We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than we expected.”
Review of Dolphin Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Dolphin Inn
Ranked #94 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
A TripAdvisor Member
“Better than we expected.”
Reviewed 15 October 2005

We stayed in october because of the lower rates. The room was great!!! When I first saw the room I was disappointed because I thought I would have rather had the bedroom be the room you could see the ocean from but it was the living room. It ended up being better that it was that way. Since the hotel was a suite it was great because it had a kitchenette. The bathroom was very large and the whirlpool tub was great. It could have been better if they supplied bath salt to use in it. The one complaint I have about the bathroom was. We had more people than usual and we had thought that the toilet was backed up and called the front desk. The informed me that they don't have any kind of maitenence personnel to help fix things in the room. The front desk woman said she would be sending a maid up with a plunger. They never showed up and I called housekeeping. None of the housekeepers spoke English so that was a problem. And they didn't have a plunger that they knew of anyway. (The problem fixed itself so we didn't need it :-D). The bed was the most comfortable bed I've slept on in a hotel. The only problem in the bedroom was that the window was directly across from the light in the hallway. The venitian blind in the window didn't do much for blocking out the light. If you are very sensitive to light like I am I would recommend sleeping on the couch and not in the bedroom. It would have been better if there was a regular curtain in front of that window instead of a blind. Our room was on the top floor (11th floor) and the views were great. It would have been nicer if an ice machine and a snack machine was on our floor. We just had a drink machine. Or at least have a snack machine on every other floor. The only one was on the first floor. The hotel was in a great area and had some very nice restaurants in walking distance. Since the hotel doesn't have a restaurant. I can only say that the only major problem we had was when we first arrived. We spent over 20 minutes looking for the lobby. We thought it was on the first floor or second floor of the hotel. We finally found it in the parking garage. When we parked the car we had just assumed it was the valet parking office since it wasn't even marked lobby or anything. At least there were other people lost trying to find it like us. We weren't the only ones. Maybe it should have a sign that says LOBBY in the window or near the elevator it could say "lobby located in the garage out front." We could have spent that time relaxing in our room. Also the pool was rather on the small side. It looks bigger on the webpage. But since we were the only ones using it, it wasn't that bad. Just don't get in the pool with someone you don't like. It is kind of close quarters.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    68
    51
    57
    107
See reviews for
156
56
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 14 October 2005

We came to Virginia Beach as we do every year and this time was during the Neptune Festival. We like to try a different hotel everytime we go down there to visit family and picked the Dolphin Inn. We must admit pulling up not that great but we booked for the suites, jacuzzi, and all oceanfront property. The suite was huge - two good size rooms not cramped like a typical hotel room. Beds and especially the pillows were very full and comfortable. Bathroom looked a bit outdated but a staff member advised us to come back next year after they renovate the bathrooms but they had already installed new showerheads and they were amazing. Kitchenette was okay but realistically we were on vacation so what it offered was just right. The indoor pool was perfect and heated.

Now this was the first time for the Neptune Festival and it was a wonderful surprise - the Boardwalk had all sorts of artisans and food. Nightly bands played next door to the hotel. I highly recommend going to Virginia Beach and even if you don't stay at the Dolphin, go to the Neptune Festival. But we plan on coming back to the Dolphin Inn really soon - it's like home away from home!!

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martinsville, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2005

Their own website still advertises "wireless high-speed internet access in every room" and this was a key factor in our choosing this hotel, yet upon arrival in our room we discovered this simply isn't the case. The maintenance guy who came up when I reported being unable to connect informed me that they only have wireless routers on 3 floors and very few rooms could get sufficient wireless signal. We tried moving the laptop to another room across the hall from one of the router closets to see if it was an improvement but no luck. If they're going to advertise an amenity they should be able to provide it. Other than that it was fine, but don't go there expecting internet access.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SanityClause
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2005

In June 2005 we stayed at the Dolphin for the second straight year, and enjoyed it a lot. The suite format, kitchenette and jacuzzi were all great, as was the ocean view. The room was clean and had been recently renovated. At check-in the staff was very friendly (especially Bobbett), and worked with us to get us a room on a higher floor than the one originally assigned -- kids like to watch the dolphins. The location is convenient. There are two downsides with regard to the hotel. One is that the parking spaces are small -- bring the Corolla, not the Expedition. Although the spaces were small, there was plenty of onsite parking, even with the hotel full. The other issue is that there is only one elevator. We didn't use it much other than to get the bags up and down.

We liked it, and plan to stay at the Dolphin the next time we go to the beach.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SpringfieldJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 17 May 2005

Just got back from the beach - don't know where the other reviewers stayed but it must have been at a different place - yes you do check in the the bottom parking deck but you do at most of the hotels in VA Beach - service was excellent, staff very friendly. We have personally stayed at several of the other suite hotel on the strip and I must say that this is the fastest elevator so far that I have seen at the beach. The rooms are all suites - the bedroom has two double beds with tv, bathroom with whirlpool, kitchen area has large counter space with apartment size frig, microwave, 4-cup coffee pot and dishes, cups and silverware for 4. The living room has a large couch that converts into a bed, table with 4 chairs, tv and a vanity type table and closet with a safe. Everything was very clean, very large - lots of room for us - there was 3 adults and a 3 year old. Indoor pool was on the 8th floor - it was very nice. The beds have to be the most comfortable beds that I have ever slept in at the beach-I wanted to take them home with me. If anything needs improvement it would be the parking - but that's the trouble with all the places at the beach.

  • Stayed May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 17 April 2005

We were not impressed at all, infact what we planed to be a fun weekend ended with us coming home a day early. We went out to get in our car to only find it missing. Turns out the Dolphin Inn had our car along with a few others towed. So $85.00 later you get your car back, if you are lucky enough to get bubba to unlock the gate next to the trailor park they tow your car to. The lady at the Dolphin Inn desk was rude, and unhelpful. The rooms were not impressive at all, and there wasn't a binder or any city information in the room either. If you read some of the other complaints on this website, they described it all to a "T".

  • Stayed April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Louis
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2005

CAUTION! BEWARE! ATTENCIONE!

Stay away at all costs. Try though I may, I cannot even imagine a single redeeming quality about this...hotel (if you can even call it that).

The staff...AWFUL.

The room...MORE AWFUL, unless of course you are partial to filth.

The parking...I can't even think of a worthy adjective. Suffice it to say its a wonder the car survived...come to think of it it is a wonder that I survived!

Do yourself a favor and stay somewhere else.

Stayed January 2005
Helpful?
11 Thank UncleBoomsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
0.0 mi away
Super 8 Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Super 8 Virginia Beach Oceanfron...
#82 of 109 in Virginia Beach
148 reviews
0.1 mi away
Boardwalk Resort Hotel and Villas
Boardwalk Resort Hotel and Villa...
#61 of 109 in Virginia Beach
297 reviews
0.3 mi away
Econo Lodge Oceanfront
Econo Lodge Oceanfront
#52 of 109 in Virginia Beach
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Capes Hotel
Capes Hotel
#28 of 109 in Virginia Beach
392 reviews
0.4 mi away
Surfbreak Oceanfront Hotel
Surfbreak Oceanfront Hotel
#50 of 109 in Virginia Beach
125 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marrio...
#27 of 109 in Virginia Beach
714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dolphin Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolphin Inn

Property: Dolphin Inn
Address: 1705 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-3424
Region: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#50 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Dolphin Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spacious Comfort Right on the Beach! This Virginia Beach, boutique hotel offers you and your family uncomplicated and uncompromised comfort and warm hospitality at a truly great value. Located at the very heart of the 3-mile long boardwalk, this all suite, all oceanfront property provides space and amenities at an unbeatable location. The Dolphin Inn is the perfect place to experience your special Virginia Beach vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Dolphin Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dolphin Hotel Virginia Beach
Dolphin Virginia Beach
Dolphin Inn Virginia Beach Va

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing