We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Very Dirty”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Four Points by Sheraton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Ranked #9 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Greenville, Ohio
1 review
“Hotel Very Dirty”
Reviewed 7 September 2011

The hotel was very dirty, smelly, and outdated. I felt uncomfortable the entire stay and will not be back. The first room we were given was a double bed and we requested a king size. The front desk was good about switching us to a king room. However that room smelled strongly of urine. We bought airfreshner and tried to tolerate it, but could not. After one night we switched rooms and the room we were given was much better. The front desk attendant, Antwein was very nice & helpful.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carrie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dcboo, Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, 8 September 2011
I'm sorry to hear that you were uncomfortable during your stay! Unfortunately, you came to stay with us not long after the area was battered by Hurricane Irene. Our property did sustain some damage as a result of the storm. We truly did our best to address the situation as quickly and efficiently as possible and to return the hotel to normal operating conditions as soon as possible so as not to minimize the inconvenience to our guests who had already made reservations and were, with good reason, still expecting to come stay with us. The hotel was, in fact, closed for several days for repairs and cleaning. I apologize that your original room was not up to par, but I am happy that we were able to accomodate you by switching your room to one that was satisfactory. We do pride ourselves on our customer service, and appreciate all of our guests who stayed so soon after Hurricane Irene for being so supportive, understanding, and patient. Please don't let this incident keep you away! Come and stay with us another time, hopefully not right after a brutal storm, and I'm sure we can meet, and exceed, your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

738 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    339
    248
    83
    31
    37
See reviews for
342
203
17
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 1 September 2011

Staff was friendly, room was clean, parking area was nice. The pillows were particularly comfortable. The halls do smell a bit musty, but you can't smell it anywhere else. The continental breakfast was tasty, and, as other people have pointed out, it is a bit crowded in there.
I doubt I'll ever be back to the area again, given that Key West is drastically cheaper and much more desirable, but I would stay at Surfside again.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hurrayforbeaches
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norristown, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 August 2011

We were traveling on a budget, and this hotel was the most resonably priced hotel with an ocean view/ balcony.

I did not have high expectations for this hotel, and I'm glad I didn't. The elevators were painfully slow. Even though we stayed on the fifth floor, we took the steps every time (even with our luggage!) because I did not have to patience to wait with the 20 other people trying to get on.

Continential breakfast is included. That being said, the "breakfast room" is so small and packed with people that you can barely squeeze in to get a cup of coffee. Needless to say, we ate breakfast out every day.

The rooms were clean enough- no complaints there. I did have to wipe down the balcony railing because it was so sticky. The baloncy floor could have also used a good mopping.

At any rate, you get what you pay for and I was not dissapointed in my stay. We really did not spend a lot of time in the hotel room because there is so much to see and do in the town.

I probably would not stay here again, but would reccommend the hotel to anyone who does not want to spend a lot of money and does not plan on being in the room that much.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sdiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 August 2011

This is the third time we've stayed at the Surfside Inn. Each year, the hotel seems to get better. While there are probably fancier hotels to stay in, the Surfside Inn represents the best compromise of value and comfort. The rooms are clean, each of which hosts a oceanfront balcony view, the staff is attentive and friendly, and the free WiFi and breakfast are an added bonus. The on-site parking is ample and easy to navigate. The hotel is located around 13th ST, just south of the fishing pier, and is an easy walk to all of the activities on Atlantic AVE. We'll be back again!

Room Tip: AAA or frequent visitor discount gets you 10% off your stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ogmano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2011

Nice view from the room. Free breakfast with alots of verities to choose from but too bad they don't have eggs and bacon. It'll be a complete breakfast with those. Otherwise it's a good place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yung2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rocky River, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2011

My family and I stayed here for 3 nights in August. The front desk was polite. When we got to our floor, we were overwhelmed by the pungent smell of alcohol. Obviouslly, someone left there garbage in the hallway garbage can and it stunk like hell. Upon entering the room, it was small, but very clean. My wife is a "bedbug" nut and she looked long and hard, but did not see any signs of a bug of any time. The room had a moderately strong deodorizer smell, but was not bad. The beds were fairly comfortable. The bathroom was tiny-the sink was in a separate room from the toilet and tub. The counter top for the sink was very small also.
Like I said, this was not a high end hotel. A person basically sleeps here and that is it. When on the balcony each evening, there was an aromatic smell of burning marijuana coming from another balcony. I was not able to figure out from where. There was a restaurant on the 1st floor that was always busy.
On some better notes, the view of the beach was wonderful. We overlooked the boardwalk. The beach was huge and the water was comfortably warm. The waves were big enough to keep us busy, but not too big to do any significant harm. Both the beach and the boardwalk was kept exceptionally clean by the city.
If you stay here with the intentions of staying at a Taj Mahal-you will be disappointed. If you want beach and a place to flop- this would work wonders for you.
The pool is on the 5th floor and from what I can see, not too pleasant. The pool room had a bad odor to it. We did not go in-preferred the beach anyway
As for Virginia Beach, there is plenty for everyone. It is not crazy like Myrtle Beach, but it is busy. We saw a couple of aircraft carriers, the Navy jets practicing daily. We were even entertained on Friday with the recuits doing PT on the boardwalk. In a nutshell, Virginia Beach was fun.

Room Tip: Rooms were very very clean. We were happy with them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sugarbear1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2011

As a last minute 4 day trip I booked Surfside since it had vacancies and was much cheaper than other hotels directly on the beach - I knew the hotel was old and run down and I did not expect much - room was clean but dumpy looking - bathrooms were partially renovated - beds had ill fitting sheets and had no support - the worst thing was that the air conditioning hardly worked - my husband got a fan from the front desk and they did not even ask why he wanted one - so that tells you something right there. The pool was an ancient indoor pool with what looked like algae on the sides and a" hot tub" that must have broken 10 years ago.

On a good note the breakfast buffet was free and pretty good. Get there early to avoid the crowds. Front desk was friendly and maid service was very good. microwave and small fridge were free- unlike some hotels.
I liked the lobby, which most people would consider retro 70's - it had tropical plants, a rock pond, and tanks with tropical fish and a cool looking eel.

All and all - if you want to be directly on the beach - in a great location, in a clean, cheap but run down hotel - this is the place for you.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ExNJGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel
1.2 mi away
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
#14 of 109 in Virginia Beach
1,950 reviews
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
#1 of 109 in Virginia Beach
605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront
1.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Virginia Beach
Best Western Plus Virginia Beach
#19 of 109 in Virginia Beach
1,444 reviews
0.9 mi away
Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfront/South
Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfr...
#10 of 109 in Virginia Beach
852 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Points by Sheraton Virginia Beach Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Points by Sheraton Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Property: Four Points by Sheraton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Address: 1211 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-3539 (Formerly Surfside Oceanfront Inn & Suites)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Virginia Beach
#7 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
#11 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
#24 Business Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Four Points by Sheraton Virginia Beach Oceanfront 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome, home to the longest pleasure beach on the planet, Four Points By Sheraton Virginia Beach Oceanfront helps you make the most everything this vibrant city has to offer. all rooms feature a magnificent view of the Atlantic Ocean with a private balcony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Four Points by Sheraton Virginia Beach Oceanfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surfside Oceanfront Inn And Suites
Surfside Oceanfront Hotel Virginia Beach
Surfside Hotel Virginia Beach
Surfside Virginia Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing