphin Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Dolphin Inn
Ranked #94 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Hamden, Ohio
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Family Vacation”
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Good points : The staff and management very nice and helpful. The rooms were perfect for small family or 2 couples as there was a private bedroom and living room with sofa bed and tv;s in both and doors separating both.

BAD the hotel had been damaged by a storm so no pool no internet and elevators broke 2 days in a row and No breakfast or restaurants however there are several next door and across the street.
This place needs some major cleaning up.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DianeBeckner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    68
    51
    57
    107
See reviews for
156
56
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
King George
1 review
Reviewed 7 August 2014

To put it in a nutshell , rooms okay for price, No Parking, No pool, still not fixed, Music loud due to shows right next to DQ? Then even louder due to night club across the street, small micro and fridge , overall, if u book this hotel, plan on NOT SLEEPING until. 3 am, this really sux as I am here with my kids.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Avslon74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
State College, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 August 2014

When we checked in, they told us that the swimming pool was under renovation...something they neglected to tell us when we made the reservations just a few weeks before. Then my husband tried to do some work, and the wi-fi was down. We called the front desk and they told us they would get it fixed right away. A few hours later...still no wi-fi. The third time we called they told us it was not working because of a storm that had come through a few weeks ago.

There were seven floors in the hotel and two floors had ice machines. Well, none of the ice machines worked either. Needless to say, we cancelled the rest of our stay after one night and moved to a different hotel. They were threatening to charge us for two nights instead of the one that we did stay until we wanted them to document on our receipt what all was not working, then they changed their mind and only charged for one.

The size of the rooms was the best part of the hotel.

Oh and just to for warn you...if you have a bigger car, good luck parking on second level!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KA7130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Please don't waste your money by booking this hotel. VERY dirty, homeless people sleeping by the walk out of the hotel. Carpet was the nastiest I have EVER seen. I wouldn't let my kids take a bath had to shower bath tub so dirty. No working pool was NEVER made aware of until we tried to use it. Only 2 non working ice machines. The pictures on the hotel website are very deceiving. The worst hotel ever really hate that our money was wasted on the room. Please read the reviews and take them to heart and not give this place chance. It was the only room we could find now we know why.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sylloh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Once I arrived at the hotel with my family I noticed that the hotel did not have a lobby and the lady behind the small counter was not very pleasant. After checking in to our room we noticed that the size of the rooms, kitchen and bathroom did not look nothing like the website. It was to small for 6 people. Also after my kids wanted to go to the pool we were very surprised that it was not working, it was barricaded with wood. We were very disappointed the fact that the front counter person did not inform us or call us in advanced to let us know that the pool was shut down due to the hurricane that when through a few weeks ago. I had to call my travel agent to get a 20% discount. by the way their was no WIFI available. No internet for 5 days. It really suck. On my third day there our toilet got clog up. Don't book this hotel. The sofa bed was very uncomfortable. I woke up every morning with back pain. Don't waste your money here.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jesus M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlenBurnie
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We paid to stay in Rm 103 on July 22-23, 2014! However due to the condition of the room were currently sleeping in our van. The room is filthy, the bathtub is dirty, rugs are stained, paint chipping off the walls, the sofa has stains all over it! Their are food & beverage stains on the walls, It's very gross! On a positive note the view of the ocean is outstanding!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
5 Thank BestDaycaremom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

I'm very surprised at the condition of the room and the poor customer service of the desk staff . The sofa had urine stains on it and it smelled like ammonia. The bedroom foot had chipped paint and it would not close. The price was very expensive and the room was definitely not worth it. I complained to the staff but I was not given another room. I font not recommend this hotel to anyone

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Frenchie8249
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
0.0 mi away
Super 8 Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Super 8 Virginia Beach Oceanfron...
#82 of 109 in Virginia Beach
140 reviews
0.1 mi away
Boardwalk Resort Hotel and Villas
Boardwalk Resort Hotel and Villa...
#61 of 109 in Virginia Beach
297 reviews
0.3 mi away
Econo Lodge Oceanfront
Econo Lodge Oceanfront
#51 of 109 in Virginia Beach
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Capes Hotel
Capes Hotel
#30 of 109 in Virginia Beach
392 reviews
0.4 mi away
Surfbreak Oceanfront Hotel
Surfbreak Oceanfront Hotel
#50 of 109 in Virginia Beach
125 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marrio...
#27 of 109 in Virginia Beach
714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dolphin Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolphin Inn

Property: Dolphin Inn
Address: 1705 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-3424
Region: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#50 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Dolphin Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spacious Comfort Right on the Beach! This Virginia Beach, boutique hotel offers you and your family uncomplicated and uncompromised comfort and warm hospitality at a truly great value. Located at the very heart of the 3-mile long boardwalk, this all suite, all oceanfront property provides space and amenities at an unbeatable location. The Dolphin Inn is the perfect place to experience your special Virginia Beach vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Dolphin Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dolphin Hotel Virginia Beach
Dolphin Virginia Beach
Dolphin Inn Virginia Beach Va

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing